Roadless Area Conservation National Advisory Committee Members Reappointed for a Second Term

Acting Agriculture Secretary Chuck Conner has reappointed the 13 members of the Roadless Area Conservation National Advisory Committee (RACNAC) for a second term to run from 2007 to 2009. The Committee provides advice and recommendations to the Secretary on the management and conservation of roadless areas, including petitions by the states to the Secretary. During its first two years the Committee provided key recommendations on roadless area management, successfully representing diverse stakeholder perspectives. All 13 members from the 2005-2007 Committee were reappointed in an effort to maintain the previous committee dynamic that led to such success.

Members of the Committee include: Darin Bird, representing state-elected officials; Robert Cope, representing locally-elected officials; Adena Cook and Geraldine Link, representing developed recreation organizations; Jeff Eisenberg, James Riley and Greg Schaefer, representing commercial interest organizations; Denny Scott representing organized labor organizations; and Paul Hansen, Dale Harris, Todd Schulke, Ray Vaughan, and Chris Wood representing environmental organizations.