

NSB-08-36 March 28, 2008

MEMORANDUM TO MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL SCIENCE BOARD

SUBJECT: Major Actions and Approvals at the March 26-27, 2008 Meeting

This memorandum will be made publicly available for any interested parties to review. A more detailed summary of the meeting will be forthcoming and posted on the National Science Board (Board, NSB) public Web site. The minutes of the Plenary Open Session for the March 2008 meeting will also be posted on the Board's public Web site, following Board approval at the May 2008 meeting.

Major actions and approvals at the 403rd meeting of the Board included the following (not in priority order):

- The Board approved the minutes of the Plenary Open Session (<u>NSB-08-23</u>) for the February 2008 meeting (<u>http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/meetings/2008/0206/minutes.pdf.</u>) Minutes for the Plenary Executive Closed and Closed Sessions for the February 2008 meeting of the Board were also approved.
- 2. The Board approved a resolution to close portions of the upcoming May 6-7, 2008 Board meeting dealing with staff appointments; future budgets; grants and contracts; specific Office of the Inspector General investigations and enforcement actions; and National Science Foundation (NSF) participation in a civil or administrative action, proceeding, or arbitration (http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/meetings/2008/0506/closing.pdf).
- 3. The Board approved the recipient for the 2008 Alan T. Waterman Award. The awardee will be announced after he/she is notified.
- 4. The Board consented to rescheduling the planned Board meeting for October 1-2, 2008 to September 22-23, 2008 to accommodate conflicts with a religious holiday and the end of the fiscal year.
- 5. The Board delegated to the Director a request for proposal and award of a support contract for the U.S. Antarctic Program.
- 6. The Board authorized the Director, at his discretion, to approve the award to the Laser Interferometer Gravitational-Wave Observatory (LIGO) Laboratory Operations and Maintenance to California Institute of Technology <u>and</u> the award for advanced LIGO construction to California Institute of Technology.

- 7. The Board approved a letter to Congressman Rush Holt as a follow up to the Board's letter of January 31, 2007 relating to a review of NSF's Directorate for Education and Human Resources (EHR) programs with respect to evaluation procedures and results, and how they are used to enhance NSF's EHR programs.
- 8. The Board elected the following Board Members to the *ad hoc* Committee on Nominating for NSB Elections, informally known as the Elections Committee: Drs. Ray Bowen, Elizabeth Hoffman, Douglas Randall, and Jo Anne Vasquez.

[signed]
Craig R. Robinson
Acting Executive Officer