Finding Aids to Collections Organized by Topic in the Archive of Folk Culture

COLORADO COLLECTIONS
IN THE ARCHIVE OF FOLK CULTURE

Compiled by: Ashley S. Hutto
Series Editor: Joseph C. Hickerson

Publication Date: August 1996; Web Revision: December 2005
Series Number: LCFAFA No. 21
ISSN 0736-4903

AFS 3905-3940: Juan B. Rael Collection
Thirty-six 12-inch discs of Mexican songs recorded in Colorado and New Mexico by J. Leslie Kittle and Juan B. Rael, July 29 August 11, 1940. The collection includes 14 pages of lists and notes.

AFS 3918-3927: Ten discs containing 44 Mexican songs recorded in Antonito, Colorado, August 4, 1940. (1 hour and 50 minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 257)

AFS 8861: Mischau Children of Denver, Colorado
One 16-inch disc of 12 songs sung by the Mischau children recorded in Denver, Colorado. Accessioned March 1948. (15 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 152A)

AFS 9629-9658: Arthur L. Campa / Spanish Folk Songs
Thirty 12-inch discs of 50 Mexican songs, 30 songs sung in English, and 4 instrumentals. Recorded at the University of Denver, Denver, Colorado, by Don Almera, Arthur L. Campa, and Roberto Peraza, 1948-50. (4 hours and 15 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reels 247-249A)

AFS 12,139-12,196: Willard Rhodes Recordings
Fifty-eight 12-inch discs of Native American music recorded in Arizona, Colorado, Kansas, New Mexico, and South Dakota by Willard Rhodes, summer 1942 and 1943, for the Bureau of Indian Affairs. The collection includes 35 pages of notes.

AFS 12,174-12,176A: Three discs containing 24 Southern Ute songs, recorded in Towaoc, Colorado, summer 1942. (20 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 394B)

AFS 12,180-12,181: Two discs containing 7 Navajo songs, recorded in Mesa Verde National Park, Colorado, summer 1942. (15 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 395A)

AFS 12,320: Arminta Neal Recordings
One 3-inch tape of 2 songs sung with guitar by Arminta Neal, recorded in Denver, Colorado. Accessioned June 1965. The collection includes 1 page of notes. (10 minutes; LWO 4467)

AFS 14,218-14,221: Benjamin A. Botkin Duplication Project
Four 10-inch tapes of narratives, radio programs, and songs recorded in California, Colorado, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oregon, South Carolina, Washington, and Washington, D.C., by Benjamin A. Botkin and the Voice of America, 1949-58. The collection includes 5 pages of notes.

AFS 14,218B1-5: One tape containing 5 poems written and spoken by Tom Ferril, recorded in Denver, Colorado, by Benjamin A. Botkin, July 19, 1950. (30 minutes; LWO 6080 reel 1B)

AFS 14,218B6: One tape containing "This is America" from Coronet Magazine, read by Chris Richards, recorded in Denver, Colorado, by Benjamin A. Botkin, July 19, 1950. (1 minute; LWO 6080 reel 1B)

AFS 14,218B7: One tape containing an interview about Central City, Colorado, with Louis Carter, recorded in Denver, Colorado, by Benjamin A. Botkin, July 20, 1950. (29 minutes; LWO 6080 reel 1B)

AFS 14,221A8-11: One tape containing 4 stories spoken by Levette J. Davidson, recorded in Denver, Colorado, by Benjamin A. Botkin, July 25, 1950. (15 minutes; LWO 6080 reel 4A)

AFS 18,053-18,058: Jack Manischewitz Duplication Project
Six 10-inch tapes of primarily Yiddish songs recorded in Cincinnati; Denver; New York City; Pittsburgh; West Orange, New Jersey; and elsewhere by Jack Manischewitz, 1957-61. The collection includes 32 pages of notes.

AFS 18,053B5-6: One tape containing "The Tortoise and the Hare" and "Komodiuta" sung in Japanese by Terry Touff and En Kanokosugi. Recorded in Denver, Colorado, 1957. (4 minutes; LWO 8692 reel 1B)

AFS 21,294-21,309; 21,317: Federal Cylinder Project - Herzog
Seventeen 10-inch tapes of Navajo Creation Chants, originally recorded on 693 cylinders in Pagosa Springs, Colorado, by George Herzog, September 1929. (34 hours; LWO 8830 reels 1-16, 24)

AFS 22,440-22,456: Colorado Project, 1980
Twelve 7-inch tapes, 1 5-inch tape, and 4 cassettes from the Colorado Project, a field survey demonstrating folkloristic methodology and the particulars of research on local history, material culture, and ranching traditions in the Blue River Valley area of Colorado. Recorded in Breckenridge and Frisco, Colorado, by Elke Detmer, Howard W. Marshall, and Barbara Orbach, August 1980. The collection includes 1 linear inch of black-and-white negatives, 1 linear inch of black-and-white contact sheets, 18 linear inches of color slides, 10 linear inches of fieldnotes and logs, and 50 pages of inventories. (10 hours and 22 minutes; RXA 4005-4017, RYA 2609-2612)

AFS 23,019-23,155: Ethnic Broadcasting in America Collection
Eighteen 7-inch tapes, 2 5-inch tapes, and 117 cassettes of ethnic radio broadcasts recorded for the Ethnic Broadcasting in America Project of the American Folklife Center. Recorded mostly off the air by Elena Bradunas, Theodore Grame, Alan Jabbour, and others at various locations in the United States, 1977-78. Documentation includes Theodore Grame's Ethnic Broadcasting in the United States (Washington, D.C.: American Folklife Center, 1980; PN1991.8.E84G7) and 9 linear inches of manuscript materials.

