2007-2008 Officers

2008 Chair

Alan Rittel Honeywell - Kansas City Plant arittel@kcp.com (816) 997-4281

2008 Vice-Chair

Chad Mund Argonne National Laboratory mund@anl.gov (630) 252-5704

2007 Chair

Robert Shankle Savannah River Site robert.shankle@srs.gov (803) 725-3505

Treasurer

Michelle Johnson Idaho National Laboratory michelle.Johnson@icp.doe.gov (208) 526-9340

Communications Officer

Sarah Maynard Los Alamos National Laboratory maynard@lanl.gov (505) 665-2194



http://supply.lanl.gov/property/ecco



Export

Control

Coordinators

Organization

Charter



Annual Seminar



Officers







Name:

Export Control Coordinators Organization (ECCO)

Purpose:

- 1. Share ideas and internal policies/procedures relating to the transactions of Department of Energy (DOE) contractors and subcontractors required to further the international aspects of DOE-approved or DOE-sponsored programs.
- 2. Provide a forum for annual awareness/training to keep up with the myriad of regulations, policies and guidelines that control exports, imports and high risk property.
- 3. Monitor and report legislative, executive and judicial changes in laws, regulations and implementation directives affecting international transactions.
- 4. Recommend policies and procedures that facilitate international transactions and minimize adverse programmatic impacts.
- 5. Serve as a resource for evaluation.

Members:

DOE, NNSA, contractors and subcontractors, and the companies that operate them, who are interested in international transactions arising from DOE activities and who have elected to participate.

Annual Training Seminar

Each year ECCO meets in Washington D.C. to hear from regulatory agencies on the latest changes to regulations, political situations around the world, and new government initiatives.

Past speakers include:

Department of Energy/NNSA: Ambassador Linton Brooks Anatoli Welihozkiy John Boyd Ron Rudolph

Department of Commerce:

Steve Goldman, BIS Steve Clagett, BIS Alex Lopes, BIS Mark D. Menefee/Ed Holland, OEE (now Baker & McKenzie)

Department of State:

Terry Davis, Missile and Spacecraft Division

Department of Defense:

Paul Sellers

<u>Defense Technical Security Administration:</u> Jodi Kouts

Federal Bureau of Investigation:

Andy Arena

Alex Hattin, Unit Chief CD4D

Nuclear Regulatory Commission:

Betty Wright/Janice Owens/Ed Baker

Immigration and Customs Enforcement

Stewart Burke

ICE Liaison to Defense Trade Controls

Additional Information

ECCO is a non-profit organization. The annual training seminar is open to all federal agencies and their prime contractors involved in export control.

Some non-DOE attendees in the past include:

- ■the Defense Logistics Agency
- ■the Jet Propulsion Laboratory
- ■Honeywell
- Lockheed Martin, and
- the Government Accountability Office.

ECCO members are nuclear weapons laboratories and science research laboratories concerned with staying in compliance with all regulatory requirements regarding exports, imports and transfers of high risk personal property.