Skip Navigation
Grants.Gov

Federal Holidays

2008
Tuesday November 11, 2008 Veterans Day
Thursday November 27, 2008 Thanksgiving Day
Thursday December 25, 2008 Christmas Day


2009
Thursday January 1, 2009 New Year's Day
Monday January 19, 2009 Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr.
Monday February 16, 2009 * Washington's Birthday
Monday May 25, 2009 Memorial Day
Friday July 3, 2009 ** Independence Day
Monday September 7, 2009 Labor Day
Monday October 12, 2009 Columbus Day
Wednesday November 11, 2009 Veterans Day
Thursday November 26, 2009 Thanksgiving Day
Friday December 25, 2009 Christmas Day

* This holiday is designated as "Washingtonā€™s Birthday" in section 6103(a) of title 5 of the United States Code, which is the law that specifies holidays for Federal employees. Though other institutions such as state and local governments and private businesses may use other names, it is our policy to always refer to holidays by the names designated in the law.

** July 4, 2009 (the legal public holiday for Independence Day), falls on a Saturday. For most Federal employees, Friday, July 3, will be treated as a holiday for pay and leave purposes. (See 5 U.S.C. 6103(b).)

 
Grants Policy Committee E-GOV FIRSTGOV.GOV The U.S. Government's Official Web Portal GovBenefits.gov


Quick Links

New! Grants.gov Blog

FOR APPLICANTS