THE UNITED STATES COMMISSION ON CIVIL RIGHTS

.....

MEDIA ADVISORY

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE MARCH 20, 2007 <u>CONTACT:</u> MANUEL ALBA 202/376-7700

CIVIL RIGHTS COMMISSION VICE CHAIR ACCLAIMED FOR RESOLUTE COMMITMENT TO EQUALITY

WASHINGTON, DC - The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights is pleased to acknowledge that Vice Chair Abigail Thernstrom and her husband, Harvard University Winthrop Professor of History Stephan Thernstrom, have been named as recipients of a 2007 Bradley Prize in recognition of their outstanding achievements in advancing equality. Vice Chair Thernstrom will be honored by the Lynde and Harry Bradley Foundation at a ceremony on May 3, 2007 in Washington, DC, for her superior scholarly contributions toward engendering a society built on equality for all. In saluting the Thernstroms, the Bradley Foundation stated: "Their research and their advocacy for equality of opportunity represent a much-needed voice of reason in American discourse." The Thernstroms were also honored by the Thomas B. Fordham Foundation in February 2007 for their scholarly contributions to education reform. Gerald A. Reynolds, Civil Rights Commission Chairman, said, "The Thernstroms are two of our nation's preeminent scholars, and it is gratifying that the Bradley Foundation is recognizing them for their longstanding commitment to civil rights."

624 9th Street, N.W.• Suite 700 •Washington, DC 20425 Ph: (202) 376-7700 •Fx: (202) 376-7672

^{###}

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights is an independent, bipartisan agency charged with monitoring federal civil rights enforcement. Members include Chairman Gerald A. Reynolds, Vice Chairman Abigail Thernstrom, and Commissioners Jennifer C. Braceras, Gail Heriot, Peter N. Kirsanow, Arlan D. Melendez, Ashley L. Taylor, Jr., and Michael Yaki. Kenneth L. Marcus is Staff Director. Commission meetings are open to the media and general public.