

# Nevada Site Office News

<u>News Media Contact:</u> Darwin J. Morgan, 702-295-3521 <u>morgan@nv.doe.gov</u> Sharon Tutrone, 702-295-4376 TutronS@nv.doe.gov **For Immediate Release:** January 31, 2007

# High Schools to Compete in DOE Nevada Regional Science Bowl

The 16<sup>th</sup> Annual Nevada Regional Science Bowl will take place February 9 and 10 at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV). Thirty-two teams from Nevada, Utah, and California will test their math and science knowledge during the competition hosted by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE), National Nuclear Security Administration Nevada Site Office (NNSA/NSO).

Teams will be competing for the Nevada Regional Science Bowl title, a trip to the National Science Bowl in Washington, D.C., and prize money up to \$5,000.

The weekend starts with a 2:00 p.m. registration and a free tour to students and teachers at the Atomic Testing Museum. A mock Science Bowl is scheduled for 7:00 p.m. Friday, February 9, at the UNLV Moyer Student Union. Friday's practice will give teams the opportunity to interact with their competitors, and to practice for the following day's competition.

The 13-round tournament will begin at 7:30 a.m. Saturday, in the UNLV Classroom Building Complex. After morning activities conclude, participants will break for lunch at 11:30 a.m. inside the Moyer Student Union and truly enjoy an out-of-this-world experience. Roy D. Bridges, Jr., a former NASA astronaut, and pilot of the Space Shuttle Challenger on mission STS-51-F from July 29 to August 6 1985, will serve as the keynote speaker at the luncheon.

"Getting to be a part of the space shuttle program as an astronaut was another highlight, of course. I flew on the Challenger for eight days and 126 orbits around the earth. That experience was just awesome. I was preparing to fly again on the Challenger when the accident happened in 1986. It was a very heartfelt tragedy, and it changed all of our lives." said Bridges.

Nate Tannenbaum will serve as master of ceremonies and will moderate the final round of competition, which will begin at 4:45 p.m. The winning team will be determined by 6:00 p.m.

NSO-07-03

--- more ----

This year's schools include:

## Nevada:

Las Vegas: Advanced Technologies Academy (2 teams), Bonanza High School, Centennial High School, Cheyenne High School (2 teams), Clark High School (2 teams), Durango High School, Faith Lutheran High School (2 teams), Foothill High School, Palo Verde High School, Shadow Ridge High School (2 teams), Valley High School (2 teams).

<u>Reno:</u> Bishop Manogue High School, Procter Hug High School, Reno High School (2 teams), Wooster High School.

Henderson: Green Valley High School.

Boulder City: Boulder City High School (2 teams).

Minden: Douglas High School.

Fallon: Churchill County High School.

Sparks: Spanish Springs High School.

Zephyr Cove: Whittell High School.

## Utah:

Cedar City: Canyon View High School, Cedar City High School.

## California:

Big Pine: Big Pine High School.

Science Bowl sponsors: Atomic Testing Museum; Bechtel SAIC Company, LLC; U.S. Bureau of Reclamation, Regional Office & Hoover Dam; Desert Research Institute; National Security Technologies, LLC (NSTec); Northrop Grumman; Stoller-Navarro Joint Venture; University of Nevada, Las Vegas; U.S. Department of Energy National Nuclear Security Administration Nevada Site Office; U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Repository Development; and Wackenhut Services, Inc.