Region VI

Serving AR, LA, NM, OK, TX

What We Do

Region VI provides assistance to the South Central Region of the United States. The States in Region VI are Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas. We also provide assistance to over 18 federally-recognized Tribal Nations.

Our mission is to reduce the loss of life and property and protect institutions from all types of hazards by leading and supporting the Nation in a comprehensive, risk-based all-hazards emergency management program of mitigation, preparedness, response, and recovery.  Our staff of 100 full-time employees is located in Denton, Texas. During Presidentially declared disasters, the Region also draws on a cadre of over 500 Disaster Assistance Employees (DAEs) or "reservists."

Additionally, Region VI is one of only five regions that house Mobile Emergency Response detachments. The Denton Mobile Emergency Response Support (MERS) provides mobile telecommunications, operational support, life support, and power generation assets allowing on-site management of disaster and all-hazard activities.

Who We Are

Regional Director: William E. Peterson
Deputy Regional Director: Gary Jones

Acting Administration and Resource Planning Division Director: Sandra Keefe
Federal Insurance and Mitigation Director: Frank A. Pagano
National Preparedness Director: Robert Hendrix
Response and Recovery Division Director: Tony Robinson

Region VI Contact Information
State Offices and Agencies of Emergency Management

Last Modified: Thursday, 10-Apr-2008 14:17:43 EDT