## THE UNITED STATES COMMISSION ON CIVIL RIGHTS

.....

## MEDIA ADVISORY

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE FEBRUARY 7, 2007 <u>CONTACT:</u> MANUEL ALBA 202/376-7700

## CIVIL RIGHTS COMMISSION VICE CHAIR RECOGNIZED FOR DISTINGUISHED SCHOLARSHIP

WASHINGTON, DC – The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights is pleased to acknowledge that Vice Chair Abigail Thernstrom and her husband, Harvard University Winthrop Professor of History Stephan Thernstrom, have been named as recipients of the 2007 Fordham Prize for Distinguished Scholarship. Vice Chair Thernstrom will be honored by the Thomas B. Fordham Foundation at a reception on February 12, 2007 in Washington, DC, for her scholarly contributions to education reform. Among other works, the Thernstroms co-authored *America in Black and White, One Nation Indivisible* (1997) and *No Excuses: Closing the Racial Gap in Learning* (2003). In honoring the Thernstroms, the Fordham Foundation notes that they have "bucked the conventional wisdom" and "tackled the thorny issue of racial 'culture."" Civil Rights Commission Chairman Gerald A. Reynolds commented: "Abby and Stephan Thernstrom are two of our nation's finest scholars. I am glad to see that the Fordham Foundation is recognizing their extraordinary contributions to the difficult topics of race, education and culture in America."

###

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights is an independent, bipartisan agency charged with monitoring federal civil rights enforcement. Members include Chairman Gerald A. Reynolds, Vice Chairman Abigail Thernstrom, and Commissioners Jennifer C. Braceras, Peter N. Kirsanow, Arlan D. Melendez, Ashley L. Taylor, and Michael Yaki. Kenneth L. Marcus is Staff Director. Commission meetings are open to the media and general public.