The NTIS Advisory Board

The National Technical Information Service Advisory Board was established by the Secretary of Commerce pursuant to Section 212(c) of the National Technical Information Act of 1988 (15 U.S.C. 3704b(c)) in accordance with the Federal Advisory Committee Act (5 U.S.C. App. 2).


The NTIS Advisory Board reviews the general policies of NTIS, including those regarding fees and charges for its products and services.  Drawing upon the expertise of its members, the Advisory Board advises the Secretary of Commerce and the Director of NTIS on such policies.  It also provides guidance regarding customer needs, trends in the information industry, and changes in the way NTIS’ customers acquire and use its products and services.


The NTIS Advisory Board consists of a Chairperson and four other members appointed by the Secretary of Commerce.  The members are appointed for three-year terms and serve at the discretion of the Secretary, meeting at least once every six months at the call of the Director of NTIS.  Following is a list of the current members of the NTIS Advisory Board:

Dr. John Regazzi — Chairperson
            Professor, College of Information and Computer Science,
        Long Island University

Dr. Beth Fitzsimmons

       President, Information Strategists, LLC

Dr. José-Marie Griffiths

       Dean and Professor, School of Information and Library Science,
       University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Mr. Kent Smith

       Management Consultant (Former Deputy Director, National Library of Medicine,
       National Institutes of Health)

NTIS Advisory Board Minutes

Minutes, October 18, 2006

Minutes, January 30-31, 2008

Minutes, October 30-31, 2008

Notices of Upcoming Meetings

The next meeting of the NTIS Advisory Board will be on October 30 - 31, 2008 in Springfield, VA.

The agenda for the October meeting is available.

Notices of upcoming meetings of the NTIS Advisory Board are announced in the Federal Register.