Finding Aids to Collections Organized by Topic in the Archive of Folk Culture

BRAZIL RECORDINGS
IN THE ARCHIVE OF FOLK CULTURE

Compiled by: Elizabeth D. Eisenhood, Joseph C. Hickerson, and Therese Langer
Series Editor: Joseph C. Hickerson

Publication Date: September 1990
Series Number: LCFAFA No. 8
ISSN 0736-4903

AFS 5691-5743: Fifty-three 12-in discs of music recorded by Seamus Doyle in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, and Peru, 1941, while Mr. Doyle was on tour with the Kirstein American Ballet Group.

AFS 5691-5703: Thirteen discs containing songs recorded in Rio de Janeiro. (Tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 383)

AFS 6777-6892: One hundred sixteen 12-in discs of Afro-Bahian songs recorded by Melville and Frances Herskovits in Bahia, 1941-42, for the Library of Congress. (Tape copy on LWO 4872 reels 427B-436B) Selections from this collection have been published by the Library of Congress on cassette number AFS L13, Afro-Bahian Religious Songs from Brazil.

AFS 7019-7036: Eighteen 12-in discs of songs and dances recorded by Luis Heitor Corrêa de Azevedo and E. Nogueira França in Goiânia, state of Goiás, June 1942, for the Library of Congress. (Tape copy on LWO 5111 reels 1A-2B)

AFS 7324-7398: Seventy-five 12-in discs of songs and dances recorded by Luis Heitor Corrêa de Azevedo and E. Nogueira França in the state of Ceará, January-February 1943, for the Library of Congress. (Tape copy on LWO 5111 reels 29A-34B)

AFS 7399-7597: One hundred eighty-nine 12-in and ten 16-in discs of songs and dances recorded in the states of Maranhão, Para, Paraiba, Pernambuco, and Sao Paulo, 1937-38. Acquired from the Discoteca Pública Municipal of São Paulo in an exchange project initiated by the
U.S. Department of State. The recordings are accompanied by extensive notes in Portuguese
and a collection of photographs of performers, instruments, and dances. (Tape copy on LWO 5111 reels 35A-52A)

AFS 7764-7860: Ninety-seven 12-in discs of songs recorded by Luis Heitor Corrêa de Azevedo and E. Silva Novo in the state of Minas Gerais, January-February 1944, for the Library of Congress. (Tape copy on LWO 5111 reels 64A- 71A)

AFS 9813-9828: Three 10-in and thirteen 12-in discs of music recorded in Brazil. Acquired from the Discoteca Pública Municipal of São Paulo in an exchange project initiated by the U.S. Department of State. Accessioned 1950. (Tape copy on LWO 5111 reels 261B-262B)

AFS 10,053-10,054: Two 10-in tapes copied from 120 cylinders of ethnic and tribal music recorded by various collectors in various parts of the world and comprising a 1919 version of the Erich M. Von Hornbostel Demonstration Collection of the Berlin Phonogramm-Archiv. Gift of Walter V. Bingham.

AFS 10,053 B7-9: One tape containing copies of three cylinders of music of the Makuschi and Taulipang Indians recorded by Theodor Koch-Grunberg in the territory of Roraima, 1911. (LWO 1416 reel 1B; additional tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 283/29B)

AFS 10,152: One 10-in disc of children's songs recorded by Rev. Ellis Graves, Instituto de Ponte
Nova, Itacira, Bahia. Gift of Stella Ferreira, 1951. (Tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 288B)

AFS 11,346: One 12-in disc of music from the state of Bahia. Musee de l'Homme LP number LD 16. Accessioned June 1958.

AFS 14,178-14,190: Thirteen 7-in tapes at 7.5 ips of romances and other songs recorded by Sol Biderman in northeastern Brazil, ca. 1968-70. (LWO 6077)

AFS 14,573: One 7-in tape at 3.75 ips of Afro-Bahian music recorded by Ralph C. Waddey in Salvador, Bahia, 1966. (LWO 6527)

AFS 17,155-17,176: Twenty-two 10-in discs apparently comprising Laura Boulton's demonstration recordings for a class at the University of California at Los Angeles. Acquired on exchange from Columbia University, 1973.

AFS 17,175 A1 & B: One disc containing Brazilian songs sung by Elsie Houston. (Tape copy on LWO 7551 reel 74A)

AFS 17,981-17,984: Four mono C-60 cassettes comprising the audio component of the Enciclopedia de la Poesía Popular y de la Canción Protesta Hispanoamericana, vols. 1-4 (n.p.: Colección la Sangre en el Ojo, n.d.). Accessioned October 1975.

AFS 17,981 A10-11: One cassette containing two songs by Brazilian singer Chico Buarque. (LWO 8697 reel 1A)

AFS 18,102-18,468: One 3-in, twenty-two 5-in, and three hundred forty-four 7-in tapes at 7.5 ips of music recorded by Laura Boulton in various parts of the world, 1949-61. Acquired on exchange from Columbia University.

AFS 18,447: One tape containing two choros recorded in Brazil and broadcast on the radio program "Nights in Latin America," March 13, 1961. (LWO 8956 reel 346; additional tape copy on LWO 8949 reel 70B)

AFS 18,454-18,456: Three tapes containing songs recorded in the state of Bahia, 1960. (LWO 8956 reels 353-355; additional tape copy on LWO 8949 reels 72A-B)

AFS 22,605-22,606: Two C-60 cassettes of the "Origens" Brazilian Radio Program Collection, containing examples of Afro-Brazilian musical traditions, with commentary by Helena Theodoro Lopes. Recorded in Rio de Janeiro, October and December 1982. (RYA 2766-2767)

AFS 22,968-23,018: Fifty-one 10-in tapes at 7.5 ips of songs and dances by the Ramkokamekra group of the Canela Indians. Recorded by William Henry Crocker, September 1978-October 1979.

The Archive of Folk Culture also has a large collection of literatura de cordel, ephemeral chapbooks published in northern Brazil. This collection was initiated in 1970 by Sol Biderman and has grown to over three thousand items.