Finding Aids to Collections Organized by Topic in the Archive of Folk Culture

BENELUX COLLECTIONS (Belgium, Netherlands, Luxembourg)
IN THE ARCHIVE OF FOLK CULTURE
Acquired through 1996

Compiled by: Alan L. Moseley
Series Editor: Ann Hoog

Publication Date: May 2002
Series Number: LCFAFA No. 28
ISSN 0736-4903

Sound Recordings and Multiformat Collections

AFS 4159-4193; 4948-5025: One hundred twelve 12-inch discs of instrumentals, poems, songs, and stories recorded at various locations in Wisconsin by Robert F. Draves and Helene Stratman-Thomas (Blotz), summer 1940 and summer 1941, for the Library of Congress and the University of Wisconsin. The collection includes two linear inches of notes.

AFS 4159B2; 4161A2; 4162A1-2: Three discs containing four Dutch songs sung by Mrs. A. C. G. Gysbers Scholten and Mrs. Kranendonk, recorded in Oostberg, August 22, 1940. (Six minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 282A)

AFS 4159B2: "Avondsgedachten" (Evening Thoughts) sung by Mrs. Scholten, who learned it as a child in singing school in Winterswijk, The Netherlands.

AFS 4161A2: "Reislied" (Travel Song) sung by Mrs. Scholten from a booklet published in the Netherlands. First line: "In vrijheid rond te dwalen" (In freedom 'round to wander).

AFS 4162A1: "Nederlandbovenal" (The Netherlands Over All) sung by Mrs. Scholten from a Dutch singing book used by her in primary school in the Netherlands.

AFS 4162A2: Dutch song sung by Mrs. Kranendonk (fragment).

AFS 4165B1-4166B1: Two discs containing one macaronic and three Belgian songs sung by Al Van der Tie and Jules Rower, recorded in Brussels, August 24, 1940. (Eleven minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 282B)

AFS 4165B: Belgian song sung in the Walloon dialect by Al Van der Tie.

AFS 4166A1: "I Went to Market" sung by Al Van der Tie in a mixture of English and French dialects.

AFS 4166A2: "Invitation to the Kermess," a song inviting visitors to the Brussels Kermess. Sung in French by Al Van der Tie.

AFS 4166A3; B1: Belgian song sung in a French dialect by Jules Rower.

AFS 4998A1-5000A1: Three discs containing seven Belgian and French songs including one in the Walloon dialect, sung by Desire Maes, originally of Paris, France. Recorded in Green Bay, August 3, 1941. (Fifteen minutes; tape copy on LWO 3493 reel 5)

AFS 4998A1: "La Machine" (The Machine), a Belgian song.

AFS 4998A2: "Un Pauvre Soldat" (A Poor Soldier), a comic Belgian song.

AFS 4998B1: "Chapeau Pointu" (Pointed Hat), a Belgian song.

AFS 4998B2: "Auguste Tu n'est pas juste", (Augustus You are not Just ), comic French song.

AFS 4999A1: "Fifini du Faubourg," a comic song sung in the Walloon dialect.

AFS 4999A2: "Rêves de Jeunesse" (Dreams of Youth), a Belgian song.

AFS 4999B1: "Reviens mon fils", (Return my Son), French song.

AFS 4999B2: "Les Hommes" (The People), a Belgian song.

AFS 5000A1: "Le Pauvre Matelot" (The Poor Sailor), a Belgian song.

AFS 4688-4689; 4731-4756: Twenty-eight 12-inch discs of instrumentals and songs sung mainly in Dutch Creole. Recorded in and around Paramaribo, Suriname, by Moira Nicol Smith and Mrs. M. J. P. Oostburg-Cop, June 21-June 30, 1941. The collection includes one linear inch of articles, correspondence, notes, transcriptions, and translations. (Two hours and ten minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reels 323A, 327B-328)

AFS 4688-4689; 4735-4736; 4738A: Five discs containing twelve "street songs."

AFS 4737A; 4744B: Two discs containing five "play songs."

AFS 4739: One disc containing six "Winti" dance songs.

AFS 4739B7-4740A: Two discs containing two "songs in stories."

