home >> collections & research
services >> finding aids >> individual collections
Finding Aids to Individual Collections in the Archive of Folk Culture
THE RAY M. LAWLESS COLLECTION
AFC 1970/003
Library of Congress
American Folklife Center
April 1996
SUMMARY
The Ray M. Lawless Collection consists of manuscripts and
photographs collected by Ray M. Lawless in order to publish the
book "Folksingers and Folksongs in America" (1960). The
manuscripts include correspondence between Lawless and
folksingers or their agents, questionnaires, programs, newpaper
clippings, magazine write-ups, biographies, promotional
materials, and photographic prints of portraits and other
subjects, with some negatives. These materials were donated to
the Center Archive by Mrs. Hazel K. Lawless in 1970.
Access and Reproduction: Viewing access to the collection is
unrestricted. Duplication of the materials may be governed by
copyright and other restrictions.
Key Subjects: Accordion and guitar music; Appalachian dulcimer
music; Baez, Joan; Belafonte, Harry; ballads; ballads, English;
banjo and guitar music; banjo - instruction and study; blues
(music); country music; dulcimer and guitar music; fiddle tunes;
fiddling; folk music - United States; folk songs - American; folk
song, English - texts; folk songs, French - Canada; folklore--
United States; holidays--songs and music; Lomax, Alan; Lomax,
John; Seeger, Pete; zither and accordion music.
Physical Description:
Manuscripts and photographs
224 folders (6 boxes) including approximately 142 photoprints.
------------------------------------------------------------
SCOPE AND CONTENT NOTE
The Ray M. Lawless Collection is primarily biographical material
and photographs of folksingers gathered in preparation for
Lawless's book _Folksingers and Folksongs in America_ (New York:
Duell, Sloan and Pearce, 1960; second edition, 1965). The
collection was donated to the Library by Mrs. Hazel K. Lawless in
1970. It consists of 224 folders housed in six boxes, occupying
approximately 2 feet and 7 inches of storage.
Between 1952 and 1959, Lawless wrote to about two hundred
"folksingers" and "singers of folksongs," requesting information
about their lives and careers. Lawless contacted both
professional and non-professional singers. He also wrote to
several collectors of folksongs and collectors of folk
instruments. The bulk of the collection is Lawless's
correspondence with the singers, and the information sent by the
singers to Lawless, including a prepared questionnaire. Most
singers also sent one or more photographs.
Materials in the collection are organized alphabetically by the
correspondent's name. The collection includes responses to the
prepared questionnaire, carbon copies of Lawless's
correspondence, the original letters from his correspondents,
photographs, newspaper and magazine clippings, concert programs,
publicity materials, and other ephemera. It also includes some
correspondence with folksingers not strictly related to the
preparation of Lawless's book. For example, there is
correspondence concerning the arrangement of a concert at the
college where Lawless taught. Photographic negatives created
from prints for reference purposes have been added to the
collection. The number of negatives may increase over time as
this collection is used, rendering requests for more photoprints.
The second edition of _Folksingers and Folksongs in America_
(1965) included a "Special Supplement" with biographical
information on the generation of folksingers who became prominent
around 1960-64 (e.g. Joan Baez and Odetta). To research this
updated edition, Lawless drew on previously published sources and
did not contact the singers directly as he had in the 1950s. Few
of the 1960s folksingers listed in the "Special Supplement" are
represented in this collection, and those represented are
documented with photographs and clippings, not with
correspondence.
The folders contain many more photographs than appear in
_Folksingers and Folksongs in America_. The book included two
kinds of illustrations: photographs of artworks depicting
folklife, and photographs of musicians. The photographs of
artwork are in folder 2, "Artwork illustrations." The
photograph(s) of each musician are under the name of each
musician or musician group.
COLLECTION INVENTORY AND DESCRIPTION
Folder No. Contents
1 Administrative materials regarding the collection. One
copy of the collection register [this document].
Correspondence. Arranged chronologically (1956-70)
between the Archive of Folk Song, Exchange and Gift
Division, and Mrs. Lawless.
2 Artwork--Illustrations. 18 photoprints including 17
illustrations and 1 of unknown musicians. One negative
of the illustration "WRECK OF THE '97." Each
illustration is identified by title, artist, donor, and
photographer, but undated.
3 Adams, Derrols S.: Correspondence & questionnaire;
portrait (negative & print).