AFS 23,019: One cassette containing a German program on KADX, Denver, Colorado, November 6, 1977. (30 minutes; RYA 2887)

AFS 23,040: One cassette containing a Mexican program on KPNO, Denver, Colorado, November 7, 1977. (1 hour; RYA 2905)

AFS 23,046B: One cassette containing a Ute program on KSUT, Ignacio, Colorado, April 26 28, 1978. (30 minutes; RYA 2911B)

AFS 24,204: Colorado State Folk Arts Program / "Do Not Pass Me By" Collection
One cassette of a 13-part radio series, entitled "Do Not Pass Me By," documenting musical and spoken traditions of Colorado. Recorded at various locations in Colorado by David A. Brose, 1983-84, for the Colorado Council on the Arts and Humanities, and narrated for KCFR-FM, Denver, Colorado, by Harry M. Tuft. (1 hour and 30 minutes; RYA 5271)

AFS 24,205: Colorado State Folk Arts Program / "Nyle Henderson: Cowboy Poet" Collection
One 7-inch tape of 2 cowboy poems spoken by Nyle Henderson. Recorded in Delta County, Colorado, by David A. Brose, 1982, for the Colorado Council on the Arts and Humanities, and narrated for KCFR-FM, Denver, Colorado, by Harry M. Tuft. The collection includes 8 pages of notes. (10 minutes; RYA 6216)

AFS 24,299-24,357: Center for Applied Linguistics / American English Dialect Recordings Collection
Fifty-nine 10-inch tapes of public speeches and other utterances containing dialect samples, recorded at various locations in North America by various collectors, and compiled by the Center for Applied Linguistics for a project entitled "A Survey and Collection of American English Dialect Recordings." The collection includes 14 linear inches of documentation, including an introduction and preface, a list of contents, content summaries, and transcripts.

AFS 24,307-24,308: Two tapes containing oral history interviews with residents of Mesa County, Colorado, including Basque, Dutch, and German immigrants ranging in age from 54 to 89 years. Recorded in Mesa County, Colorado, 1972-83. (4 hours, RWB 3857-3858)

AFC 1941/004: "Man-on-the-Street" Interviews Collection
Six 16-inch and 15 12-inch discs of interviews documenting the reactions of the "person on the street" to the bombing of Pearl Harbor and the United States Declaration of War. Recorded in Colorado, Indiana, New York, Tennessee, Texas, and Washington, D.C., by Bob Allen, Philip Cohen, Fletcher Collins, John Henry Faulk, Charles Harrell, Alan Lomax, John A. Lomax, Robert Sonkin, and Charles Todd, December 8-10, 1941, as part of the Library of Congress Radio Research Project, for use in the Office of Emergency Management Radio Section Program, "Dear Mr. President."

AFS 6453A: One disc containing interviews with several individuals, recorded in Denver, Colorado, December 9, 1941. (10 minutes; tape copy on LWO 3493 reel 45B)

AFC 1986/023: Rio Grande Arts Center / "Tradiciones del Valle" Collection
One hundred eighteen 7-inch tapes of Anglo-American fiddle tunes and songs, and primarily Hispanic popular and traditional musical forms; also includes customs, interviews, proverbs, riddles, and stories. Recorded in the San Luis Valley of Southern Colorado and Northern New Mexico by Dana Everts, May September 1985, for the Rio Grande Arts Center. The collection includes 2 linear inches of notes.

AFS 26,270-26,271; 26,276-26,305; 26,311-26,369; 26,375-26,387: One hundred and four tapes containing customs, interviews, proverbs, riddles, songs, and stories. Recorded in Alamosa, Antonito, Blanca, Capulin, Center, Chama, Garcia, Hooper, La Jara, Las Mesitas, Los Sauces, Manassa, Moffat, Mogote, Monte Vista, Ortiz, San Luis, and San Pablo, Colorado, May 25 August 23, 1985. (103 hours; RXA 7656-7657, 7662-7691, 7697-7755, 7761-7773)

AFC 1988/020: Michael A. Gowan / Colorado Dutch Hop Collection
Thirty 7-inch tapes and 2 cassettes of Dutch Hop instrumentals and songs performed by nine Volga German bands. Recorded in Colorado by Michael A. Gowan, October 1986 May 1987. The collection includes 50 pages of brochures, correspondence, lists, and summaries. (15 hours)

AFC 1989/022: Italian-Americans in the West Project
The Italian-Americans in the West Project was a major field project of the American Folklife Center that documented Italian-American culture and traditions in California, Colorado, Nevada, Utah, and Washington, 1989-91. Field data includes approximately 24,000 color and black-and-white photographs, 300 hours of tape-recorded interviews, 35 hours of video recordings, and 2,000 pages of field notes and tape and photo logs. Included in this collection are materials collected in Pueblo, Colorado, and surrounding communities. Some of the project's research findings are presented in David A. Taylor and John Alexander Williams, eds., Old Ties, New Attachments: Italian-American Folklife in the West (Washington: Library of Congress, 1992; F596.3.I8T54 1992).

AFC 1995/015: W. Dean Edwards Collection
Three cassettes and 5 videocassettes of demonstrations of square, round, and contradancing by the "Fun Finders." Recorded in Colorado Springs, Colorado, by Dean Edwards, 1993. The collection includes 15 brochures, 5 color photographs, and 12 pages of correspondence and notes. (9 hours)