

U.S. Department of the Interior Minerals Management Service Office of Public Affairs

# **NEWS RELEASE**

NEWS MEDIA CONTACT Gary Strasburg, 202 208-3985 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Thursday, April 10, 2008

FOR RELEASE: EMBARGOED UNTIL THURSDAY, APRIL 10, 2008, 2:00 PM EDT

## MMS HONORS BEST IN INDUSTRY

**HOUSTON** - More than 700 attendees joined Minerals Management Service (MMS) today in Houston to recognize companies and individuals for achievements in offshore safety and revenue management. The awards were announced at the 10<sup>th</sup> annual Industry Awards Program, which marked the 25<sup>th</sup> anniversary of the Safety Award for Excellence (SAFE).

"The companies and individuals honored today should be justifiably proud of earning these prestigious awards," said MMS Director Randall Luthi. "The awardees have been exemplary in helping MMS as we strive to balance the critical search for offshore energy with safe and environmentally responsible offshore operations. They have also played an important role in helping MMS to ensure taxpayers receive fair market value for energy resources on Federal lands."

The Corporate Leadership Award (CORLA) is given to individuals who have worked closely with MMS to improve revenue collection and processes for offshore development. The Safety Award for Excellence (SAFE) recognizes outstanding safety and pollution prevention achievement by offshore oil and gas operators and contractors.

The Minerals Revenues Stewardship Award recognizes companies that demonstrate exceptional compliance with mineral revenues laws and Federal financial requirements. The Safe Operations and Accurate Reporting (SOAR) is presented to the industry leaders that have demonstrated the highest commitment to safety, stewardship, and resource management.

(MORE)

#### The 2008 SAFE Award winners are:

High Activity – Chevron U.S.A. Inc.

Moderate Activity – Noble Energy, Inc.

Drilling Contractor – Noble Drilling Corp.

Production Contractor – C&D Production Specialist Co.

### The 2008 Mineral Revenues Stewardship Award winners are:

Cabot Oil & Gas Corporation Samson Resources Company W & T Offshore Wyodak Resources Development Corporation

### The 2008 Safe Operations and Accurate Reporting (SOAR) Award winner is:

LLOG Exploration is the winner of the Safe Operations and Accurate Reporting (SOAR) Award, an honor recognizing outstanding achievements in both offshore operating performance and fiscal responsibility.

#### The 2008 CORLA winners are:

Daniel Alonso, Ray Ayers, Mark Day, Hongbo Shu, James Stear, John Stiff, Sean Verret, and E.G. (Skip) Ward, (respectively) Delmar Systems, Inc., Stress Engineering Services, Devon Energy Corporation, Shell International Exploration and Production, Inc., Chevron Energy Technology Company, ABS Consulting, Energo Engineering, Inc., and Offshore Technology Research Center

Peter Brown, Jena Goebel, Timothy Mingee, and Amanda Hillman Smith, Argus Media, Inc.

Ronald Christ, Apache Corporation

Dennis Ray Cutcher, EDG Consulting Engineers

Donnie Ellis, ExxonMobil Corporation

Odd Bjerre and Magne Ognedal, Petroleum Safety Authority Norway

Daryl Horn, Chevron Products Company

Ray Patterson Williams, Island Operating Company, Inc.

-MMS-

R08-3808