4 Allison, John: Correspondence & questionnaire; news
clippings.
5 Archer, Frances, and Beverly Gile: Correspondence &
questionnaire; programs; press release.
6 Arkin, Alan: Questionnaire.
7 Baez, Joan: News clippings; portrait (negative and
print); magazine write-ups.
8 Bailey, Jay: Correspondence; questionnaire; portrait, 1
large and 1 small prints.
9 Baillargeon-Cote, Helene: Correspondence;
questionnaire; portrait (print).
10 Bair, Fred: Correspondence; questionnaire; photoprint.
11 Balfour, Nemonie: Portrait, photoprint.
12 Ball, E. C.: Correspondence; questionnaire; portrait
(print).
13 Barker, Horton: Correspondence; questionnaire.
14 Barnes, Bobby and Wilmer: Correspondence;
questionnaire; programs; news clippings; portrait
(prints).
15 Barry, Margaret: Questionnaire.
16 Beers, Robert ("Fiddler"), and Evelyne Beers (Mrs.
Fiddler): Correspondence; questionnaires; press
releases; programs; reviews; portrait (prints).
17 Belafonte, Harry: Correspondence; biography;
questionnaire; portrait (print); news clippings;
magazine write-ups.
18 Bender, Bill: Correspondence; questionnaire; portrait
(print).
19 Benton, Jessie: Biography; questionnaire.
20 Bikel, Theodore: Correspondence; questionnaire.
21 Black, Nettie: Correspondence; questionnaire.
22 Boette, Marie: Correspondence; questionnaire;
photoprint.
23 Bonyun, Bill: Correspondence; questionnaire; programs;
news clippings.
24 Boswell, George: Correspondence; questionnaire;
portrait (print).
25 Boyle, Mary Ella: Correspondence; questionnaire;
portrait (print).
26 Brand, Oscar: Correspondence; questionnaire; portrait
(prints); programs; song texts; _New York Folklore
Quarterly_, vol. 8, no. 4.
27 Broonzy, "Big Bill": Correspondence; questionnaire;
portrait (negative & prints).
28 Bryan, Charles Faulkner: Correspondence; questionnaire;
biography; picture of instruments from his collection;
draft of article to _Tennessee Folklore Society
Bulletin_ March 1952 issue; portrait (print).
29 Buckley, Bruce: Correspondence; questionnaire.
30 Burnett, W. H.: Questionnaire.
31 Byrne, Jerry: Correspondence; questionnaire;
photoprint.
32 Cahn, Rolf: Correspondence; questionnaire.
33 Missing
34 Cameron, Isla: Questionnaire.
35 Campbell, Booth: Questionnaire; photoprints.
36 Cansler, Loman: Correspondence; news clippings; news
write-up; phonograph recording release (Folkways FH
5324); portrait (print).
37 Chalmers, Keith: Correspondence; questionnaire;
programs; portrait (print).
38 Chase, Dorothy: Correspondence; questionnaire.
39 Churchill, Stuart: Correspondence; questionnaire;
programs; biography; photoprint.
40 Clark, Keith: Correspondence; questionnaire; programs;
song score; stories; crafts.
41 Clark, Rogie: Correspondence; questionnaire; news
clippings; portrait (print); program.
42 Clauson, William: Correspondence; questionnaire;
program; portrait (print).
43 Clayborn, James R., and Garland K.: Questionnaire.
44 Clayton, Paul: Correspondence; questionnaire; news
write-up; programs; the _University of Virginia
Magazine_, Spring 1956, vol. 1, no. 1.
45 Cobos, Ruben: Correspondence; questionnaire; portrait
(print); program.
46 Colby, Fred: Correspondence; questionnaire.
47 Coltman, Robert: Correspondence; questionnaire.
48 Copeland, Dave: Correspondence; questionnaire.
49 Cornett, "Banjo" Bill: Correspondence; questionnaire;
news clipping; photoprint.
50 Creswell, Grace: Correspondence; questionnaire;
portrait, photograph and painting, (print); programs;
news clipping; biography.
51 Crisp, Rufus: Correspondence; questionnaire.
52 Cronin, Elizabeth: Correspondence; questionnaire;
program; biography; review.
53 Dagel, Kathy: Correspondence; questionnaire.
54 Missing
55 Dane, Barbara: Correspondence; questionnaire;
biography.
56 Danufsky, Philip: Correspondence; questionnaire;
portrait (print).
