Forest Service **Washington Office** 

14<sup>th</sup> & Independence Ave., SW P.O. Box 96090 Washington, DC 20090-6090

**File Code:** 2600 **Date:** March 6, 2006

**Route To:** 

**Subject:** The 2005 Rise to the Future Awards

To: Regional Foresters

I am pleased to announce this year's Rise to the Future Awards recipients. We hope you will join us in recognizing the outstanding efforts and achievements of each of the award recipients. Our reviewers were faced with the delightfully challenging task of selecting from an abundance of outstanding nominations.

# **Professional Excellence Management**

Jim Doyle Mt. Baker-Snoqualmie National Forests

### **Professional Excellence Research**

Dr. Susan Adams Southern Research Station

#### RecFish

Brad Fink
Mike Welker
Jeff Seefeldt
Frank Ireland
Kurt Daine
Allen Nicholas
Shawnee National Forest

## Mentor

Karen Chang Mt. Baker-Snoqualmie National Forests

#### **Public Awareness**

Sean Ferrell Santa Fe National Forest

# **Collaborative Aquatic Resource Stewardship**

Pat Trainer Payette National Forest

### **Monitoring**

Okanogan-Winatchee National Forests





# **Line Officer**

Mark Petroni District Ranger, Madison District, Beaverhead-Deerlodge National Forests

# **Individual or Group Research**

NE Minnesota Mercury-in-Fish/Fire Study Group
Trent Wickman
Jason Butcher
Ken Gebhardt
Stewart Behling
Dr. Randy Kolka

Hutton Scholar Chelsea Gayle Hutton Mentor LeRoy Cyr

Please join us in honoring our recipients and make plans to join us at Columbia Square, 555 Thirteenth Street, N.W. Washington, D.C., Fulbright Room, 13<sup>th</sup> Floor, 6 PM April 26, 20006.

/s/ Joel Holtrop

Joel Holtrop Deputy Chief for National Forest System File Code: 2600 Date: March 14, 2005

**Route To:** 

**Subject:** The 2004 Rise to the Future Awards

**To:** Regional Foresters

I am pleased to announce this year's Rise to the Future Awards recipients. We hope you will join us in recognizing the outstanding efforts and achievements of each of the award recipients. Our reviewers were faced with the delightfully challenging task of selecting from an abundance of outstanding nominations.

# **Professional Excellence Management**

Dave Heller

# **Professional Excellence Research**

Tom Lisle

#### RecFish

Seward Ranger District

## Mentor

Sheryl Bryan, National Forests of North Carolina

### **Public Awareness**

Oregon Trout, Salmon Watch Program

# **Collaborative Aquatic Resource Stewardship**

Conservation Fisheries Inc.

# **Monitoring**

Tenmile and Cummins Creek Watershed Restoration Evaluation, Siuslaw National Forest
Jack Sleeper
Steve Johnson
Paul Engelmeyer

### **Line Officer**

Ken Anderson, Red Rock District Ranger, Coconino National Forest

# **Individual or Group Research**

Dr. Keith Neslow, Northeastern Research Station

Regional Foresters 2

Please join us in honoring our recipients and make plans to join us at Columbia Square, 555 Thirteenth Street, N.W. Washington, D.C., Fulbright Room, 13<sup>th</sup> Floor, 6 PM June 21, 20004.

/s/ Joel Holtrop

Joel Holtrop Deputy Chief for National Forest System