Twelve Days Left To Apply For Disaster Assistance 

Release Date: November 20, 2008
Release Number: 1798-052

» More Information on Puerto Rico Severe Storms and Flooding

» En Español

SAN JUAN, PR -- Federal and Commonwealth recovery officials reminded residents and business owners living in the 21 municipalities included in the recent presidential disaster declaration that they have only twelve days to register for federal disaster assistance.

December 1, 2008 is the last day applications will be accepted by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) for Individual Assistance.  Loan applications for homeowners, renters and businesses of any size to the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) for disaster-related losses to real and personal property must also be submitted by that date. Individuals with SBA questions may call the SBA Customer Service Center at 1-800-659-2955 or TTY 1-800-877-8339.

Federal and Commonwealth recovery officials urge eligible residents who were affected by storms and flooding from September 21 - October 3 to apply as soon as possible by calling the toll-free registration number at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362).  Speech or hearing impaired may call TTY 1-800-462-7585.  Individuals also may register for disaster assistance at the FEMA web site

The designated municipalities for individual assistance are: Arroyo, Cabo Rojo, Guánica, Guayama, Guayanilla, Gurabo, Humacao, Juncos, Las Piedras, Lajas, Peñuelas, Maunabo, Naguabo, Patillas, Ponce, Salinas, Santa Isabel, San Lorenzo, Villalba, Yabucoa, and Yauco.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Modified: Thursday, 20-Nov-2008 11:27:42