

MEMORANDUM TO MEMBERS AND CONSULTANTS OF THE NATIONAL SCIENCE BOARD

SUBJECT: Major Actions and Approvals at the December 9-10, 2008 Meeting

This memorandum is made publicly available for any interested parties to review. A more detailed summary of the meeting will be forthcoming and posted on the National Science Board (Board, NSB) public Web site. The minutes of the Plenary Open Session for the December 2008 meeting will also be posted on the Board's public Web site following Board approval at the February 2009 meeting.

Major actions and approvals at the 407th meeting of the Board included the following (not in priority order):

- The Board approved the minutes of the Plenary Open Session (<u>NSB-08-99</u>) for the September 2008 meeting (<u>http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/meetings/2008/0922/minutes.pdf</u>). Minutes for the Plenary Executive Closed Session for August 2008 and the Closed Session for the September 2008 meeting of the Board were also approved.
- 2. The Board approved a resolution to close portions of the upcoming February 23-24, 2009 Board meeting dealing with staff appointments; candidates for honorary awards, future budgets; grants and contracts; specific Office of the Inspector General investigations and enforcement actions; and National Science Foundation (NSF) participation in a civil or administrative action, proceeding, or arbitration (http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/meetings/2009/0223/closing.pdf).
- 3. The following recently confirmed Board Members of the Class of 2014 took the Oath of Office during a brief ceremony at the start of the Board meeting: Dr. Ray Bowen, President Emeritus, Texas A&M University; Dr. France Córdova, President, Purdue University; Dr. Esin Gulari, Dean of Engineering and Science, Clemson University; Dr. G. P. "Bud" Peterson, Chancellor, University of Colorado, Boulder; Dr. Douglas Randall, Professor and Thomas Jefferson Fellow, University of Missouri, Columbia; and Dr. Diane L. Souvaine, Professor and Chair, Department of Computer Science, Tufts University.
- 4. The Board authorized the NSF Director, at his discretion, to make an award to Johns Hopkins University for support of a proposal entitled *The Data Conservancy (A Digital Research and Curation Virtual Organization)*.
- 5. The Board authorized the NSF Director, at his discretion, to make an award to the University of New Mexico for support of a proposal entitled *DataNetONE* (*Observation Network for Earth*).

- 6. The Board authorized the NSF Director, at his discretion, to make an award to Cornell University for renewal of the National Nanotechnology Infrastructure Network (NNIN).
- 7. The Board approved the recipients for the 2008 Vannevar Bush Award and the NSB Public Service Awards. The names of the awardees will be announced after they have been notified.
- 8. Dr. Bement, NSF Director and Chairman of the Executive Committee, agreed to have the Executive Committee take the responsibility for the approval of Closed Session items for Board meetings for all future meetings.
- 9. Dr. Bement also agreed that the Executive Committee will draft a prioritization process for future major activities of the Board for discussion at the February 2009 meeting and to provide a report to the full Board at the May 2009 meeting.
- 10. Dr. Kathie Olsen, NSF Deputy Director, agreed to establish a management implementation committee to commemorate the 60th Anniversary of NSF, and work jointly with the Task Force on the NSB 60th Anniversary.
- 11. The Board approved the draft report, *Investing in the Future: NSF Cost Sharing Policies for Sustaining a Robust Federal Research Enterprise* (draft for public comment <u>NSB/CS-08-18</u>) to be released for public review and comment, subject to minor edits approved by the Chairman of the Board and the Task Force on Cost Sharing chairman.
- 12. The Board approved a revised charge to the Committee on Education and Human Resources (EHR) (<u>NSB-08-124</u>), which changes include a revised committee acronym of "CEH".
- 13. The Board approved a new separate charge for a Science and Engineering Indicators Committee (SEI) (<u>NSB-08-125</u>), which will no longer be an EHR subcommittee.
- 14. The Board approved a revised workplan for the CEH (formerly EHR) Expert Panel Discussion on Preparing the Next Generation of STEM Innovators (<u>NSB-08-82</u>).
- 15. The Board approved the location of Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio as the site of the next annual Board retreat and off-site visit to be held on September 23-24, 2009.

[signed] Craig R. Robinson Acting Executive Officer