Laws Applying to Non-Government and Private Sector Organizations

The following are the primary Federal disability laws that apply to non-government and private sector organizations.  Receipt of Federal assistance by non-government and private sector organizations carries with it additional nondiscrimination obligations of Federal law.  State and local nondiscrimination laws may also apply.

Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended

Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990

Fair Housing Act of 1968, as amended

Architectural Barriers Act of 1968 - (if using certain Federal construction dollars)

Communications Act of 1934, as amended

Last Modified: Friday, 13-Jul-2007 20:14:30 EDT