# Past Commissioners

(scroll down for biographies)

2008-2009 (current)

Felice D. Gaer (Chair); Michael Cromartie (Vice Chair); Dr. Elizabeth H. Prodromou (Vice Chair); Dr. Don Argue; Preeta

D. Bansal; Imam Talal Y. Eid; Dr. Richard

D. Land; Leonard A. Leo; Nina Shea; Ambassador John

V. Hanford, III (Ex-Officio Member)

2007-2008

Michael Cromartie (Chair); Preeta D. Bansal (Vice Chair); Dr. Richard D. Land (Vice Chair); Dr. Don Argue; Imam Talal Y. Eid; Felice D. Gaer; Leonard A. Leo; Dr. Elizabeth H. Prodromou; Nina Shea; Ambassador John V. Hanford, III (Ex-Officio Member)

2006-2007

Felice D. Gaer (Chair); Michael Cromartie (Vice Chair); Dr. Elizabeth H. Prodromou (Vice Chair); Nina Shea (Vice Chair); Dr. Khaled M. Abou El Fadl; Preeta D. Bansal; Archbishop Charles J. Chaput; Dr. Richard D. Land; Bishop Ricardo Ramirez; Ambassador John V. Hanford, III (Ex-Officio Member)

2005-2006

Michael Cromartie (Chair); Felice D. Gaer (Vice Chair); Nina Shea (Vice Chair); Dr. Khaled M. Abou El Fadl; Preeta D. Bansal; Archbishop Charles J. Chaput; Dr. Richard D. Land; Dr. Elizabeth H. Prodromou; Bishop Ricardo Ramirez; Ambassador John V. Hanford, III (Ex-Officio Member)

2004-2005

Preeta D. Bansal (Chair); Felice D. Gaer (Vice Chair); Nina Shea (Vice Chair); Dr. Khaled M. Abou El Fadl; Archbishop Charles J. Chaput; Michael Cromartie; Dr. Elizabeth H. Prodromou; Bishop Ricardo Ramirez; Michael K. Young; Ambassador John V. Hanford, III (Ex-Officio

## Member)

#### 2003-2004

Michael K. Young (Chair); Felice D. Gaer (Vice Chair); Nina Shea (Vice Chair); Preeta D. Bansal; Patti Chang; Dr. Khaled M. Abou El Fadl; Archbishop Charles J. Chaput; Richard D. Land; Bishop Ricardo Ramirez; Ambassador John V. Hanford, III (Ex-Officio Member)

#### 2002-2003

Felice D. Gaer (Chair); Michael K. Young (Vice Chair); Firuz Kazemzadeh; Richard D. Land; Bishop William F. Murphy; Leila Nadya Sadat; Nina Shea; The Honorable Charles R. Stith; The Honorable Shirin Tahir-Kheli

## 2001-2002

Michael K. Young (Chair); Felice D. Gaer (Executive Committee); The Honorable Charles R. Stith (Executive Committee); Firuz Kazemzadeh; Richard D. Land; Bishop William F. Murphy; Leila Nadya Sadat; Nina Shea; The Honorable Shirin Tahir-Kheli

#### 2000-2001

The Honorable Elliot Abrams (Chair); Firuz Kazemzadeh (Vice Chair); Leila Al-Marayati, M.D.; The Honorable John R. Bolton; Cardinal Theodore McCarrick; Rabbi David Saperstein; Nina Shea; Charles Z. Smith; Michael K. Young; Ambassador Robert A. Seiple (Ex-Officio Member)

### 1999-2000

Rabbi David Saperstein (Chair); Michael K. Young (Vice Chair); The Honorable Elliot Abrams; Leila Al-Marayati, M.D.; The Honorable John R. Bolton; Firuz Kazemzadeh; Cardinal Theodore McCarrick; Nina Shea; Charles Z. Smith; Ambassador Robert A. Seiple (Ex-Officio Member)

Dr. Khaled M. Abou El Fadl

Commissioner 2003-2007

Dr. Abou El Fadl, Professor of Law at the University of California, Los Angeles, was appointed by President George W. Bush.

Elliott Abrams

Commissioner 1999-2001, Commission Chair 2000-2001

Mr. Abrams, who was appointed by then-Speaker of the House Newt Gingrich, was President of the Ethics and Public Policy Center in Washington during his time as Commissioner. Mr. Abrams was later appointed by President George W. Bush as Deputy National Security Advisor for Global Democracy Strategy.