AFS 4741-4743A: Three discs containing five "Kawina (Kauna)" dance songs.

AFS 4744A: One disc containing two versions of an "old-fashioned" dance song.

AFS 4745A: One disc containing two "mourning songs."

AFS 4745B: One disc containing drum music.

AFS 4746A-B2: One disc containing seven "birthday songs."

AFS 4746B3-4: One disc containing two "children's songs."

AFS 4747: One disc containing four "rowing songs."

AFS 4748: One disc containing four "fishermen songs."

AFS 4749A: One disc containing two "hauling wood songs."

AFS 4753-4754: Two discs containing six "love songs."

AFS 4755: One disc containing four "Banja" songs.

AFS 4756: One disc containing four "Soesa" songs.

AFS 6994-7013; 7068-7082; 7738-7753: Forty-nine 12-inch discs and two 16-inch discs of primarily African American, Amish, Associate Presbyterian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, German, Mennonite, Mormon, Norwegian, Swedish, Trappist monk, and Welsh religious songs, with interviews. Recorded at various locations in Iowa by Adison Alspach and Marcus Bach, March 10, 1943-November 1944. The collection includes one-and-a-half linear inches of notes and correspondence.

AFS 6998-7002: Five discs containing interviews and psalms spoken and sung by members of a Dutch American religious congregation, recorded at the First Christian Reformed Church in Pella, April 11, 1943. (Fifty minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 440)

AFS 6998A: Psalm 42:1-2. Sung by the First Christian Reformed Church Choir with Rev. J. Van der Ploeg.

AFS 6998B: Psalm 89:1-7. Sung by the Pella Mannenkoor (men's choir).

AFS 6999A: Psalm 25:1-6. Sung by the Pella Mannenkoor.

AFS 6999B1: Psalm 73:13. Sung by congregation.

AFS 6999B2: Psalm 68:10. Sung by congregation.

AFS 7000A1: Psalm 105:5. Sung by congregation.

AFS 7000A2: Psalm 103:8. Sung by congregation.

AFS 7000B1: Psalm 84:1. Sung by congregation.

AFS 7000B2: Psalm 138:1. Sung by congregation.

AFS 7001: Psalm 42:1-2. Sung by the First Christian Reformed Church Choir.

AFS 7002: Interview with Leonora Scholte about her book Stranger in a Strange Land, in which she tells the story of her father-in-law and founder of Pella, H. P. Scholte.

AFS 7083-7091: Nine 10-inch discs of tales from the Hudson River and Mohawk Valley areas of New York spoken in Albany Dutch. Recorded by L.G. Van Loon sometime before November 1943. (One hour and ten minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 7)

AFS 7083: "De Reden dat een Otter en Gespleete Bek Had" (The Reason an Otter Had a Split Snout).

AFS 7084-7085A1: "Dertien in een Dozijn" (Thirteen in One Dozen).

AFS 7085A2-7087A1: "Joekie en de Poelmeisje" (Joekie and the Pond Girl).

AFS 7087A2-7088: "Twee Vallen Samen" (Two Fall Together).

AFS 7089-7090A1: "De Gestolen Mes" (The Stolen Knife).

AFS 7090A2-7091: "De Slangmeisje" (The Snake Girl).

AFS 8362-8473: One hundred twelve 12-inch discs of instrumentals, songs, and stories recorded in Wisconsin by Charles Hofmann, Phyllis Pinkerton, Aubrey Snyder, and Helene Stratman-Thomas (Blotz), July 23-November 17, 1946, for the Library of Congress and the University of Wisconsin. The collection includes two linear inches of notes.

AFS 8440-8442A2; 8443: Four discs containing nineteen Dutch songs sung by various persons. Recorded in Brandon, August 27, 1946. (Thirty-four minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reels 112B-113)

AFS 8440A1: The epitaph on her mother's great-grandfather's tombstone in the Netherlands, sung in Dutch by Mrs. J. J. Schmedema.

AFS 8440A3: "The Orphan" sung in Dutch by Mrs. Joe Boorma.

AFS 8440A4: "The Mouse and the Cat" sung in Dutch by Mrs. Joe Boorma.

