PUBLICATION GRANTS FOR PREPARATION OF SCHOLARLY DOCUMENTS

Release Date:  April 30, 2001

RFA:  RFA-LM-01-003 (This RFA has been modified by PAR-05-025)

National Library of Medicine
 (http://www.nlm.nih.gov)

Letter of Intent Receipt Date:  June 11, 2001
Application Receipt Date:       July 11, 2001

PURPOSE

The National Library of Medicine (NLM) plans to award small grants for 
up to three years to provide salary support and other assistance for 
the preparation of book-length manuscripts and other scholarly 
documents with information of value to U.S. health professionals. 
Grants are awarded for historical studies, major critical reviews, 
state-of-the-art summaries, and other useful organizations of knowledge 
in the biomedical field. Publication in formats other than print, (e.g. 
digital or film) is acceptable, as are innovative ways of presenting 
information. Publication grants do not support journals or other 
serials and are not suitable for operation of established databases. 
Work judged to have significant commercial viability will not be 
supported by these grants.

HEALTHY PEOPLE 2010 

The Public Health Service (PHS) is committed to achieving the health 
promotion and disease prevention objectives of "Healthy People 2010," a 
PHS-led national activity for setting priority areas. This Request for 
Applications (RFA), “Publication Grants For Preparation Of Scholarly 
Documents”, is related to one or more of the priority areas. Potential 
applicants may obtain a copy of "Healthy People 2010" at 
http://www.health.gov/healthypeople/.

ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 

Applications may be submitted on behalf of principal investigators by 
domestic for-profit and non-profit organizations, public and private, 
such as universities, colleges, hospitals, 
laboratories, units of State and local governments, and eligible 
agencies of the Federal Government. U.S citizens or legally-admitted 
foreigners unaffiliated with organizations are also eligible. Foreign 
institutions are not eligible for these grants. Racial/ethnic minority 
individuals, women, and persons with disabilities are encouraged to 
apply as Principal Investigators. 

MECHANISM OF SUPPORT 

This RFA will support awards through the National Library of Medicine 
publication grant (G13) award mechanisms. Responsibility for the 
planning, direction, and execution of the proposed project will be 
solely that of the applicant.  The total project period for an 
application submitted in response to this RFA may not exceed 3 years. 

FUNDS AVAILABLE 

NLM intends to commit approximately $500,000 in FY 2001  
to fund grants in response to this RFA. Awards are limited to $50,000 
direct annual costs and a maximum duration of three years of support. 
Facilities and administrative (F&A) costs are provided in accordance 
with standard Federal rates. Although the financial plans of the NLM 
provide support for this program, awards pursuant to this RFA are 
contingent upon the availability of funds and the receipt of a 
sufficient number of meritorious applications.

This RFA is a one-time solicitation.  However, NLM expects to reissue 
this RFA in FY 2002 if funding is available.  The RFA is complementary 
to the Publication Grants program previously announced by NLM, and to 
which applications can be submitted by the standard NIH deadlines for 
new applications.  http://www.nlm.nih.gov/ep/GrantPubsInstruct.html

OBJECTIVES

Background
The National Library of Medicine (NLM) recognizes that the preparation 
of manuscripts and other scholarly documents requires time, materials, 
and sometimes travel for which support may be needed. This RFA, 
Publication Grants For Preparation Of Scholarly Documents, is intended 
to help defray such expenses. The program is authorized by the Medical 
Library Assistance Act and its extensions, and is administered by the 
Extramural Programs of NLM using the G13 mechanism. Publication in 
formats other than print, (e.g. digital or film) is acceptable, as are 
innovative ways of presenting information.

Scope
Types of Projects Supported
o Analytical and comprehensive critical reviews which identify 
the present status of research and practice in various health 
fields, advances which have been made, problems requiring 
examination, and emerging trends for future development. 
o Scholarly works in the history of medicine and the life 
sciences, the history of the development of medical research 
and health services, and historical studies on the 
interrelationship of medicine and society. 
o Selected secondary literature tools in the health sciences, 
such as biomedical guides, atlases, handbooks, abstracts, 
dictionaries, indices, catalogs, directories, manuals, and 
other reference sources. 
o English-language translations of important current, foreign 
biomedical monographs, and foreign-language classics in the 
history of medicine. 
o Support for the editing and preparation for publication of 
scientifically significant and important symposia or 
conferences related to U.S. priority health care needs. 
o Creation of publically-accessible databases containing widely 
useful and unique material.
NLM recommends that all hardcopy text sponsored in this program be 
published on acid-free permanent paper as set forth by the American 
National Standards Institute - Permanence of Paper for Publications and 
Documents in Libraries and Archives (ANSI/NISO Z39.48- 1992).