Dr. Laila Al-Marayati

Commissioner 1999-2001

A physician, Dr. Al-Marayati is a past president of the Muslim Women's League. She was appointed by President Bill Clinton.

John R. Bolton

Commissioner 1999-2001

Mr. Bolton was appointed by then-Senate Majority Leader Trent Lott. During his time as Commissioner, Mr. Bolton was Senior Vice President of the American Enterprise Institute. He served as U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations 2005-2006, then returned to the American Enterprise Institute as Senior Fellow.

# Patti Chang

Commissioner 2003-2004

Ms. Chang, who was President and CEO of the Women's Foundation of California while serving as Commissioner, was appointed by then-House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi.

Most Reverend Charles J. Chaput

Commissioner 2003-2007

Rev. Chaput, the Archbishop of Denver, was appointed by President George W. Bush.

Firuz Kazemzadeh

Commissioner 1999-2003, Commission Vice Chair 2001-2002

After his appointment to the Commission by President Bill Clinton, Dr. Kazemzadeh was reappointed by then-Senate Majority Leader Tom Daschle in 2001. When he joined the Commission, Dr. Kazemzadeh was Secretary of External Affairs of the National Spiritual Assembly of the Baha'is of the United States and Professor Emeritus of History at Yale University.

Cardinal Theodore McCarrick

Commissioner 1999-2001

Cardinal McCarrick, who was appointed by then-Senate Minority Leader Tom Daschle, was the Cardinal of Newark, New Jersey, and became Archbishop of Washington. He is now Archbishop Emeritus of Washington.

Most Reverend William Francis Murphy
Commissioner 2001-2003
Appointed by President George W. Bush, Bishop Murphy was Bishop of the Diocese of Rockville Centre, New York, while he served on the Commission.
Most Reverend Ricardo Ramirez
Commissioner 2003-2007
Rev. Ramirez, the Bishop of Las Cruces, New Mexico, was appointed by Senate Minority Leader Tom Daschle.
Leila Nadya Sadat
Commissioner 2001-2003
A professor of law at Washington University School of Law, in St. Louis, Ms. Sadat was appointed by then-House Minority Leader Richard Gephardt.
Rabbi David Saperstein
Commissioner 1999-2001, Commission Chair 1999-2000
During his time on the Commission, Rabbi Saperstein was Director of the Religious Action Center of Reform Judaism in Washington. He was appointed by then-House Minority Leader Richard Gephardt.
Robert Seiple
Ex-Officio Commissioner, 1999-2000

http://www.uscirf.gov Powered by Joomla! Generated: 13 January, 2009, 21:10

Mr. Seiple was appointed the Department of State's first

2000.

Ambassador-at-Large for International Religious Freedom in 1999 and in that capacity served with the Commission as Ex-Officio Commissioner through August

Justice Charles Z. Smith

Commissioner 1999-2001

Justice Smith, who was appointed by President Bill Clinton, was Justice of the Washington State Supreme Court during his term on the Commission. He has since retired.

Ambassador Charles R. Stith

Commissioner 2001-2003

Ambassador Stith was appointed to the Commission by then-Senate Majority Leader Tom Daschle.

Prior to joining the Commission, Mr. Stith was U.S. Ambassador to Tanzania and senior minister of the Union United Methodist Church in Boston.

He was later named Director of the African Presidential Archives and Research Center at Boston University.

Dr. Shirin Raziuddin Tahir-Kheli

Commissioner 2001-2003

Dr. Tahir-Kheli, appointed to the Commission by President George W. Bush, was with Johns Hopkins University School of Advanced International Studies' Foreign Policy Institute during her term, and later became Senior Adviser on Women's Empowerment at the Department of State.

Michael K. Young

Commissioner 1999-2005, Commission Chair, 2001-2002 and Vice Chair, 1999-2000 and 2002-2003

Mr. Young was appointed to the Commission by then-Senate Majority Leader Trent

Lott and re-appointed by Senator Lott in 2001 and 2003. When he was first appointed to the Commission, Young was Dean of the George Washington University
Law School. During his time on the Commission, he became President of the University of Utah.