# **Indiana Invasive Species Task Force**

# NATURAL RESOURCES STUDY COMMITTEE (IC 2-5-5-1)

#### THE COMMITTEE IS CHARGED WITH STUDYING THE FOLLOWING TOPICS:

## A. Impact of invasive species in Indiana (HCR 86 and SCR 75)

That the Legislative Council is urged to direct the Natural Resource Study Committee (Committee) to study the impacts of invasive species in Indiana.

That the Committee, if so directed, shall establish a task force to study the economic and environmental impacts of invasive species in Indiana and provide findings and recommendations on strategies for prevention, early detection, control and management of invasive species to minimize these impacts.

That the task force, if established, shall be composed of the following members:

(1) the State Entomologist or his designee;

Phil Marshall, Acting State Entomologist
Department of Natural Resources – Division of Entomology and Plant Pathology
402 W. Washington St., Rm W290
Indianapolis, IN 46204-2748
317-232-4120
pmarshall@dnr.in.gov

(2) the State Chemist or his designee;

Dr. Robert D. Waltz, Indiana State Chemist and Seed Commissioner Purdue University 175 S. University St. West Lafayette, IN 47907-2063 765-494-1492 rwaltz@purdue.edu

(3) the Director of the Animal Board of Health or his designee;

Dr. Sandra Norman Indiana State Board of Animal Health 805 Beachway Drive, Ste. 50 Indianapolis, IN 46224-7785 317-227-0323 snorman@boah.in.gov

(4) the director of the Purdue Center for Crop Biosecurity and Invasive Species or his designee; (this center is now inactive; chair of Invasive Plant Species Assessment Working Group and State Aquatic Invasives Coordinator substituted instead)

Ellen Jacquart, Chair of Invasive Plant Species Assessment Working Group The Nature Conservancy 1505 N. Delaware #200 Indianapolis, IN 317-951-8818 ejacquart@tnc.org

Doug Keller, Aquatic Invasives Coordinator

Department of Natural Resources – Division of Fish and Wildlife 402 W. Washington St., Rm W273 Indianapolis, IN 46204-2748 317-234-3883 dkeller@dnr.in.gov

### (5) a representative of the nursery and landscape industry;

Indiana Nursery and Landscape Association President Rick Haggard (or his designee) CM Hobbs Nursery 1201 S. 1050 E Indianapolis, IN 46231 (317) 837-8301 rhaggard@cmhobbs.com

### (6) a representative of a conservation group;

John Miller, President
Oak Heritage Conservancy
P.O. Box 622
Aurora, IN 47001
513-404-8268
quercusalba@embarqmail.com

## (7) a representative of a city park; and

Keith Ruble, Superintendent Vigo County Parks Department Vigo County Annex Building 155 Oak Street Terre Haute, IN 47807 812-462-3391 dxnorman@vigocounty.org

#### (8) two (2) representatives from universities.

Dr. Chris Pierce, Cooperative Agricultural Pest Survey Coordinator Dr. Steve Yaninek, Professor and Head Purdue University Department of Entomology Smith Hall 901 West State Street West Lafayette, Indiana 47907-2089

C. Pierce: 765-494-9522, <a href="mailto:cpierce@purdue.edu">cpierce@purdue.edu</a> S. Yaninek: 765-494-4554, <a href="mailto:yaninek@purdue.edu">yaninek@purdue.edu</a>

Dr. David Lodge, Director of Center for Aquatic Conservation University of Notre Dame Notre Dame, IN 46556 574-631-6094 Lodge.1@nd.edu

That the task force shall issue reports and recommendations to the Natural Resource Study Committee when it first meets in 2008. The Natural Resource Study Committee shall then issue a final report with recommendations back to the Legislative Council by November 1, 2008.

### **Indiana Invasive Species Task Force**

Phil Marshall, Acting State Entomologist
Department of Natural Resources – Division of
Entomology and Plant Pathology
402 W. Washington St., Rm W290
Indianapolis, IN 46204-2748
317-232-4120
pmarshall@dnr.in.gov

Ellen Jacquart
The Nature Conservancy
1505 N. Delaware #200
Indianapolis, IN
317-951-8818
ejacquart@tnc.org

Doug Keller
Department of Natural Resources –
Division of Fish and Wildlife
Aquatic Invasives Coordinator
402 W. Washington St., Rm W273
Indianapolis, IN 46204-2748
317-234-3883
dkeller@dnr.in.gov

Robert D. Waltz, Indiana State Chemist and Seed Commissioner Purdue University 175 S. University St. West Lafayette, IN 47907-2063 765-494-1492 rwaltz@purdue.edu

Keith Ruble, Superintendent Vigo County Parks Department Vigo County Annex Building 155 Oak Street Terre Haute, IN 47807 812-462-3391 dxnorman@vigocounty.org

John Miller, President Oak Heritage Conservancy P.O. Box 622 Aurora, IN 47001 <u>quercusalba@embarqmail.com</u> 513-404-8268 Dr. Chris Pierce, CAPS Coordinator
Dr. Steve Yaninek, Professor and Head
Purdue University
Department of Entomology
Smith Hall
901 West State Street
West Lafayette, Indiana 47907-2089
C. Pierce: 765-494-9522, cpierce@purdue.edu
S. Yaninek: 765-494-4554, yaninek@purdue.edu

Dr. Sandra Norman Indiana State Board of Animal Health 805 Beachway Drive, Ste. 50 Indianapolis, IN 46224-7785 317-227-0323 snorman@boah.in.gov

Dr. David Lodge, Director of Center for Aquatic Conservation University of Notre Dame Notre Dame, IN 46556 574-631-6094 Lodge.1@nd.edu

President Rick Haggard (or his designee)
Indiana Nursery and Landscape Association
CM Hobbs Nursery
1201 S. 1050 E
Indianapolis, IN 46231
317-837-8301
rhaggard@cmhobbs.com

Jack Seifert, State Forester (or his designee)
Department of Natural Resources – Division of
Forestry
402 W. Washington St., Rm. W296
Indianapolis, IN 46204-2748
317-232-4105
jseifert@dnr.IN.gov