# JURISDICTION OF THE COMMITTEE ON WAYS AND MEANS

# RULES OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

### RULE X

#### ESTABLISHMENT AND JURISDICTION OF STANDING COMMITTEES

### THE COMMITTEES AND THEIR JURISDICTION

1. There shall be in the House the following standing committees, each of which shall have the jurisdiction and related functions assigned to it by this clause and clauses 2, 3, and 4; and all bills, resolutions, and other matters relating to subjects within the jurisdiction of any standing committee as listed in this clause shall (in accordance with and subject to clause 5) be referred to such committees, as follows:

(s) Committee on Ways and Means.

- (1) Customs, collection districts, and ports of entry and delivery.
- (2) Reciprocal trade agreements.
- (3) Revenue measures generally.
- (4) Revenue measures relating to the insular possessions.
  (5) The bonded debt of the United States (subject to the last sentence of clause 4(g) of this rule).
- (6) The deposit of public moneys.
- (7) Transportation of dutiable goods.
- (8) Tax exempt foundations and charitable trusts.
- (9) National Social Security, except (A) health care and facilities programs that are supported from general revenues as opposed to payroll deductions and (B) work incentive programs.

NOTE. As a select committee, the Committee on Ways and Means dates from 1789. It was made a standing committee in 1802. Originally it considered both revenue and appropriations, but in 1865 the appropriation bills were given to the Committee on Appropriations, and certain other bills to what is now the Committee on Banking and Financial Services. The subject of recesses and final adjournments, formerly within the jurisdiction of this committee was, under the Reorganization Act of 1946, transferred to the Committee on Rules.