57 Darling, Erik: Correspondence; questionnaire; sketch of
instruments; list of phonograph recordings.
58 Davis, Rev. Gary: Correspondence; questionnaire;
portrait (print & negative); news write-up.
59 Davis, Mary Jo: Correspondence; questionnaire; news
clipping; portrait (print).
60 Davis, Mr. and Mrs. T.M.: Correspondence;
questionnaire; photoprint.
61 Dehr, Rich: Correspondence; questionnaire; portrait
(print).
62 Deller, Alfred: Correspondence; questionnaire.
63 Devall, Dick: Correspondence; questionnaire.
64 Diard, Marion: Correspondence; questionnaire; portrait
(print).
65 Dubson, Bonnie: Program; portrait (print).
66 Duncan, Bob: Correspondence; questionnaire; news
clippings; program; portrait (print); biography;
brochures.
67 Dyer-Bennet, Richard: Correspondence; portrait (print);
program; biography.
68 Elliott, Bill: Correspondence; questionnaire; portrait
(print).
69 Elliot, Jack and June: Correspondence; questionnaire;
portrait and photograph, (prints & negative).
70 Eskin, Sam: Correspondence; questionnaire; news write-
up; program; photoprint; record notes: song texts.
71 Faier, Billy: Correspondence; questionnaire;
photoprint.
72 Flatt and Scruggs: Portrait; news clippings.
73 Flowers, Robert E. Lee: Correspondence; questionnaire;
portrait (print).
74 Foster, Pat: Questionnaire.
75 Fuller, Jesse: Correspondence; questionnaire; magazine
write-up; biography; news clippings; photoprint; record
notes.
76 Gainer, Patrick W.: Correspondence; questionnaire;
portrait (print).
77 Gard, Robert: Correspondence.
78 Gibson, Bob: Correspondence; questionnaire; portrait
(print); program.
79 Ginandes, Shep: Questionnaire.
80 Glazer, Joe: Correspondence; questionnaire; portrait
(print).
81 Glazer, Tom: Correspondence; questionnaire; portrait
(print); programs; sketch.
82 Golden, Terry: Correspondence; questionnaire; portrait
(print); photoprints; biography.
83 Gooding, Cynthia: Correspondence; questionnaire; news
write-up, portrait (print).
84 Gordon, Hally Wood: Correspondence; questionnaire;
photoprint.
85 Greer, Dr. and Mrs. I.G.: Correspondence;
questionnaire.
86 Gregory, Frosia: Correspondence; questionnaire;
portrait (print).
87 Grimes, Anne: Correspondence; questionnaire; portrait
(print); program; biography.
88 Grise, George C.: Correspondence; questionnaire; news
clipping; portrait (print).
89 Hall, Kenneth M.: Correspondence; questionnaire.
90 Hamilton, Frank: Questionnaire.
91 Hammond, John: News clipping; portrait (print).
92 Hammontree, Doney: Correspondence; questionnaire;
portrait (print).
93 Hatcher, T. Ben: Questionnaire.
94 Hayes, Roland: Correspondence; questionnaire; program.
95 Haynes, Valerie: Correspondence; questionnaire;
portrait (print).
96 Hays, Lee: Correspondence; questionnaire.
97 Hellerman, Fred: Correspondence; questionnaire.
98 Hickerson, Joe: Questionnaire.
99 High, Fred: Correspondence; questionnaire; photoprints.
100 Hillhouse, Cora: Correspondence; questionnaire.
101 Hilton, L.M.: Correspondence; questionnaire; portraits
(print); program.
102 Hinton, Sam: Correspondence; questionnaire; news
clipping; program; portrait (print).
103 Holland, Lori: Questionnaire.
104 Holt, Will: Correspondence; questionnaire; portrait
(print); program.
105 House, Wallace: Program.
106 Houston, Cisco: Correspondence; questionnaire; portrait
(negative & print).
107 Hunter, Max: Correspondence; questionnaire; article.
108 Huntington, E.G.: Correspondence; questionnaire.
109 Hurd, Peter: Correspondence; questionnaire; biography;
newsclippings.
110 Isaacson, Dan: Correspondence; questionnaire.
111 Ives, Burl: Correspondence; news clippings; news write-
ups; programs; portraits (print).
112 Jarrett, Merrick: Correspondence; questionnaire.
113 Jemison, Gene: Correspondence; questionnaire; program;
news clipping; portrait (print); photograph (print &
negative).
