For Release: Immediate Contact: Joe Ross News Release #: OR-100-2007-018 Phone: (541) 440-4930

BLM Volunteers Win Presidential and Secretarial Service Awards

Eight volunteer campground hosts for the Roseburg District of the Bureau of Land Management have received Take Pride in America National Volunteer Service Awards.

Receiving the Presidential Award for more than 4,000 hours of service were Robin Sorensen and Becky Sorensen. In 2006, the hosts at BLM's Cavitt Creek Campground each contributed 4,720 hours of volunteer service.

Six other BLM volunteers received the Secretary of the Interior's Award for more than 3,000 hours of service: Terry Parsons, Sandy Stevens, Rizae Pfiefle, Kevin Pfiefle, Gene Pescatore, and Thea Pescatore.

BLMs Roseburg District Manager, Jay Carlson, acknowledged the value of BLM volunteers and campground host contributions. Carlson noted, "In this era of increasing public demands for goods and services, coupled with declining federal budgets and staff, volunteers are a very valuable, cherished and effective tool for public land managers. As BLM volunteers, campground hosts are prime example of America's volunteer spirit. They're extremely competent, dedicated and unselfish in volunteering their time, energy and talents so others can have memorable recreation experiences on their public lands."

Another BLM volunteer, Dick Anderson, received the Presidential Service Award in 2005 for over 5,500 hours of excellent work as a campground host and caretaker at several BLM facilities, including the Scaredman, Lone Pine and Rock Creek Campgrounds and the North Bank Ranch.