AFS 8440A5: "Daisy, Daisy" sung in Dutch by Henry Kempers.

AFS 8440B1: "Daar Komt Kleine Tomas Aan" (There Comes Little Thomas) sung by Anna C. Gysbers.

AFS 8440B2: "Moeder, Moeder, de Beer Is Los" (Mother, Mother, the Bear Is Loose) sung by Anna C. Gyspers.

AFS 8440B3: "Deed Augustus Volk Vergaren" (Augustus Did Gather the People) sung by Joe Boorma.

AFS 8440B4: Psalm 81:12. Sung in Dutch by John Ten Hoope.

AFS 8440B5-8441A1: "Nederlandisch Bloed Door Uw Aderen Vloeit" (The Blood of the Netherlands Flows Through Your Veins) sung by Dick Kok.

AFS 8441A2: "De Kleuren van Nederlands Vlag" (The Colors of The Netherlands Flag) sung by Dick Kok.

AFS 8441A3: Psalm 138. Sung in Dutch by Dick Kok.

AFS 8441A4: Psalm 25:2. Sung in Dutch by Mr. and Mrs. Cornelius Ter Beest and Mrs. Matt Redeker.

AFS 8441B1: "Waarheen, Pelgrims?" (Whither, Pilgrims?) sung by Cora Wiersma.

AFS 8441B2: "Daar Ruischt Langs de Wolken" (The Clouds Go Sailing By) sung with piano by Mrs. Will Redeker and Mrs. Matt Redeker.

AFS 8442A1: Psalm 89:7. Sung in Dutch by Joe Koopmans and Andrew de Boer.

AFS 8442A2: "Ik Zal van Mijn Verlosser Zingen" (I Will Sing of My Redeemer) sung by Dick Kok and Mrs. William Mulder.

AFS 8443A1: Psalm 42. Sung in Dutch by a congregation at the Alto District Mission Fest.

AFS 8443A2: Psalm 25:2. Sung in Dutch by a congregation at the Alto District Mission Fest.

AFS 8443B: Psalms 84:1 and 68:10. Sung in Dutch by a congregation at the Alto District Mission Fest.

AFS 8449B3-4; 8450-8451: Three discs containing nine Dutch songs sung by various persons. Recorded in Kenosha, August 28, 1946. Includes songs in the Friesland dialect. (Twenty-two minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reels 112B-113)

AFS 8449B3: Street cry and scharensliep wagon song sung in Dutch by Rika Tuinstra Enhoff.

AFS 8449B4: "Het Regent" (It Rains) sung by Andrew Fennema and group.

AFS 8450A1: "Het Avondklokje" (The Little Evening Clock) sung in Holland Dutch by Marvin Fennema Sr. and group.

AFS 8450A2: "De Lelien" (The Lilies) sung by Gertrude Van Der Meer, Rika Enhoff, and Bertha de Haan.

AFS 8450B: Two versions of "Lief Vaderland Vaarwel" (Dear Fatherland, Farewell) sung by Bertha de Haan, Rika Enhoff, and Gertrude Van Der Meer.

AFS 8451A1: "Frijsk Volkslied" [National Anthem of Friesland] sung by Andrew Fennema Sr. and Gertrude Van Der Meer.

AFS 8451A2: "Bokje" (Little Goat) sung in Holland Dutch by Marvin Fennema Sr.

AFS 8451B1: "The Old Village Clock" sung in Friesland dialect by Gertrude Van Der Meer.

AFS 8451B2: "Roeierslied" (Oarsman's Song) sung by Gertrude Van Der Meer.

AFS 8454A2-8455: Two discs containing seven songs in a Luxembourg dialect of German sung by Jacob C. Becker. Recorded in Belgium, August 30, 1946. (Twenty minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reels 113B-114A)

AFS 8454A2: "D'Graf" (The Grave), written by Nicholas E. Becker and Nicholas Edword.

AFS 8454A3: "Winterlied" (Wintersong), written by Jacob C. Becker to the tune of "Droben stehet die Kapella" (Above Us Stands the Chapel).

