UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF

COMMERCE

NIAWS

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20230

NATIONAL
OCEANIC AND
ATMOSPHERIC
ADMINISTRATION

CONTACT: Susan Buchanan

301-713-2370

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

June 18, 2003

Commerce Secretary Don Evans, NOAA Fisheries Director Bill Hogarth Present 2002 Employees of the Year Awards

At an awards ceremony today at the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's (NOAA) campus in Silver Spring, Md., Secretary of Commerce Don Evans joined Dr. Bill Hogarth, director of the Commerce Department's National Marine Fisheries Service (NOAA Fisheries) in presenting 55 Employees of the Year Awards for 2002.

Secretary Evans told the assembled honorees and guests that public service is a great privilege and an important responsibility. NOAA Fisheries' charge to oversee some two million square miles of ocean, where hundreds of species are monitored and managed, provides its share of challenges and difficult decisions.

"As employees of NOAA Fisheries, you are stewards of our nation's living marine resources and their habitat," Evans said. "The many awards being made today show the breadth of our conservation and management research and activities, and the successes."

Hogarth said that rewarding employees for their contributions is one of the best ways he knows to ensure that the agency attracts and retains the best workers.

"It is often said that NOAA's greatest asset is its employees, and no place is that more true than in NOAA Fisheries. I am convinced that throughout NOAA Fisheries, we have employees whose knowledge, experience, energy, and dedication are unequaled anywhere," Hogarth said. "For many years, it has been my pleasure and privilege to be associated with many outstanding individuals and I am always looking for ways to ensure that all of you realize your full potential within a safe and appreciative work place."

The NOAA Fisheries Employee of the Year Awards provide NOAA Fisheries with an opportunity to recognize the important contributions employees make to the organization. Employees are nominated by their peers for this recognition.

"It is my pleasure to note the exceptional service and commitment exhibited in the many nominations I received. I extend to each recipient my sincerest congratulations and my heartfelt thanks for leading the way to a better NOAA Fisheries," Hogarth said.

NOAA Fisheries Employees of the Year, 2002

Northeast Regional Office

Kathie Ciarametaro Mary Colligan Walter Makowski Susan Murphy Esther Young

Southeast Regional Office

Kyle Baker Bob Hoffman Janet Miller Barbara Niswander Frederick Sutter

Southwest Regional Office

Michelle Cozad Charles Glasgow Maria Harris Irma Lagomarsino Jonathon Mann

Northwest Regional Office

Dale Bambrick Beverly Donnor Moira Hand Steven Landino Larry Swenson

Alaska Regional Office

Rebecca Campbell Jessica Gharrett John Gorman Pamela Mason Stacy Masters

Headquarters Office

Othel Freeman
Guy Holt
Bonnie Ponwith
Daniel Torquemada
Donna Wieting

Northeast Fisheries Science Center

Bruce Collette
Patricia Irby
Annette Kalbach
Steven Murawski
Cheryl Ryder

Southeast Fisheries Science Center

Enric Cortes
Dennis Lee
James Nance
Rhonda O'Toole
Elizabeth Perez

Southwest Fisheries Science Center

Gaye Holder Steve Miller Frank Parrish Stephen Reilly Mary Yoklavich

Northwest Fisheries Science Center

Paul Aebersold Celina Hedger R. Lynn McComas Phil Roni Mary Ruckelshaus

Alaska Fisheries Science Center

James Coe Bridget Goertzen Todd Loomis Craig Rose Cynthia Sweitzer

For hometown press releases on the employees of the year, please contact our regional public affairs officers:

Northeast: teri.frady@noaa.gov
Southeast: chris.smith@noaa.gov
Southwest: jim.milbury@noaa.gov
Northwest: brian.gorman@noaa.gov
Alaska: sheela.mclean@noaa.gov

Headquarters: chrystal.straughn@noaa.gov