THE UNITED STATES COMMISSION ON CIVIL RIGHTS CENTRAL REGIONAL OFFICE

MEDIA ADVISORY

For Immediate Release August 21, 2008

<u>CONTACT:</u> LENORE OSTROWSKY (202) 376–7700

U.S. COMMISSION ON CIVIL RIGHTS APPOINTS ELEVEN MEMBERS TO ITS ARKANSAS ADVISORY COMMITTEE

KANSAS CITY, KS – Eleven persons have been appointed to the Arkansas Advisory Committee to the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights. The Commissioners approved the appointments on July 28, 2008. Committee members are appointed for two years.

The State Advisory Committees (SACs) assist the Commission with its fact-finding, investigative, and information dissemination functions. Committees receive reports, suggestions, and recommendations from individuals, public and private organizations, and public officials, and forward advice and recommendations to the Commission. The Arkansas Advisory Committee is one of 51 such committees whose members serve without compensation.

Members of the Committee are Dr. Robert M. Costrell, Chairman, of Fayetteville; Dr. Jonathan M. Butcher, Gary M. McHenry, and Joseph K. Wood of Fayetteville; Melissa McJunkins Duke, Esq., Julie D. Greathouse, Dr. Andre L. Guerrero, Terri Hollingsworth, Rose M. Jones, and Brian A. Vandiver, Esq. of Little Rock; and Ernestine Weaver of Forrest City.

###

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights is an independent, bipartisan agency charged with monitoring federal civil rights enforcement. Members include Chairman Gerald A. Reynolds, Vice Chair Abigail Thernstrom, and Commissioners Todd Gaziano, Gail Heriot, Peter N. Kirsanow, Arlan D. Melendez, Ashley L. Taylor, Jr., and Michael Yaki. Martin Dannenfelser is Staff Director. Commission meetings are open to the media and general public.