AFS 8454B2: "Der Pier mit die Gescheitene Ochsen" (Peter and his Smart Oxen), written by Nicholas E. Becker to a tune provided by John Schuller. Sung with explanation in English.

AFS 8455A1: "Zur Erinnerung" (For remembrance).

AFS 8455A2: "Unsere Gäste aus Chicago" (Our guests from Chicago) written by Nicholas E. Becker for a Luxemburger assembly at Port Washington, to the tune of "Ons Hemecht" [the Luxembourg national hymn] by Michael Lenz.

AFS 8455B1: "Trost" (Consolation).

AFS 8455B2: "Ker Jidder F'ru Singer Dir," a translation and adaptation of "Paddle Your Own Canoe," written by Jacob C. Becker.

AFS 8459A1-8462A1: Four discs containing nine Belgian songs sung in the Walloon dialect and three Belgian fiddle tunes. Recorded in Dykesville, August 31, 1946. (Thirty-six minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 114)

AFS 8459A1: Song about a young man who was looking for a job, sung by Anton de Beck.

AFS 8459A2-8459B1: Song about a young man at the front, sung by Theupheil Ropson.

AFS 8459B2-8460A1: Song about a young man who went to war, sung by Anton de Beck.

AFS 8460A2: "Rosette, C'est Aujourd'hui le Jour" (Rosette, This Is the Day) sung by Anton de Beck.

AFS 8460B: Two versions of a song about a young man who went away, sung by Theupheil Ropson.

AFS 8461A: Three dance tunes performed on the violin by Emil Boulanger.

AFS 8461B1: Song about a young girl who lost her boyfriend, sung by Theupheil Ropson.

AFS 8461B2: Song about a young married couple, sung by Theupheil Ropson.

AFS 8462A1: Song about a boy who came back from the war, sung by Anton de Beck.

AFS 12,009: One 10-inch tape of interviews and songs recorded on St. Eustatius Island, Netherlands West Indies, by John W. Allen, sometime before June 1963. (Two hours; tape copy on LWO 3901)

AFS 12,009B1: Two versions of the national song of Suriname, sung in Dutch by Netty Thiym. (Five minutes)

AFS 12,009B5: "Hurrah for Holland's Queen" sung by an unidentified woman. (One minute)

AFS 12,009B7: Celebration for the queen's birthday, recorded at Fort Orange. (Thirteen minutes)

AFS 12,092-12,095: Four 10-inch tapes of ethnic music recorded at various locations in Belgium by the Belgian National Institute for Radio-Broadcasting, sometime before June 1964. The collection includes two pages of lists. (One hour and twenty-five minutes; tape copy on LWO 4292)

AFS 12,092A1: "Waar de Blauwe Dender Vloeit" (Where the Blue Dender Flows) performed on church chimes, recorded in Aalst.

AFS 12,092A2: "Trommel - 15 Uur" (Drums - Three O'Clock) performed on church chimes, recorded in Mespelaere.

AFS 12,092A3: An unidentified song performed on church chimes, recorded in Turnhout.

AFS 12,092A4: "Spotlied uit 1870" (Satirical Song from 1870) sung by Bernard Peeters.

AFS 12,092A5: "Lied der Bezembinders" (Broom Binders' Song) sung by Mr. Buysse.

AFS 12,092A6: "Minnelied" (Love Song) sung by Mr. Buysse.

AFS 12,092A7: "Het Kaartspel" (The Card Game) sung by Mrs. Scheire, recorded in Laarne.

AFS 12,092A8: "De Vier Gasten" (The Four Guests) sung by Mrs. Scheire, recorded in Laarne.

AFS 12,093A1: "Liedje van de Smid" (Blacksmith's Song) performed on church chimes, recorded in Antwerp.

AFS 12,093A2: "Ik Ken een Lied" (I Know a Song) performed on church chimes.

AFS 12,093A3: "Ik Kwam Langs eenen Boomgaard Gegaan" (I Passed by the Orchard) sung by an unidentified woman, recorded in Turnhout.

AFS 12,093A4: An unidentified song performed on church chimes, recorded in Brugge.

AFS 12,094A1: "Blijheidslied" (Joyous Song) performed on church chimes.

