Skip Top Navigation
More Facts & Stats Email Search Home

  • What Did You Learn?FEMA was created in 1979, when President Jimmy Carter joined five different agencies and four different programs into one agency dedicated to planning for and helping after an emergency.

  • FEMA headquarters is located in Washington, D.C.

  • FEMA has 10 regional offices across the country.

  • FEMA is a small agency with only 2,600 full-time workers, and nearly 4,000 other workers called Disaster Assistance Employees. These other workers are on stand-by to respond after a disaster happens. They travel to the disaster and may live there for weeks or even months while a community recovers.

  • FEMA works with voluntary agencies such as the American Red Cross and other government departments to help people affected by disasters.
FEMA for Kids footer graphic