## American Phytopathological Society Potomac Division

## Minutes

64<sup>th</sup> Meeting of the Potomac Division, American Phytopathological Society March 26-28, 2008

The 2008 meeting of the Potomac Division was held March 26-28, 2008 at the Lakeview Inn and Confrence Center in Morgantown, West Virginia. Members of the Local Arrangements Committee were Yilmaz Balci, John Baniecki, Mark Double, Mannon Gallegly, James Kotcon, William MacDonald, Joseph Morton, and Daniel Panaccione. The Program Committee consisted of Bill Bruckart, Anne DeMarsay, Kate Everts, James Kotcon, Jay Norelli, Dan Roberts, David Schmale, Nina Shishkoff, Boris Vinatzer, Tim Widmer, and Inga Zasada. The Executive Committee consisted of Dan Roberts, President; Kate Everts, Past President; Inga Zasada, Vice President; and David Schmale, Secretary-Treasurer. Attendance was estimated at 73 people.

The Program started Wednesday afternoon (March 26<sup>th</sup>) with a welcome from Dan Roberts, President, Potomac Division. The first session was the annual Industry-Extension-Emerging Problems Update, co-chaired by Anne DeMarsay and Steve Rideout. The Wednesday program concluded with a talk by Robert Davis titled "Phytoplasmas and spiroplasmas – shrinking genomes in an expanding universe."

Thursday morning's program started with a welcome from Cameron Hackney, Dean, Davis College of Agriculture, Forestry and Consumer Sciences, West Virginia University, Morgantown, WV. Jay Norelli and Boris Vinatzer co-chaired a symposium titled "Molecular Evolution of Plant Pathogenic Bacteria," followed by the ten presentations by graduate students as part of the Graduate Student Competition chaired by Bill Burckart. The final symposium of the day was "Excluding the Unknown Pathogen," co-chaired by Nina Shishkoff and Tim Widmer. The president of APS, Ray Martyn, concluded the formal session with a presentation titled 'What keeps council busy - An update from APS." The Poster Session/Social and Banquet concluded Thursday's program. The social was sponsored by Acadian Agritech, Agraquest Inc., Arysta LifeScience North America, BASF Corporation, Bayer CropScience, Dow AgroSciences LLC, DuPont Crop Protection, FMC Corporation, and Syngenta Crop Protection. The meeting program continued Friday morning (March 28<sup>th</sup>) with a contributed papers session chaired by Kate Everts and a symposium titled "Organic Agriculture" chaired by James Kotcon. The meeting concluded with a tour of organic farming facilities at West Virginia University and a workshop by Michelle Wander titled "Workshop: eOrganic: Training for a new Online ExtensionInitiative."

The 2008 Memorial Fund Student Travel Award went to Hannah Schrum, West Virginia University. First place in the Graduate Student Paper Competition was awarded to Jeneylyne Colcol, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University. Hao Hu, Christine M. Coyle, and Shawn C. Kenaley received Honorable Mentions for their presentations. Mary Ann Hansen was elected Secretary-Treasurer for 2007-2008 and Chris Dardick was elected Vice-President.

Resolutions were assembled and read by Mannon Gallegly and enjoyed by all. The gavel was presented to David Schmale, the President for 2008-2009, by Dan Roberts.

## **Potomac Division Business Meeting**

The 64<sup>th</sup> Annual Business Meeting of the Potomac Division was called to order at 1 PM Thursday, March 27<sup>th</sup> by Potomac Division President Dan Roberts.

After introductions of the Executive Committee and APS officers by Dan Roberts, Dan Roberts presented the necrology report. Two colleagues, Jim Kantzes and Robert Balwdin, were remembered with a moment of silence. David Schmale presented the minutes from the 2007 Potomac Division Meeting, and the minutes were approved by the membership without any revisions. David Schmale presented the treasurer's report, which was audited by Anne DeMarsay and Anton Baudoin. It was noted that the Potomac Division was in good financial shape.

Kate Everts presented the Potomac Division Councilor's Report. The Potomac Division ranks  $5^{\text{th}}$  out of six APS divisions in total members. However, we saw the greatest percentage increase in our membership from 2004 to 2008. Sixty-seven percent of the APS members that reside in our region are also members of the Potomac Division. The Potomac Division ranked second in the number of lapsed members that renewed their membership in the last six months. David Schmale initiated the effort to put Division meeting abstracts, registration, and payment online for 2008 meeting. APS headquarters staff spoke highly of the effort. Erik Stromberg is running for Vice-President of APS and Tom Evans is running for Councilor-at-large.

Dan Roberts indicated that \$3,000 has been paid for the Potomac Division's contribution to the APS Centennial Fund.

For new business, the 2009 Potomac Division Annual Meeting will be held in Maryland. The exact location of the meeting is to be determined. Dan Roberts led a discussion about a graduate student waiver for registration at the annual meetings. The membership decided to amend language to the constitution to allow fees for graduate students and technical staff to be assigned by the executive committee on a sliding scale proportional to available resources. Jay Norelli acknowledged the outstanding participation of graduate students; ten students gave presentations at this meeting.

The Annual Business Meeting was adjourned at 1:45 PM.