EXCLUSIONS  

o The Publication Grant Program does not support:
o Textbooks or the production of curriculum materials
o The initial reporting of original scientific research findings
o Coding system development
o Proceedings of annual meetings 
o Projects of local interest only
o Journals or other serials 
o Operation of established databases. 
o Work judged to have significant commercial viability 
o Free distribution of publications resulting from grants.
 
INCLUSION OF WOMEN, MINORITIES, AND CHILDREN IN PUBLICATIONS INVOLVING 
HUMAN SUBJECTS

Although NIH policy regarding inclusion of women, minorities, and 
children in research projects does not apply to publication grants, NLM 
urges all applicants to include such groups when appropriate and 
feasible in their approach to the proposed work.

URLS IN NIH GRANT APPLICATIONS OR APPENDICES

All applications and proposals for NIH funding must be self-contained 
within specified page limitations.  Unless otherwise specified in an 
NIH solicitation, internet addresses (URLs) should not be used to 
provide information necessary to the review because reviewers are under 
no obligation to view the Internet sites.  Reviewers are cautioned that 
their anonymity may be compromised when they directly access an 
Internet site.

LETTER OF INTENT 

Prospective applicants are asked to submit a letter of intent that 
includes a descriptive title of the proposed project, the name, 
address, and telephone number of the Principal Investigator, the 
identities of other key personnel and participating institutions, and 
the number and title of the RFA in response to which the application 
may be submitted. Although a letter of intent is not required, is not 
binding, and does not enter into the review of a subsequent 
application, the information that it contains allows NLM staff to 
estimate the potential review workload and plan the review. 

The letter of intent is to be mailed, faxed, or emailed to Dr. Susan 
Sparks, listed below under INQUIRIES, by June 1, 2001. 

APPLICATION PROCEDURES 

The research grant application form PHS 398 (rev. 4/98) is to be used 
in applying for these grants. These forms are available at most 
institutional offices of sponsored research and from the Division of 
Extramural Outreach and Information Resources, National Institutes of 
Health, 6701 Rockledge Drive, MSC 7910, Bethesda, MD  20892-7910, 
telephone 301/435-0714, E-mail:  GrantsInfo@nih.gov.

Publication grant applications require use the of the standard budget 
format. 

The RFA label available in the PHS 398 (rev. 4/98) application form 
must be affixed to the bottom of the face page of the application. Type 
the RFA number on the label. Failure to use this label could result in 
delayed processing of the application such that it may not reach the 
review committee in time for review. In addition, the RFA title and 
number must be typed on line 2 of the face page of the application form 
and the YES box must be marked. 

The sample RFA label available at: 
http://grants.nih.gov/grants/funding/phs398/label-bk.pdf has been 
modified to allow for this change. Please note this is in pdf format. 

SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE APPLICATION

Applicants should not feel daunted by the emphasis on research in the 
language used in the standard NIH form and narrative instructions.  It 
may be useful for an applicant to think "project" whenever the form and 
instructions refer to "research".  NLM understands that developmental 
work or scholarly research that may be called for by publication grants 
differs from that of biomedical investigation, and will evaluate the 
applications in that spirit.   

SUBMITTING THE APPLICATION

Submit a signed, typewritten original of the application, including the 
Checklist, and three signed photocopies in one package to:

CENTER FOR SCIENTIFIC REVIEW
NATIONAL INSTITUTES OF HEALTH
6701 ROCKLEDGE DRIVE, ROOM 1040, MSC 7710
BETHESDA, MD  20892-7710
BETHESDA, MD  20817 (for express/courier service)

At the time of submission, two additional copies of the application 
must be sent to:

Merlyn Rodrigues, M.D., Ph.D.
Office of Scientific Review
Division of Extramural Programs
National Library of Medicine
Rockledge One Building, Suite 301
6705 Rockledge Drive
Bethesda, MD  20892

Applications must be received by the application receipt date listed in 
the heading of this RFA. If an application is received after that date, 
it will be returned to the applicant without review. 

The Center for Scientific Review (CSR) will not accept any application 
in response to this RFA that is essentially the same as one currently 
pending initial review, unless the applicant withdraws the pending 
application. The CSR will not accept any application that is 
essentially the same as one already reviewed. This does not preclude 
the submission of substantial revisions of applications already 
reviewed, but such applications must include an introduction addressing 
the previous critique. 