AFS 12,094A2: "Blijheidslied" (Joyous Song) performed on church chimes, recorded in Brugge.

AFS 12,094A3: "De Scharensliep" (The Knifegrinder) performed on church chimes, recorded in Antwerpen.

AFS 12,094A4: "Het Liedje Van de Smid" (The Blacksmith's Song) performed on church chimes, recorded in Antwerpen.

AFS 12,094A5: "Lofzang Ter Ere Van de H. Ammelberga" (Song in Praise of H. Ammelberga) sung by six soloists and forty mixed singers, recorded in Temse.

AFS 12,094A6: "St. Evermarusspel" sung by a mixed chorus, recorded in Rutten.

AFS 12,094A7: "Op een Witten Donderdag" (On a White Thursday) sung by Mr. Vermeiren.

AFS 12,094A8: "Daar Was een Nonne Opgestaan" (A Nun Rose Up) sung by Mr. Vermeiren.

AFS 12,094A9: "Van een Weverken" (A Weaver's Lore) sung by Mr. Vermeiren.

AFS 12,094A10: "Boterlied" (Butter Song) sung by an unidentified woman, recorded in Turnhout.

AFS 12,094A11: "Lofzang Ter Ere Van de H. Ammelberga" (Song in Praise of H. Ammelberga) sung by a mixed chorus of around 300 singers, recorded at the castle in Temse.

AFS 12,095A1: "Gerpinnes: Procession Militaire" (Gerpinnes: Military Procession) performed by drum corps and piccolo.

AFS 12,095A2: "Prenez Vos Bâtons" (Take Up Your Walking Sticks) sung by an unidentified woman with orchestra.

AFS 12,095A3: "Heer Halowijn" (Mr. Halowijn) sung by Mr. Vermeiren.

AFS 12,095A4: "El Doudou" performed by a marching band, recorded in Bergen.

AFS 12,095A5: "Lazeire" sung by Alfred Bastien.

AFS 12,095A6: "Sint Marten" sung by children of Mechelen.

AFS 12,095A7: "Op de Koe en Het Ronde" (Of the Cow and the Circle) sung by M. Broeckaert.

AFS 12,095A8: "La Mort de Jean Reynaud" (The Death of Jean Reynaud) sung by Alfred Bastien.

AFS 12,095A9: "Het Was op een Witten Donderdag" (It was on a White Thursday) sung with rommelpot by an unidentified man.

AFS 18,074-18,079: Six 7-inch tapes of Anglo American ballads, songs, and tales recorded in Tennessee by Jerome Wenker, 1961; songs sung in Dutch, English, German, Hungarian, and Spanish recorded in California by Norine Dresser, Spring 1970; and German instrumentals and songs recorded in California by Eileen Marrison, 1971. The collection includes six pages of lists and was obtained from the Archive of California and Western Folklore at the University of California Los Angeles.

AFS 18,075A: One 7-inch tape containing twenty-three songs sung in Dutch by Peter van Ruiten, originally of Haarlem; Mary van Ruiten, originally of Bergen aan Zee; Lucia van Ruiten; Kathye van Ruiten Helfrich; and Jacob and Johanna de Ruytor, originally of Purmerend. Recorded in California by Norine Dresser, Spring 1970. (Twenty-eight minutes; LWO 8886 reel 2)

AFS 18,075A1: Song sung by Mary van Ruiten.

AFS 18,075A2: Children's song sung by Mary van Ruiten.

AFS 18,075A3: "Sien, Sien, Sientje Laat me Los" (Sien, Sien, Sien, Set Me Free) sung by Mary van Ruiten.

AFS 18,075A4: "Mijn Liefe Augustijn" (My Dear Augustin) sung by Mary van Ruiten.

AFS 18,075A5: "Toen Onze Mop" (Then Our Joke) sung by Peter and Mary van Ruiten.

AFS 18,075A6: "Drie Maal Drie" (Three Times Three) sung by Mary van Ruiten.

AFS 18,075A7: "Alle Eendjes" (All Ducklings) sung by Peter, Mary, and Lucia van Ruiten.

AFS 18,075A8: "The Cradle" sung by Jacob and Johanna de Ruyter.

