This is a guide to general reference resources at Stanford and on the
Web.
Bible |
|
Versions
of the Bible — a list of library resources at Stanford.
BibleGateway.com
search engine for various versions of the Bible in various
languages
The Bible,
Revised Standard Version
King James Bible
King James
Version
Gutenberg
Bible
|
Biography
|
|
Biography
Resource Center
Biography and Genealogy Master
Index
American National Biography
Oxford Dictionary of National
Biography
Biographical
Directory of the United States Congress 1774-present
Research Quick
Start Guide on Biographical Information |
Books
in Print |
|
Books in Print Stanford only. |
Calculators
|
|
Martindale's
Calculators On-Line Center
Google
Calculator |
Calendars
|
|
time and date.com
includes perpetual calendar and other features
The Earth Calendar
— holidays and celebrations around the world.
|
Copyright |
|
Copyright & Fair Use
Digital
Millennium Copyright Act: Status & Analysis |
Currency
Converters |
|
Universal Currency Converter
Classic
164 Currency Converter |
|
|
including:
OED: Oxford English
Dictionary Stanford only
Merriam Webster's
Collegiate Dictionary, 10th Edition Stanford only .
Webster's Third New International Dictionary,
Unabridged
|
|
|
including:
Stanford.who?
Switchboard telephone directory
Zip
Code Directory
|
|
|
including:
Britannica Online Stanford only.
Encyclopedia.com with "more than 17,000
articles from The Concise Columbia Electronic Encyclopedia,
Third Edition." |
Government Information
|
|
Jonsson Government Documents
Library's Internet Resources
Government Information Databases
LexisNexis Congressional
GPO Access
"disseminates official information from all three branches
of the Federal Government."
AccessUN
(1952+) Stanford only. index to current and retrospective
UN documents and publications, plus fulltext of resolutions
and selected meeting records.
European Union Internet Resources
Internal Revenue Service
Tax
Forms
NASA homepage |
Internet Guides & Search Engines
|
|
Librarians'
Index to the Internet
Yahoo!
Search Engines:
Google
Teoma
Vivisimo divides results
into folders
Search Engine Showdown
Types
of Search Tools (UC Berkeley) |
|
|
Searchable
Stanford Campus Map
Stanford
Libraries Map
Branner Library
Map Collections
Classroom
Wall Maps
Columbia
Gazetteer of the World
U.C. Berkeley campus map |
Microform Sets
|
|
Books,
Periodicals and Pamphlets on Microform
American Literary Studies:
Special Print, Manuscript, and Microform Resources at Stanford.
|
|
|
including:
LexisNexis Academic
— fulltext news, business, and law resources Stanford
only
Newsbank Fulltext Newspapers
Stanford only |
Periodical Indexes & Guides
|
|
General and Interdisciplinary Studies
Humanities & Area Studies
Science & Engineering
Social Sciences
Periodicals: African-American
Periodicals: Women and Feminist
Green Library Reference CD-ROMs |
Public Opinion
|
|
Public Opinion: — Selective
Guide to Library Resources at Stanford.
Polling the Nations Stanford
only. |
Quotations
|
|
Bartlett's Familiar
Quotations 1901 ed.
The Quotations
Homepage |
|
|
including:
LexisNexis Statistical
Stanford only.
U.S. Census Bureau
Inflation
Calculators
Stanford's Social Sciences Data Service
provides the Stanford community with a wide range of services related
to statistics. |
|
|
including:
RefWorks ![[help]](https://webarchive.library.unt.edu/eot2008/20090116014705im_/http://library.stanford.edu/icons/helpq.gif) is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows
users to create a personal, searchable, database of citations.
Citations
Syles based on Harnack and Kleppinger's Online! A Reference Guide
to Using Internet Sources. Gives examples for MLA, APA, Chicago,
and CBE. |
Theater Information
|
|
Playbill, includes
what's playing where, theater seating charts, and available
jobs.
Finding Plays, Short Stories,
Speeches, and Poetry — resources at Stanford |
Transportation
|
|
Transportation at Stanford includes
Marguerite
shuttle.
Kelley Blue Book Official Guide
— prices for cars and much more.
San Francisco Bay Area Transit Information
"provides instant online access to transit information for the
San Francisco Bay Area". |
Travel & Country Information
|
|
Portals
to the World (Library of Congress)
World
Factbook (CIA)
Fodor's Travel Service.
Travel and Exploration Reference
Books a list of library resources at Stanford.
|
|
|
including:
U M Weather from the University
of Michigan. "Providing access to thousands of forecasts,
images, and the Net's largest collection of weather links",
National Weather Service
Western
Regional Climate Center
|
