

ADVISORY BOARD ON RADIATION AND WORKER HEALTH

4676 Columbia Parkway, MS: C-46 Cincinnati, Ohio 45226 (513) 533-6825

January 13, 2007

The Honorable Louise M. Slaughter Congress of the United States 28th District, New York 2489 Rayburn Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Congresswoman Slaughter:

Thank you for your letter of December 21, 2006, concerning actions of the Advisory Board on Radiation and Worker Health relating to the Linde Ceramics facility in Tonawanda, N.Y. I am writing in response to your request for an update on the status of the review by the Board's contractor, SC&A.

To date, SC&A has completed reviews of 15 site profiles, one of which is Linde Ceramics. Of these 15 reviews, the comment resolution process by the Board has been completed for two, is in process for five others, and has not yet started for the remaining eight. Linde Ceramics is one of those eight. Seven of the eight reviews, including Linde, have come to use since July, 2006. The inability of the Board to get underway on the comment resolution process on this group of eight has been largely due to our focus on the relatively large number of SEC petitions that have been submitted over the past year.

That having been said, the Board recognizes that further delay is not acceptable. At our January 11, 2007, conference call, the Board agreed to proceed with the comment resolution process for Linde Ceramics and has requested that NIOSH provide its responses to the SC&A findings as soon as feasible. The Board further agreed to appoint Work Group for the Linde Ceramics review at the next Board meeting in February, 2007. We will keep your office informed of the activities and meetings of the Work Group and provide you with all documents developed pertaining to this matter.

Sincerely,

Paul L. Ziemer, Ph.D. Chairman

Cc: Larry Elliott, NIOSH-OCAS John Mauro, SC&A

CHAIRMAN:

Paul L. Ziemer, Ph.D. Lafayette, Indiana

MEMBERS:

Bradley P. Clawson Rexburg, Idaho

Michael H. Gibson Franklin, Ohio

Mark A. Griffon Salem, New Hampshire

James E. Lockey, M.D. Cincinnati, Ohio

James M. Melius, M.D., Ph.D. Albany, New York

Wanda I. Munn Richland, Washington

John W. Poston, Sr., Ph.D. College Station, Texas

Robert W. Presley Clinton, Tennessee

Genevieve S. Roessler, Ph.D. Elysian, Minnesota

STAFF:

EXECUTIVE SECRETARY:

Lewis V. Wade, Ph.D Washington, DC

COMMITTEE MANAGEMENT :

LaShawn D. Shields Atlanta, Georgia