AFS 18,075A9: "Hop sa, Hei sa sa!" sung by Johanna de Ruyter.

AFS 18,075A10: "De Boeren Hebben Overwonnen" (The Farmers Have Conquered) sung by Peter and Mary van Ruiten.

AFS 18,075A11: "Joech Hei die Joech Hei da!" sung by Mary van Ruiten.

AFS 18,075A12: "Het Plekje Bij de Molen" (The Place by the Mill) sung by Peter, Mary, and Lucia van Ruiten, and Kathye van Ruiten Helfrich.

AFS 18,075A13: "Lang Zullen Ze Leven" (Long Shall They Live) sung by Peter, Mary, and Lucia van Ruiten, and Kathye van Ruiten Helfrich.

AFS 18,075A14: "In het Hoedje van Oom Jan" (In Uncle Jan's Cap) sung by Peter, Mary, and Lucia van Ruiten.

AFS 18,075A15: "En Wij Gaan Nog Niet Naar Huis" (And We'll Not Yet Go Home) sung by Peter, Mary, and Lucia van Ruiten.

AFS 18,075A16: "Overal Overal" (Everywhere Everywhere) sung by Peter, Mary, and Lucia van Ruiten.

AFS 18,075A17: "Het Hutje Bij de Zee" (The Little Hut by the Sea) sung by Mary van Ruiten and Jacob de Ruyter.

AFS 18,075A18: "Het Fiere Schooiershart" (The Proud Beggar's Heart) sung by Johanna and Jacob de Ruyter.

AFS 18,075A19: "In het Zwarte Klooster" (In the Black Nunnery) sung by Mary van Ruiten and Jacob de Ruyter.

AFS 18,075A20: "Het Vrouwtje van Stavoren" (The Little Woman of Stavoren) sung by Mary van Ruiten.

AFS 18,075A21: "Holland O Holland" sung by Peter, Mary, and Lucia van Ruiten.

AFS 18,075A22: "De Zilvere Vloot van Spanje" (Spain's Silver Fleet) sung by Peter and Mary van Ruiten.

AFS 18,075A23: "Wilhelmus van Nassowe" sung by Peter and Mary van Ruiten.

AFS 19,289: One 10-inch tape of a funeral service for Katherina Goosen Teichroew. Recorded originally on six 9-inch discs at the First Mennonite Church, a Dutch/Russian Mennonite congregation in Mountain Lake, Minnesota, April 1950, and loaned by Allan Teichroew. (Fifty-five minutes; LWO 12,250)

AFS 22,603: One audiocassette of two Dutch Creole stories paraphrased into English Creole by Gilbert A. Sprauve of the College of the Virgin Islands, and re-translated into Dutch Creole by Alice Stevens of St. John; includes an introduction by Gilbert Sprauve and a short interview with Alice Stevens concerning her learning of Dutch Creole. Recorded through the auspices of WTJX-TV and the Enid Barr Library in the Virgin Islands, May 1983. The collection includes one-half linear inch of correspondence, notes, and transcriptions. (Thirty-two minutes; RYA 2764)

AFS 22,603A1: Story #77 from "The 1922-23 De Jung Collection of Folktales in Dutch Creole or Black Dutch."

AFS 22,603A2: Story #62 from "The 1922-23 De Jung Collection of Folktales in Dutch Creole or Black Dutch."

AFS 24,214-24,220: One 7-inch and six 10-inch tapes of thirteen half-hour radio programs containing religious and secular vocal and instrumental music of Wisconsin. Songs are selected from the University of Wisconsin/Library of Congress field survey of Wisconsin music, conducted between 1940 and 1946 by Helene Stratman-Thomas (Blotz) and others (see AFS 4159-4193 and 8362-8473). The series, entitled "The Wisconsin Patchwork," was produced for Wisconsin Public Radio at WHA Public Radio in Madison by Judy Woodward and Vicki Nonn, narrated by Dan Devany, and broadcast in 1984. The collection includes one-half linear inch of bibliography, historical information, and notes.

AFS 24,214A8-19: One ten-inch tape containing "The Fiddlers" (program number two).

