| home >> collections & research
services >> finding aids >> individual collections
Finding Aids to Individual Collections in the Archive of Folk Culture
THE GOATHLAND, NORTH YORKSHIRE,
SWORD DANCE PHOTOGRAPH COLLECTION
Compiled by Michelle Forner
Library of Congress, Washington DC
Physical Description: Photographs 7 b&w photoprints (1
Access and Reproduction: Viewing access to the collection
is unrestricted. Duplication of the materials may be governed by copyright
and other restrictions. Publication of the materials requires standard
Key Subjects: costume; folk dance, England; long sword
(dance); morris dance; mumming; musical instruments; rapper dance; sword-
SCOPE AND CONTENT NOTE
The Goathland, North Yorkshire, Sword Dance Photograph Collection (formerly
the Morris Dance Photograph Collection) consists of seven 6 1/2" X 4 1/2" photographs
of the Plough Stotts Long Sword team from Goathland, North Yorkshire, England,
circa 1912-1950. Wendy Grossman donated the photographs to the Archive;
they were given to her by Gordon Normand of Beverley. According to Grossman,
the team was "one of the longest running without a break." Hand-written
notes on the back of each photograph give cryptic descriptions of the images
and some information about the "side" (dance group). Although poorly-focused
and spotted, the photographs offer ethnographic information in sufficient
detail to be useful for research purposes.
The photographs depict the side in candid shots and formal poses. One
photograph captures a moment of a long sword dance performance; several
others focus on specific characters, such as the "Bessie" and "Old Man." The
photographs offer a sense of costuming and physical culture associated
with the dance, such as musical instruments and long swords. The notes
on the backs of the photographs identify the subjects as a group by the
name of the Goathland, North Yorkshire, Plough Stotts, give indications
of the approximate dates of the photographs, and provide an additional
note or two.
COLLECTION INVENTORY AND DESCRIPTION
||Sword dance performance. "The side in the 30s or 40s.
More poss. after Second World War. Goatland [sic] (Plough Stotts).
Note Dawson far left."
||"Bessie" and "Old Man" posing next to crowd. "About
1930. Goatland (Plough Stotts) Long Sword (North Yorks.). Bessy (Betty)
and Old Man. Poss (Toss Pot)."
||Close-up (candid?) of "Bessy," "Old Man," and "Mummer." "About
1930. Goatland (Plough Stotts) North Yorkshire. Bessy, Old Man & Mummer."
| AFC 1983/007:P4
|| Posed shot of group (approximately 20 people)."Frank
Dawson who collected and reformed the side after the First World War.
First on left. Goatland (Plough Stotts). Long Sword North Yorks. At
a time when the play was done. Play lost in a fire."
||Group walking up a path towards camera (approximately
16 people). "Goatland (Plough Stotts) North Yorkshire. About 1950 going
into Brekmole [or Brekhole]. Walking tour."
| AFC 1983/007:P6
|| Posed shot of group in front of building (approximately
9 people). "About 1945-6. North Yorks. Goatland (Plough Stotts)."
| AFC 1983/007:P7
||Posed shot of group in front of building (approximately
16 people). "Goatland Long Sword (Plough Stotts). Pre First World War.