

Northern Rockies Coordination Group

NW Montana Zone Member Agencies

Montana DNRC Northwestern Land Office

U.S. Forest Service Flathead National Forest

U.S. Forest Service Kootenai National Forest

National Park Service Glacier National Park

U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service Flathead/Swan Area Refuges

Flathead County

Lake County

Lincoln County

Sanders County

Northern Rockies Coordination Group Northwest Montana Zone

July 25, 2006
For More Information Contact:
Denise Germann, Flathead National Forest 758-5252, cell- 249-1714

Marcy Goheen, Kootenai National Forest 758-5252, cell- 249-1714 Michelle Smith, Montana DNRC 751-2271

Stage I Fire Restrictions Begin Monday, July 31 for Northwest Zone

The Northwest Montana Zone of the Northern Rockies Coordination Group will implement stage I fire restrictions beginning Monday, July 31, for Flathead and Kootenai National Forests, Glacier National Park, Montana Department of Natural Resources and Conservation lands, and Flathead, Lake, Lincoln, and Sanders Counties. This also includes the Bob Marshall Wilderness Complex (Bob Marshall, Scapegoat and Great Bear Wilderness) lands on the Flathead, Lewis and Clark, Helena, and Lolo National Forests.

Stage I fire restrictions allow:

- -building, maintaining, attending or using a fire or campfire **only** in developed recreation sites or improved sites,
- -devices **solely fueled** by liquid petroleum or LPG fuels that can be turned on and off, including backpacker stoves and portable gas grills,
- -smoking **only** in an enclosed vehicle or building, developed recreation site or while stopped in an area at least three feet in diameter that is barren or cleared of all flammable materials.

Contained wood stoves with spark arrester screens are allowed only in the Bob Marshall Wilderness Complex.

The restrictions in the Northwest Zone **prohibit** the use of fireworks on all public lands and any private lands within Flathead, Lincoln, Lake and Sanders Counties. The prohibition of fireworks on all federal and state public lands is by regulation, and by state code on private forested lands. County proclamations prohibit fireworks on private non-forested lands in each county.

The Zone, which includes the US Forest Service, MT Department of Natural Resources and Conservation, National Park Service, US Fish and Wildlife Service and your local fire departments, is established to provide an interagency approach to wildland fire management in Flathead, Lake, Lincoln and Sanders Counties.

Anyone causing a wildfire can be held financially responsible for damages and the cost of putting out that fire. For more information, visit http://www.fs.fed.us/r1/fire/nrcg/ or contact a local Forest Service, Department of Natural Resources and Conservation or National Park Service Office or your local fire department.