home >> collections & research
services >> finding aids >> individual collections
Finding Aids to Individual Collections in the Archive of Folk Culture
THE 1978 NEPTUNE PLAZA CONCERT SERIES COLLECTION
AFC 1978/004
Library of Congress, Washington DC
AFC 1978/004
SUMMARY
The 1978 Neptune Plaza Concert Series Collection consists of manuscript and
print materials, audio recordings, and graphic materials that document the
1978 concert series sponsored by the American Folklife Center. The annual
series, which began in 1977, features the presentation of folk traditions
from many cultures. The concerts take place on the Neptune Plaza at the front
of the Jefferson Building of the Library of Congress between April and
October. Adverse weather conditions sometimes force the concerts indoors. The
1978 series w as produced with the assistance of the National Council for the
Traditional Arts.
The 1978 season consisted of the following:
| April 28 |
Joe and Antoinette McKenna, Scotland (Irish/Scottish) |
| May 11 |
Graham Townsend and Maple Sugar, Canada (French-Canadian) |
| May 25 |
Arabic Dancers, VA (Middle Eastern) |
| June 29 |
Buck White and the Down Home Boys, TN (Bluegrass) |
| July 27 |
The Lawtell Playboys, LA (Zydeco) |
| August 31 |
John Ashby and the Old Time Virginia String Band, VA (Country) |
| September 28 |
Mentrotone Baptist Church Singers, DC (Gospel) |
Access and Reproduction: Listening and viewing access
to the collection is unrestricted. Duplication of the materials requires
prior permission of the Center and may be governed by copyright and other
restrictions.
Primary Languages: Arabic, English, Gaelic
| Physical Description |
Location Numbers |
| Print Materials |
| 1 box |
|
| Sound Recordings |
| 13 10" DT mono reels at 7.5 ips |
AFS 19,281-82;
LWO 12,1 R1-2
LWO 12,216 R1-2
LWO 12,226 R1-2
LWO 12,293 (not located as of 6/95)
LWO 12,332 R1-2
LWO 12,388 R1-2
LWO 12,421 R1-2
|
| Graphic Materials |
321 negatives
11 b&w contact sheets
11 5 x 8 b&w photoprints
1 5 x 7 b&w photoprint
55 color slides |
|
COLLECTION INVENTORY
SERIES I: PRINT MATERIALS
Location
|
Contents
|
Folder 1
|
Archive of Folk Culture Administrative
Materials.The collection guide (this document) and an article describing
the Neptune Plaza Concert Series.
|
|
Publicity and administration
|
Folder 2
|
Joe and Antoinette McKenna, 4-28-78.
Concert fliers, press release, and news clipping.
|
Folder 5
|
Graham Townsend and Maple Sugar,
5-11-78. Concert fliers.
|
Folder 8
|
The Arabic Dancers, 5-25-78. Concert
fliers and press release.
|
Folder 11
|
Buck White and the Down Home Boys,
6-29-78. Concert fliers.
|
Folder 13
|
The Lawtell Playboys, 7-27-78. Concert
fliers, news clippings, and a list of the ensemble's players.
|
Folder 16
|
John Ashby and the Old Time Virginia
String Band, 8-31-78. Concert fliers and news clippings.
|
Folder 18
|
Mentrotone Baptist Church Singers,
9-28-78. Concert fliers, news clipping, and correspondence.
|
SERIES II: SOUND RECORDINGS
Location
|
Contents
|
Reel-to-reels
|
LWO 12,188 R1-2
|
Joe and Antoinette McKenna, 4-28-78.
Two 10" DT mono at 7.5 ips.
|
AFS 19,281-82
|
Graham Townsend and Maple Sugar, 5-11-78.
