

NSB-08-75 August 15, 2008

## MEMORANDUM TO MEMBERS AND CONSULTANTS OF THE NATIONAL SCIENCE BOARD

**SUBJECT:** Major Actions and Approvals at the August 12-13, 2008 Meeting

This memorandum will be made publicly available for any interested parties to review. A more detailed summary of the meeting will be forthcoming and posted on the National Science Board (Board, NSB) public Web site. The minutes of the Plenary Open Session for the August 2008 meeting will also be posted on the Board's public Web site, following Board approval at the September 2008 meeting.

Major actions and approvals at the 405th meeting of the Board included the following (not in priority order):

- The Board approved the minutes of the Plenary Open Session (<u>NSB-08-58</u>) for the May 2008 meeting (<u>http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/meetings/2008/0506/minutes.pdf</u>). Minutes for the Plenary Executive Closed and Closed Sessions for the May 2008 meeting of the Board were also approved.
- 2. The Board approved a resolution to close portions of the upcoming September 22-23, 2008 Board meeting dealing with staff appointments; future budgets; grants and contracts; specific Office of the Inspector General investigations and enforcement actions; and National Science Foundation (NSF) participation in a civil or administrative action, proceeding, or arbitration (<a href="http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/meetings/2008/0922/closing.pdf">http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/meetings/2008/0922/closing.pdf</a>).
- 3. Dr. Kathryn Sullivan was elected to the Executive Committee to complete the unexpired term (May 2007 May 2009) created by the election of Dr. Patricia Galloway as Board Vice Chairman in May 2008.
- 4. The Board authorized the NSF Director, at his discretion, to make an award to Rutgers University for Management of the Protein Data Bank by the Research Collaboratory for Structural Biology.
- 5. The Board authorized the NSF Director, at his discretion, to make an award to the National Opinion Research Center (NORC) for the General Social Survey: FY 2009 2013.
- 6. The Board authorized the NSF Director, at his discretion, to make an award to the University of California at San Diego for the Expansion of Funding for the Temporal Dynamics of Learning Center (TDLC).

- 7. The Board authorized the NSF Director, at his discretion, to make an award to Temple University for the Continuing Funding for the Spatial Intelligence and Learning Center (SILC)
- 8. The Board authorized the NSF Director, at his discretion, to make an award to Gallaudet University for the Expansion of Funding for the Visual Language and Visual Learning Center (VL2).
- 9. The Board approved the Charge and Workplan for an EHR Expert Panel Discussion on Preparing the Next Generation of STEM Innovators.
- 10. The Board approved a schedule of meetings for calendar year 2009 (NSB-08-70). (Attachment)
- 11. The Board approved the draft *Report to Congress on Interdisciplinary Research at the National Science Foundation* (NSB/CPP-08-34), subject to final edits approved by the Board Chairman and Committee on Programs and Plans chairman. [Final report: NSB-08-80]
- 12. The Board approved the draft *Report to Congress on Limits on Proposal Submissions by Institution* (NSB/CSB-08-12), subject to final edits approved the Board Chairman and Committee on Strategy and Budget chairman. [Final report: NSB-08-81]
- 13. The Board Chairman discharged the *ad hoc* Committee on Nominating for NSB Elections, established in July 2008, with special thanks to Dr. Kelvin Droegemeier, chairman, and members Drs. Douglas Randall, Thomas Taylor, and Richard Thompson.
- 14. The Board Chairman announced the members of the Task Force on the NSB 60<sup>th</sup> Anniversary: Dr. Patricia Galloway, chairman, and members Drs. Camilla Benbow, John Bruer, José-Marie Griffiths, Douglas Randall, Kathryn Sullivan, and Thomas Taylor.
- 15. The Board Chairman established the *ad hoc* Committee on Nominations for NSB Class of 2010 2016, with Dr. Alan Leshner as chairman. Members of this committee will be announced by the next Board meeting.
- 16. The Board Chairman established the *ad hoc* Committee for the Vannevar Bush Award with Dr. Kathryn Sullivan as chairman. Members of this committee will be announced at a later date.

[signed]
Craig R. Robinson
Acting Executive Officer

Attachment: NSB-08-70

Attachment to NSB-08-75 NSB-08-70 August 13, 2008

## NATIONAL SCIENCE BOARD CALENDAR OF MEETINGS

2009

February 23 - 24 (Monday - Tuesday)

May 13 - 14 (Wednesday - Thursday) [Annual Meeting and Awards Dinner]

> August 5 - 6 (Wednesday - Thursday)

September 23 - 24 (Wednesday - Thursday) [Annual Retreat and Visit]

December 9 - 10 (Wednesday - Thursday)