Postal Regulatory Commission

Postal Regulatory Commission 901 New York Avenue, NW Suite 200 Washington, DC 20268-0001 www.prc.gov Phone: 202-789-6800 Fax: 202-789-6886

Contact: Ann Fisher Ann.Fisher@prc.gov

Press Release

October 3, 2008

Commissioner Goldway Confirmed for Third Term

Washington, DC – On October 2, 2008, Commissioner Ruth Y. Goldway was confirmed by the U.S. Senate for her third term as a Commissioner of the Postal Regulatory Commission. Goldway was nominated by President Bush on July 10, 2008. Her term will extend through November 22, 2014.

"It is exciting for me to know that, ten years after I was first nominated by President Clinton, I am still engaged in rewarding work representing the interests of ordinary consumers and average citizens," said Goldway. "I am grateful for the opportunity to carry on my advocacy for the residential customer, the single-piece mail user and small business as I continue working with my fellow Commissioners to finalize and implement all the new rules and responsibilities defined in the Postal Accountability and Enhancement Act."

Goldway earned a B.A. from the University of Michigan, and received an M.A. in English Literature from Wayne State University. In addition to her tenure on the Postal Regulatory Commission, she is a founding member and serves as Co-Chair of Women in Logistics and Delivery Services (WILDS), and is on the board of Tree People and New Visions Foundation. Goldway writes opinion pieces and magazine articles on public policy issues and is the author of one book about diplomatic life. She served as Mayor of Santa Monica, CA in the 1980s. Her family resides in Venice, California.

"The next six years will challenge the postal community in new and unforeseen ways," Goldway added. "I look forward to working with all stakeholders to assure a vibrant and effective Postal Service in the years to come."

- 30 -

The Postal Regulatory Commission is an independent federal agency comprised of five Presidentially-appointed and Senate-confirmed Commissioners, each serving terms of six years. The Chairman is designated by the President. In addition to Chairman Blair, the other Commissioners are Ruth Goldway, Tony Hammond, Mark Acton, and Nanci Langley.