skip navigation nih record
Vol. LXI, No. 1
January 9, 2009

previous story

next story

Nine NIH’ers Named 2008 AAAS Fellows

Nine NIH scientists have been awarded the distinction of AAAS fellow, an honor bestowed on members of the American Association for the Advancement of Science by their peers. They are among 486 members awarded this honor because of their distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.

From the section on biological sciences: Dr. Alan Hinnebusch, chief of NICHD’s Laboratory of Gene Regulation and Development and head of the section on nutrient control of gene regulation, “For distinguished contributions to the field of molecular genetics, particularly for the elucidation of mechanisms that regulate translation of RNA.”

Dr. Jennifer Lippincott-Schwartz, chief of the section on organelle biology in NICHD’s Cell Biology and Metabolism Branch, “For outstanding contributions to the field of fluorescent protein imaging, particularly for the creation of photoactivatable GFP and its use in new super-resolution imaging techniques.”

Dr. Samuel Wilson, recently the acting NIEHS director, “For seminal contribution to the understanding of structure-function relationships of the mammalian repair DNA polymerase-beta, elucidation of its protective role against alkylating agents and for leadership in academia.”

From the section on chemistry: Dr. David Wink, senior investigator, Radiation Biology Branch, Center for Cancer Research, NCI, “For seminal and distinguished contributions to the chemical biology of the bioregulatory molecule nitric oxide and for his role as a founding member of this field.”

From the section on medical sciences: Dr. Kuan-Teh Jeang, head, molecular virology section, Laboratory of Molecular Microbiology, NIAID, “For distinguished contributions to the field of human retrovirus research, particularly on HIV-1 transcription and HTLV-1 transformation.”

Dr. Elizabeth Nabel, director, NHLBI, “For outstanding contributions to the field of cardiovascular molecular genetics, for creative leadership and for dedicated service as director of the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute.”

Dr. Gary Nabel, director of NIAID’s Vaccine Research Center, “For distinguished contributions to virology and immunology in his own research and for his leadership efforts to develop vaccines against HIV, Ebola and other viruses.”

Dr. Snorri Thorgeirsson, head, Center of Excellence for Integrative Cancer Biology and Genomics, NCI, and chief, Laboratory of Experimental Carcinogenesis, “For his pioneering work on characterizing the cellular and molecular biological aspects of liver stem cells and their role in liver carcinogenesis.”

From the section on neuroscience: Dr. Jerrel Yakel, Laboratory of Neurobiology, NIEHS, “For distinguished contributions to neuroscience, particularly the role of nicotine receptors in brain function, and for his efforts in mentoring the next generation of biomedical scientists.”

New fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pin on Feb. 14 during the 2009 AAAS annual meeting in Chicago.

AAAS is the world’s largest general scientific society and publisher of the journal, Science. It was founded in 1848 and includes some 262 affiliated societies and academies of science, serving 10 million individuals. NIHRecord Icon

back to top of page