114 Kazee, Buell: Correspondence; questionnaire; portrait
(negative & print).
115 Kincaid, Barry: Correspondence; questionnaire; portrait
(print).
116 King, Martha: Correspondence; questionnaire; portrait
(print); news clipping; magazine write-up.
117 Kornfeld, Barry: Correspondence; questionnaire.
118 Kossoy, Sisters: Questionnaire.
119 Kukler, Aolph and Augusta: Correspondence;
questionnaire; news clipping; photoprint.
120 Kunitz, Charlene: Correspondence; questionnaire; news
clipping; program.
121 Kweskin, Jim, and Jug Band: Program; magazine write-up;
news clipping; photoprint.
122 Lane, Lawrence: Correspondence.
123 Langstaff, John: Correspondence; questionnaire;
programs; portrait printed on programs; news clipping;
magazine write-ups.
124 Leadbelly: Correspondence; portrait on record notes.
125 Ledford, Homer: Portrait (print).
126 Lee, Archie: Correspondence; questionnaire; portrait
(print).
127 Lee, Katie: Correspondence; questionnaire; program;
portrait (print); news clipping.
128 Lloyd, A.L.: Questionnaire.
129 Lomax, Alan: Correspondence; news write-up; biography;
article.
130 Long, Maud: Questionnaire; photoprint.
131 Loudermilk, Romaine: Correspondence; questionnaire;
photoprint.
132 Lunsford, Bascomb: Correspondence; questionnaire;
photoprint; program.
133 Maccoll, Ewan: Correspondence; questionnaire; program.
134 McCord, May Kennedy: Correspondence; questionnaire;
portrait, negative & print; news clipping.
135 McCurdy, Ed: Correspondence; questionnaire; portrait
(print); news clipping.
136 McNeil, Brownie: Correspondence; questionnaire;
program; portraits (print).
137 Maples, Jo: Correspondence; questionnaire.
138 Marais and Miranda: Correspondence; questionnaire;
program; portrait (print).
139 Marcotte, Will and Jean: Questionnaire.
140 Mechau Family: Correspondence; questionnaire; program;
news write-up; portrait (print).
141 Meyer, Roy: Correspondence; questionnaire.
142 Mickelson, Eric: Correspondence; questionnaire.
143 Mills, Alan: Correspondence; questionnaire; program;
news write-up; news clipping; portrait (print).
144 Mitchell, Merlin: Questionnaire; portrait (print).
145 Mobley, Pleaz W.: Correspondence; questionnaire;
portrait (print).
146 Moon, Jacob and Winnifred: Correspondence;
questionnaire; portrait (print).
147 Morris, Jimmy (Driftwood): Correspondence;
questionnaire; 2 song scores by J. Morris.
148 Morrison, Absie: Questionnaire.
149 Moser, Artus: Correspondence; questionnaire;
photoprint.
150 Mueller, Joan: Correspondence; questionnaire;
biography.
151 Murai, Jean: Correspondence; questionnaire; portrait
(print); programs.
152 Murray, Jim and Carmen: Correspondence; questionnaire;
portrait (print).
153 National Music League Vocal Trio: Program; portraits
(print).
154 Neal, Ruth: Correspondence; questionnaire; portrait
(print); biography.
155 Neibarger, Nancy, and Pearl Kelly: Photoprint.
156 Nickerson, Camille: Correspondence; questionnaire;
portrait (print).
157 Niles, John Jacob: Correspondence; questionnaire; news
write-up; biography; programs; portraits (print); news
clipping; article.
158 Nye, Hermes: Correspondence; questionnaire; portrait
(print); program.
159 O'Bryant, Joan: Correspondence; questionnaire; news
clipping.
160 O'Hara, Mary: Correspondence; questionnaire.
161 Okun, Milt: Correspondence; questionnaire; portrait
(print).
162 Oldfather, Charles: Correspondence; questionnaire.
163 Oster, Harry: Correspondence; questionnaire; new write-
up; portrait (print).
164 Paley, Tom: Correspondence; questionnaire.
165 Peacock, Ken: Correspondence; questionnaire.
166 Pennington, John B.: Song book: song texts only.
167 Powell, Desmond: Correspondence; questionnaire;
portrait (print).
168 Le Quatour, Alouette: Correspondence; questionnaire;
photoprints; program; biography, English and French;
reviews.
