The Marine Invasions Research Lab provides four online databases to those interested in various aspects of invasive species research. Each database covers a unique aspect of marine invasions research and may be accessed via the links below.

 The Aquatic Invasions Research Directory (AIRD) is a searchable database of current information on people, research, technology, management issues and policy relevant to aquatic invasions. AIRD was created in collaboration with many  international centers of research on aquatic invasions.

The National Exotic Marine and Estuarine Species Information System (NEMESIS) is a resource for information on non-native, or exotic, species that occur in coastal marine waters of the United States. NEMESIS provides summaries for approximately 500 non-native coastal species including when, where and how these species invaded and key information on their biology and ecology.

The National Ballast Information Clearinghouse (NBIC) is a joint program of the Smithsonian Environmental Research Center and the United States Coast Guard established in 1997 at the direction of the National Invasive Species Act of 1996 (NISA). The principal aims of NBIC are to quantify the amounts and origins of ballast water discharged in US coastal systems and to determine the degree to which such water has undergone open-ocean exchange or alternative treatments designed to reduce the likelihood of ballast-mediated invasions by exotic species.

While not exactly a database, NISbase is a portal developed at the Marine Invasions Research Lab in collaboration with the USGS Center for Aquatic Studies through which a user can query multiple invasive species databases at one time with the convenience of a single search form. Results are returned separately from each database but presented together as a single table. NISbase continues to grow as we are actively seeking new partner databases and developing innovative ways to share our combined invasive species information.