REVIEW CONSIDERATIONS 

Upon receipt, applications will be reviewed for completeness by the 
Center for Scientific Review (CSR) and for responsiveness by the NLM. 
Incomplete or unresponsive applications will be returned to the 
applicant without further consideration. 
 
Applications that are complete and responsive to the RFA will be 
evaluated for merit by an appropriate peer review group convened by NLM 
in accordance with the review criteria stated below. As part of the 
initial merit review, all applications will be discussed, assigned a 
priority score, and receive a written critique. Second level review 
will be by NLM’s Board of Regents.

REVIEW CRITERIA
(1) Significance:  Does this project address an important and useful 
issue?  

(2) Approach:  Are the conceptual framework, design, methods, and 
analyses adequately developed, well-integrated, and appropriate to the 
aims of the project?   

(3) Innovation:  Does the project propose novel point-of-view, 
approaches or method?  

(4) Investigator:  Is the investigator appropriately trained and well 
suited to carry out this work?  

(5) Environment:  Does the environment contribute to the probability of 
success?  

To complement the above standard NIH criteria, applications will also be 
reviewed with respect to the following:

o Who is the intended audience?
o Is relevant work by others appropriately referenced?
o Are the required expertise and information resources delineated and available?
o Are letters of agreement by co-workers, translators, consultants provided?
o Are the associated costs reasonable?
o Are samples or early versions of the proposed work (e.g. a chapter, videotape, 
  WWW files) included?
o How will the publication be organized (e.g. chapter listing, outline, map of 
  content, diagram of site)?
o If applicable, is there evidence that the proposed work would be considered 
  for publication by a university press, an Internet WWW host, media 
  distribution system, or other publisher?
o If maintenance beyond the grant period is required, how will this be done?

Schedule:

Letter of Intent Receipt Date:    June 11, 2001
Application Receipt Date:         July 11, 2001
Peer Review Date:                 July/August, 2001
Council Review:                   September 2001
Earliest Anticipated Start Date:  September 28, 2001
 
AWARD CRITERIA

Award criteria that will be used to make funding decisions include: 
o merit (as determined by peer review)
o availability of funds 
o programmatic priorities.

INQUIRIES

Potential applicants are encouraged to discuss projects early with 
Program Staff, who will discuss program priorities, provide additional 
information in response to specific application plans, and review draft 
proposals for completeness if desired.

Direct inquiries regarding applications under this RFA to:
 
Susan M. Sparks, RN, PhD, FAAN
Division of Extramural Programs
National Library of Medicine
Rockledge One Building, Suite 301
6705 Rockledge Drive
Bethesda, MD  20892
Phone:  (301) 594-4882
Fax:  (301) 402-2952
Email:  sparkss@mail.nlm.nih.gov

Direct inquiries regarding fiscal matters to:
Ms. Arnita Miles
Grants Management Specialist
Division of Extramural Programs
National Library of Medicine
Rockledge One Building, Suite 301
6705 Rockledge Drive
Bethesda, MD  20892
Telephone:  (301) 496-4221
FAX:  (301) 402-0421
Email:  milesa@mail.nlm.nih.gov
 
AUTHORITY AND REGULATIONS 

The Resource Grant Program is described in the "Catalog of Federal 
Domestic Assistance" under Medical Library Assistance, Chapter 93.879. 
Grants will be awarded under the authority of the Public Health Service 
Act, Section 474(42 USC 286b-5) and administered under PHS grant 
policies and Federal Regulations, most specifically at 42 CFR Part 59a 
and 45 CFR Part 74.  This program is not subject to the inter-
governmental review requirements of Executive Order 12372 or Health 
Systems Agency review.

The PHS strongly encourages all grant and contract recipients to 
provide a smoke-free workplace and promote the non-use of all tobacco 
products. In addition, Public Law 103-227, the Pro-Children Act of 
1994, prohibits smoking in certain facilities (or in some cases, any 
portion of a facility) in which regular or routine education, library, 
day care, health care or early childhood development services are 
provided to children.  This is consistent with the PHS mission to 
protect and advance the physical and mental health of the American 
people.

Weekly TOC for this Announcement
NIH Funding Opportunities and Notices

	Office of Extramural Research (OER)			National Institutes of Health (NIH) 9000 Rockville Pike Bethesda, Maryland 20892			Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)
Note: For help accessing PDF, RTF, MS Word, Excel, PowerPoint, RealPlayer, Video or Flash files, see Help Downloading Files.