

Nevada Site Office News

News Media Contact:

Ron Gibson, (702) 295-1821 <u>gibsonrl@nv.doe.gov</u> Jennifer Morton, (702) 295-4376 <u>mortonj@nv.doe.gov</u>

Darwin J. Morgan, (702) 295-3521 morgan@nv.doe.gov

For Immediate Release: Februrary 7, 2006

High Schools to Compete on DOE Regional Science Bowl

LAS VEGAS - The 15th Annual Nevada Regional Science Bowl will take place Feb. 10 and 11 at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV). Thirty-two teams from throughout the Southwest will test their math and science knowledge during the competition hosted by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE), National Nuclear Security Administration Nevada Site Office (NNSA/NSO).

Teams will be competing for the Nevada Regional Science Bowl title, a trip to the National Science Bowl in Washington, D.C., and prize money up to \$5,000.

A mock Science Bowl is scheduled for 7 p.m. Friday, Feb. 10, at the UNLV Bigelow Physics Building Auditorium. Friday's practice will give teams the opportunity to interact with their competitors, to attend scientific symposiums, and to practice for the following day's competition.

The 13-round tournament will begin at 7:30 a.m. Saturday, in the UNLV Classroom Building Complex. KTNV TV-13 Chief Meteorologist Nate Tannenbaum will serve as master of ceremonies for a luncheon served in the Moyer Student Union Grand Ballroom at 11:30 a.m., and will moderate the final round of competition, which will begin at 4:45 p.m. The winning team will be determined by 6 p.m.

DOE created the Science Bowl in 1991 to promote students' to excel in math and science and to encourage them pursue scientific and technical careers. More than 100,000 high school students from throughout the nation have participated in the Science Bowl since its inception.

This year's schools include: Advanced Technologies Academy, Big Pine High School, Bishop Manogue High School, Bonanza High School, Boulder City High School (2 teams), Cedar City High School, Cheyenne High School (2 teams), Clark High School (2 teams), Del Sol High School, Douglas High School, Durango High School (2 teams), Green Valley High School, Las Vegas High School (2 teams), Laughlin High School, The Meadows School, Procter Hug High School, Reno High School (2 teams), Shadow Ridge High School, Spanish Springs High School, Sparks High School (2 teams), Valley High School (2 teams), West Wendover High School and Whittell High School.

Science Bowl sponsors: Bechtel Nevada; Bechtel SAIC Company, LLC; Bureau of Reclamation, Regional Office & Hoover Dam; Desert Research Institute; Nevada Power Company; NTS Historical Foundation/Atomic Testing Museum; Stoller-Navarro Joint Venture; University of Nevada, Las Vegas; University of Nevada, Reno; U.S. Department of Energy National Nuclear Security Administration Nevada Site Office; U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Repository Development; and Wackenhut Services, Inc.

Note to Media: On the day of Science Bowl competition (Saturday, Feb. 11), contact telephone numbers are: **630-0120** or **496-0062**

NSO-06-02 -30-