Skip Navigation HRSA - U.S Department of Health and Human Services, Health Resources and Service Administration U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
Order Publications
Grants Find Help Service Delivery Data Health Care Concerns About HRSA
Federal Tort Claims Act

Risk Management Training

The FTCA is a waiver of the sovereign immunity of the United States. It imposes liability on the United States for the acts of its “employees” in the same manner and to the same extent as a private individual under like circumstances. “Employee” is defined to cover officers, governing board members, employee and certain contractors of particular Public Health Service grantees.

You must have the Real® Media player installed on your computer to view the training modules. Download the free Real® Media player

Module 1: FTCA Helpline Module 2: What is Covered? Module 3: Touhy Regulation
  • What is FTCA Coverage?
  • Who is Covered?
  • Coverage Description
  • Employee Definition
  • Scope of Project
  • Suits in State Court
  • Processing Claims
  • Settlement Process
  • Risk Management
  • Credentialing and Privileging

What You Will Learn

  • How the Federal Tort Claims Act (FTCA) applies to health centers
  • Federal Tort Claims Act policies and procedures
  • FTCA malpractice claims process

Each training module is led by Susan Lewis, RN, COHN-S, Risk Management Coordinator for the HRSA Bureau of Primary Health Care Center for Risk Management.

Whether you are a physician, nurse, dentist, pharmacist, social worker, nutritionist, health educator or health center staff, this training will help you understand the FTCA claims process and provide you with practical suggestions for improving risk management programs delivered by your organization.