## Two Animal Health Steering Committees Hold First Joint Meeting

The National Animal Health Laboratory Network (NAHLN) and National Animal Health Surveillance System (NAHSS) Steering Committees held their first joint face-to-face meeting in January.

Both committees represent various stakeholders in the NAHLN and the NAHSS and are heavily involved in issues affecting animal health surveillance in the United States.

The purposes of the joint meeting were to: introduce committee members and discuss charge and functions; discuss cooperative development and implementation of surveillance in detail; and identify specific points for future interaction, coordination, and cooperation of the NAHLN and NAHSS. The APHIS Administrator, the acting VS Deputy Administrator, the VS Chief Information Officer, and several members of the VS Management Team attended portions of the meeting. These officials discussed the importance of both NAHSS and NAHLN within VS and the contributions of each committee to animal health, challenges faced by the network and system, and potential solutions to those challenges.

The committees engaged in specific discussions of resources, laboratory capabilities and capacities, information technology issues, data standards, strategic planning, policy, and regulatory issues. They also recognized past accomplishments and defined current challenges of the NAHLN and the NAHSS. Each committee identified several action items to further explore and promote the synergies of the NAHLN, the NAHSS, and the steering committees.

## Steering Committees

2008 NAHLN Steering Committee members and their affiliations:

Barb Powers (chair)
Grant Maxie
Dave Steffen
Alex Ardans

AAVLD Immediate Past President AAVLD President AAVLD President-Elect AAVLD Lab Director

David Zeman	AAVLD Lab Director
Lanny Pace	AAVLD Lab Director
Ron Wilson	USAHA
Bob Hillman	National Assembly of State Animal Health Officials
Barbara Martin	NAHLN Coordinator
Beth Lautner	NVSL Director
Tammy Beckham	FADDL Director
Gary Sherman	CSREES
Mark Robinson	CSREES
Jim Case	IT representative
Jay Kammerzell	IT representative

More information about the NAHLN and its Steering Committee can be found on the NAHLN Web site at:

http://www.aphis.usda.gov/animal\_health/nahln/

2008 NAHSS Steering Committee members and their affiliations:

Francois Elvinger (chair)	Veterinary academia representative
Bruce Akey	Veterinary diagnostic laboratory representative
Neena Anandaraman	USDA-FSIS
Ken Cline	Aquaculture industry representative
Cindy Garborick	USDA-APHIS-VS
Colin Gillin	Wildlife representative
Les Hardesty	Dairy industry representative
Teresa Quitugua	Department of Homeland Security
Sharon Hietala	Veterinary diagnostic laboratory representative
Jim Logan	State department of agriculture and small ruminant industry
	representative
Barb Martin	USDA-APHIS-VS-NAHLN
John Maulsby	State department of agriculture representative
Barbara Porter-Spalding	USDA- APHIS-VS
Mo Salman	Veterinary academia representative
Pat Stonger	Poultry industry representative

Peter Timoney	Equine industry representative
Patrick Webb	Swine industry representative

More information about the NAHSS and its Steering Committee can be found on the NAHSS Web site at:

http://www.aphis.usda.gov/vs/nahss/steering\_committee.htm

List of acronyms:

AAVLD—American Association of Veterinary Laboratory Diagnosticians

USAHA—United States Animal Health Association

NVSL—National Veterinary Services Laboratory

FADDL—Foreign Animal Disease Diagnostic Laboratories

CSREES—Cooperative State Research Education and Extension Service

FSIS—Food Safety and Inspection Service