Two 10" DT mono at 7.5 ips. LWO 12,216 R1-2.
|
LWO 12,226 R1-2
|
The Arabic Dancers, 5-25-78. Two 10" DT
mono at 7.5 ips.
|
LWO 12,293
|
Buck White and the Down Home Boys,
6-29-78. One 10" DT mono at 7.5 ips (not located as of 6/95).
|
LWO 12,332 R1-2
|
The Lawtell Playboys, 7-27-78. Two
10" DT mono at 7.5 ips.
|
LWO 12,388
|
John Ashby and the Old Time Virginia
String Band, 8-31-78. Two 10" DT mono at 7.5 ips.
|
LWO 12,421 R1-2
|
Mentrotone Baptist Church Singers,
9-28-78. Two 10" DT mono at 7.5 ips.
|
SERIES III: GRAPHIC MATERIALS
| Location |
Contents |
| Negatives |
| Envelope 1 |
Joe and Antoinette McKenna, 4-28-78. One sheet of black
and white 35 mm (35 images). Photographed by Carl Fleischhauer. |
| Envelope 2 |
Graham Townsend and Maple Sugar, 5-11-78. Two sheets
of black and white 35 mm (70 images). Photographed by Paula Johnson. |
| Envelope 3 |
The Arabic Dancers, 5-25-78. One sheet of black and
white 35 mm (37 images). Photographed by Carl Fleischhauer. |
| Envelope 5 |
Buck White and the Down Home Boys, 6-29-78. One sheet
of black and white 35 mm (33 images). Photographed by Carl Fleischhauer. |
| Envelope 7 |
The Lawtell Playboys, 7-27-78. One sheet of black and
white 35 mm (36 images). Photographed by Carl Fleischhauer. |
| Envelope 8 |
John Ashby and the Old Time Virginia String Band, 8-31-78.
Two sheets of black and white 35 mm (74 images). Photographed by Howard
W. Marshall. |
| Envelope 11 |
Mentrotone Baptist Church Singers, 9-28-78. One sheet
of black and white 35 mm (36 images). Photographer unkown. |
| Photograph Prints |
| Foldesr 3-4 |
Joe and Antoinette McKenna, 4-28-78. One black and white
35 mm contact sheet (34 images) and two copies of two 5 x 8 black and
white photoprints. Photographed by Carl Fleischhauer. |
| Folders 6-7 |
Graham Townsend and Maple Sugar, 5-11-78. Two copies
of two black and white 35 mm contact sheets (70 images) and four 5
x 8 black and white photoprints. Photographed by Paula Johnson. |
| Folders 9-10 |
The Arabic Dancers, 5-25-78. One black and white 35
mm contact sheet (37 images). One 5 x 7 black and white photoprint.
Photographed by Carl Fleischhauer. |
| Folder 12 |
Buck White and the Down Home Boys, 6-29-78. One black
and white 35 mm contact sheet (33 images). Photographed by Carl Fleischhauer. |
| Folders 14-15 |
The Lawtell Playboys, 7-27-78. One black and white 35
mm contact sheet (36 images) and three 5 x 8 black and white photoprints.
Photographed by Carl Fleischhauer. |
| Folder 17 |
John Ashby and the Old Time Virginia String Band, 8-31-78.
Two black and white 35 mm contact sheets (74 images). Photographed
by Howard W. Marshall. |
| Folder 19 |
Mentrotone Baptist Church Singers, 9-28-78. One black
and white 35 mm contact sheet (36 images). Photographer unknown. |
| Color slides |
| Envelope 4 |
The Arabic Dancers, 5-25-78. One holder containing 20.
Photographed by Carl Fleischhauer. |
| Envelope 6 |
Buck White and the Down Home Boys, 6-29-78. One holder
containing eight. Photographed by Howard W. Marshall. |
| Envelopes 9-10 |
John Ashby and the Old Time Virginia String Band, 8-31-78.
Two holders containing a total of 27. Photographed by Howard W. Marshall. |
APPENDIX A
DANCE CONTENT
Concert
|
Description
|
| Graham Townsend and Maple Sugar |
Presentation of French-Canadian folk dance and music,
with audience participation in contra dance. Photographs: folders 6-7;
sound recordings: LWO 19,281-82. |
| The Arabic Dancers |
Arab music and dance presentation. Female dancer performs
raks beledi (country dance) or raks sharqi (oriental dance). She also
dances with a man dressed in traditional clothes and carrying a stick,
although there is no documentation of him performing raks al tahtib
(stick dance). Photographs and slides: folders 9-10, envelopes 3-4;
sound recording: LWO 12,226. |
|
The Library
of Congress >> Research Centers
Back to
Top