AFS 24,214A8: A Belgian fiddle tune performed by Emil Boulanger (see AFS 8461A). (Three and a half minutes; RWB 2917)

AFS 24,215A1-9: One ten-inch tape containing "Songs of the Homeland: Patriotic and Nostalgic Songs from the Old World" (program number three).

AFS 24,215A1: "Lief Vaderland Vaarwel" (Dear Fatherland, Farewell) sung by Bertha de Haan, Rika Enhoff, and Gertrude Van Der Meer (see AFS 8450B). (Five minutes; RWB 2918)

AFS 24,215A3: The epitaph on her mother's great grandfather's tombstone in the Netherlands, sung in Dutch by Mrs. J. J. Schmedma (see AFS 8440A1). (Two minutes; RWB 2918)

AFS 24,215A10-18: One ten-inch tape containing "Putting Down Roots: The Immigrant Experience in Wisconsin" (program number four).

AFS 24,215A10: "Zur Erinnerung" (For Remembrance) sung in a Luxembourg dialect of German by Jacob C. Becker with translation (see AFS 8455A1). (Five minutes; RWB 2918)

AFS 24,215A12: "Invitation to the Kermess," a song inviting visitors to the Brussels Kermess, sung in French by Al Van der Tie (see AFS 4166A2). (Three minutes; RWB 2918)

AFS 24,215A13: "Der Pier mit die Gescheitene Ochsen" (Peter and His Smart Oxen) sung in a Luxembourg dialect of German with an explanation in English by Jacob C. Becker (see AFS 8454B2). (Three and a half minutes; RWB 2918)

AFS 24,215A17: "Unsere Gäste aus Chicago" (Our Guests from Chicago) sung in a Luxembourg dialect of German by Jacob C. Becker with translation (see AFS 8455A2). (Three and a half minutes; RWB 2918)

AFS 24,216A12-18: One ten-inch tape containing "Lovely Old Songs" (program number six).

AFS 24,216A14: A Belgian song sung in the Walloon dialect by Al Van der Tie (see AFS 4165B). (Four minutes; RWB 2919)

AFS 24,219A9-15: One ten-inch tape containing "Hymnody" (program number twelve).

AFS 24,219A12: Psalm 42. Sung in Dutch by a congregation at the Alto District Mission Fest (see AFS 8443A2). (Three and a half minutes; RWB 2922)

AFC 1993/001: Twenty-four 5-inch tapes, sixty 7-inch tapes, two hundred eighty-eight audiocassettes, one thousand one hundred thirty color slides, nine thousand seventy-two black-and-white negatives, and one 3/4-inch video from the Ethnic Heritage and Language Schools in America Project, a survey of twenty-three ethnic schools from twenty-two ethnic groups, sponsored by the American Folklife Center. Recorded at various locations throughout the United States by Elena Bradunas and twenty-three other fieldworkers, April-July 1982. The collection includes thirty-two boxes of curriculum materials, and eight microfilms of field notes and reports.

Box 6: Five linear inches of curriculum materials, enlargements, final reports, news clippings, publications, and photo and slide logs from the Pella Christian Grade School and the Dutch community of Pella. Collected by Phil Weber in Pella, Iowa, April-July 1982. This collection forms the basis of Phillip E. Webber's book Pella Dutch: The Portrait of a Language and Its Use in One of Iowa's Ethnic Communities (Ames: Iowa State University Press, 1988; PF891.W43 1988).

Manuscript Collection

Binkele (McCulloh), Judith. "The State of Folklore Study in Belgium." [Bloomington: Indiana University], 1958. 29 pages. A bibliography of sources pertaining to Belgian folklore, with information on the history of folklore study in Belgium.

Glossary of Select Terms Used in This Finding Aid

Kermess: An outdoor festival of the Low Countries held Labor Day and the preceding Sunday.

Macaronic song: A narrative or song in which two or more languages are interspersed.

Scharensliep wagon: A scissors or knifegrinder's cart.

Rommelpot: A friction drum played by rubbing the moistened fingers or a stick across a membrane stretched over an earthenware pot. The Flemish rommelpot is particularly associated with Christmas.