169 Reed, Jared: Correspondence; questionnaire; program;
portraits (print).
170 Reed, Susan: Correspondence; program; news clipping;
program.
171 Ritchie, Edna: Correspondence; questionnaire.
172 Ritchie, Jason: Correspondence; portrait (print).
173 Ritchie, Jean: Correspondence; program; news clipping;
news write-up; portrait (print) & negative.
174 Ritchie, Jewel: Correspondence; photoprint.
175 Ritchie, May: Correspondence.
176 Ritchie, Una: Correspondence; questionnaire; program;
portrait (print).
177 Roberts, Robin: Correspondence; questionnaire; portrait
(print).
178 Robinson, Earl: Correspondence; questionnaire; program;
portrait (print).
179 Robinson, Frank V.: Correspondence; questionnaire;
portrait (print).
180 Ross, Rob: Correspondence; questionnaire; Folkways
record notes: portrait, song texts.
181 Roth, Herbert: Questionnaire; news clipping.
182 Rubin, Ruth: Correspondence; questionnaire; programs;
portrait (print).
183 Rudie, Robert: Portrait (print).
184 Saletan, Tony: Correspondence; questionnaire.
185 Sandburg, Carl: Correspondence; biography; news
clippings; portrait (print).
186 Scammell, A.R.: Correspondence; questionnaire; program;
portrait (print).
187 Schlamme, Martha: News clipping; portrait (print) on
brochure; program; biography; reviews.
188 Scott, Molly: Correspondence; news clipping.
189 Scott, Tom: Correspondence; biography; program.
190 Seeger, Pete: Correspondence; questionnaire; biography;
portrait (print); news clippings; program; his How to
play the 5-string Banjo; Folkways record notes.
191 Sellers, John: Correspondence; questionnaire.
192 Silverman, Jerry: Correspondence; questionnaire; record
notes.
193 Smith, Fred: Correspondence; questionnaire.
194 Smith, Winifred: Correspondence; questionnaire;
portrait (print).
195 Sparks, Lloyd: Questionnaire.
196 Starr, Mary Agnes: Correspondence; questionnaire;
biography; program; portrait (print).
197 Stekert, Ellen: Correspondence; questionnaire; portrait
(print).
198 Stone, Eleanor: Correspondence; questionnaire; portrait
(print).
199 Stracke, Win: Correspondence; questionnaire; programs;
portrait (print); reviews; news clippings; biography.
200 Sturgill, Virgil: Correspondence; questionnaire;
program; portrait (print); news clipping.
201 Summers, Andrew R.: Questionnaire; program; portraits
(print).
202 Tarwater, Rebecca: Correspondence; questionnaire.
203 Tate, Charles, and Family: Correspondence;
questionnaire; festival programs.
204 Temple, Pick: Correspondence; questionnaire; news
clipping; photoprint & portrait (print)s.
205 Terry, Sonny: Photograph (print & negative).
206 Thomson, Paul S.: Correspondence; questionnaire.
207 Tyler, Ruth: Correspondence; questionnaire; portrait
(print).
208 Usher, Alex: Correspondence; questionnaire; portraits
(print).
209 Van Wey, Adelaide: Correspondence; questionnaire;
biography; program; portraits (print).
210 Vincent, Jenny Wells: Correspondence; questionnaire;
news clipping; programs; portrait (print).
211 Warner, Frank: Correspondence; questionnaire;
biography; portrait (print).
212 Washington, Jackie: Correspondence; questionnaire; news
clipping; program; portrait (print).
213 Weissman, Dick: Questionnaire.
214 Welsch, Roger: Correspondence; questionnaire.
215 West, Harry and Jeanie: Correspondence; portrait
(print); program.
216 White, Josh: Biography.
217 Whitmire, Ross C.: Correspondence; questionnaire.
218 Wilder, Dick: Correspondence; questionnaire; portrait
(print).
219 Williams, Betty V.: Questionnaire; news clipping;
program.
220 Williams, Cratis: Correspondence; questionnaire;
portrait (print).
221 Wilson, Stan: Correspondence; questionnaire; program;
portrait (print).
222 Wood, Theodore: Correspondence; questionnaire.
223 Yarbrough, Glen: Questionnaire.
224 Zeitlin, David: Correspondence; questionnaire.
|
The Library
of Congress >> Research Centers
Back to
Top