Skip to main content E-Gov logo Powering America's future with technology.

About E-Gov

The E-Government Act of 2002

The E-Government Act of 2002 (H.R. 2458/S. 803) was signed by the President on December 17, 2002, with an effective date for most provisions of April 17, 2003. Key elements are:

  • Codification of PMA Expanding E-Government Initiatives
    • Codifies OMB’s role: E-Administrator and Office of E-Government
    • Endorses and requires agencies to support initiatives (cross agency initiatives such as E-Rulemaking, Geospatial One-Stop, E-Records Management, E-Authentication (esp. E-signatures) and Disaster Management; FirstGov; enterprise architecture)
    • Authorizes E-fund beyond President’s $100 M target
  • New OMB Requirements
    • Annual report to Congress
    • Sponsor ongoing dialogue with state, local, and tribal governments, as well as the general public, the private, and the non-profit sectors to find innovative ways to improve the performance of governments in collaborating on the use of information technology to improve the delivery of Government information and services
    • Standards for categorizing and indexing government information
    • Standards for agency Web sites
    • Create a public directory for agency Web sites
    • Select agencies to engage in pilot projects on data integration
    • Access improvement for people with and without computers

Codifies existence of CIO Council: Comprised of OMB and CFO Act agency CIOs and Deputy CIOs

  • New Agency Requirements
    • Agencies are to develop citizen and productivity-related performance measures for use of E-Government and IT in meeting agency objectives, strategic goals, and statutory mandates.
    • Agencies are required to comply with OMB E-Guidance, particular emphasis on agency head communicating guidance to key agency executives.
    • Agencies must establish and operate IT training programs for their personnel
    • Agencies must conduct Privacy Impact Assessments for new IT investments and on-line information collections.
  • New Initiatives Required
    • Creation of a database and Web site to track Federally funded R&D
    • Agencies enter into share-in-savings contracts for IT procurements (up to 5 agencies may participate per year)
    • State and local governments may use Federal Supply Schedules for IT purchases.
    • Process for reviewing proposed innovative technologies
    • Commercial IT workforce exchange program
    • Study of Community Technology Centers
    • OMB/Ed develops on-line tutorial for accessing government info and services

Cyber Security

Removes the Government Information Security Reform Act (GISRA) sunset date and renames as the Federal Information Security Management Act (FISMA), plus endorses FedCirc as the incident response center for cyber security and strengthens NIST/Commerce role in promulgating computer security standards.

Statistical Confidentiality and Data Sharing

Provides a uniform set of confidentiality protections to all individually identifiable statistical data and permits sharing of business data by key statistical agencies.

The E-Government Act of 2002 can be viewed by clicking here.