Laws Applying to State and Local Governments

The following are the primary Federal disability laws that apply to state and local governments.  Receipt of Federal assistance by state and local governments also carries with it the nondiscrimination obligations of Federal law.  Additional nondiscrimination requirements issued by state and local governments may also apply.

Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended

Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990

Architectural Barriers Act of 1968 - (if using certain Federal construction dollars)

Fair Housing Act of 1968, as amended

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) of 1975, as amended

Last Modified: Friday, 13-Jul-2007 20:13:01 EDT