Skip Over Navigation Links
National Institutes of Health U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Council of Councils Roster of Members


Lana R. Skirboll, Ph.D.
Acting Director, Division of Program Coordination, Planning, and Strategic Initiatives (DPCPSI)
Office of the Director, National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD

Executive Secretary

Robin Kawazoe
Office of the Director, National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD



(Members’ NIH advisory council affiliations are shown in parentheses.)

*Ad Hoc Representatives

Ronald L. Arenson, M.D. (NIBIB)
Alexander R. Margulis Distinguished
Professor and Chairman
Department of Radiology
University of California, San Francisco
San Francisco, CA

Enriqueta C. Bond, Ph.D. (NICHD)
Burroughs-Wellcome Fund
Research Triangle Park, NC

Donna Bates Boucher (NIDCD)
Bates Group, Inc.
Denver, CO

Richard Chabran, M.L.S. (NLM)
California Community Technology
Policy Group
Los Angeles, CA

Coleen K. Cunningham, M.D. (OAR)
Chief, Pediatric Infectious Diseases
Duke University Medical Center
Durham, NC

Robert M. Dickler (CC)
Senior Vice President
Division of Health Care Affairs
Association of American Medical Colleges
Washington, DC

Cecile A. Feldman, D.M.D., M.B.A. (NIDCR)
Professor and Dean
New Jersey Dental School
University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey
Newark, NJ

Edwin Flores, Ph.D., J.D. (NIGMS)
Chalker Flores, LLP
Dallas, TX

Joan E. Fox, Ph.D.* (NCCAM)
Professor, Integrative Medicine Research
Department of Molecular Cardiology
Cleveland Clinic
Lerner College of Medicine
Western Reserve University
Cleveland, OH

Joseph H. Graziano, Ph.D. (NIEHS)
Associate Dean for Research
Professor of Environmental Health Sciences
Mailman School of Public Health
Professor of Pharmacology
College of Physicians and Surgeons
Columbia University
New York, NY

Bevra H. Hahn, M.D. (NIAMS)
Professor of Medicine
Department of Medicine
David Geffen School of Medicine
University of California – Los Angeles
Los Angeles, CA

Mary J.C. Hendrix, Ph.D. (NCI)
President and Scientific Director
Children’s Memorial Research Center
Feinberg School of Medicine
Northwestern University
Chicago, IL

Victor M. Hesselbrock, Ph.D.* (NIAAA)
Professor and Vice Chairman
Department of Psychiatry
Physicians Health Services
Professor of Addiction Studies
Director, Alcohol Research Center
University of Connecticut Health Center School of Medicine
Farmington, CT

Dilip V. Jeste, M.D. (NIMH)
Estelle and Edgar Levi Chair in Aging
Distinguished Professor of Psychiatry and Neurosciences
Director, Sam and Rose Stein Institute for Research on Aging
Department of Psychiatry
University of California, San Diego/VAMC
San Diego, CA

Lenworth N. Johnson, M.D. (NEI)
Professor of Ophthalmology and Neurology
Director, Ophthalmology Residency Program
Director, Neuro-Ophthalmology Service
University of Missouri – Columbia
Columbia, MO

Warren A. Jones, M.D. F.A.A.F.P. (NCMHD)
Executive Director
Mississippi Institute for Improvement of
Geographic Minority Health
Distinguished Professor of Health Policy
University of Mississippi Medical Center
Jackson, MS

Arthur M. Kleinman, M.D. (FIC)
Esther and Sidney Rabb Professor and Chair, Department of Anthropology
Professor of Medical Anthropology and Psychiatry, Department of Social Medicine
Harvard University Medical School
Cambridge, MA

Joseph Loscalzo, M.D., Ph.D. (NHLBI)
Chair, Department of Medicine
Brigham and Women’s Hospital
Hersey Professor
Harvard Medical School
Boston, MA

Marjorie K. Mau, M.D. (COPR)
Professor and Chair
Department of Native Hawaiian Health
John A. Burns School of Medicine
University of Hawaii at Manoa
Honolulu, HI

Juanita L. Merchant, M.D., Ph.D. (NIDDK)
Professor of Internal Medicine and Molecular and Integrative Physiology
Division of Gastroenterology
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI

Sandra Millon-Underwood, Ph.D., R.N. (NINR)
College of Nursing
University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee
Milwaukee, WI

Daria Mochly-Rosen, Ph.D. (CSR)
Senior Associate Dean for Research
Professor, Department of Chemical and Systems Biology
Stanford University School of Medicine
Stanford, CA

Sergio R. Ojeda, D.V.M. (NICHD)
Scientist/Division Head
Neuroscience Division
Oregon National Primate Research Center
Oregon Health & Science University
School of Medicine
Beaverton, OR

Orien Reid, M.S.W. (NIA)
Chairman, Alzheimer's Disease International
President, Consumer Connection
Laverock, PA

Martin Rosenberg, Ph.D. (NIAID)
Chief Scientific Officer
Promega Corporation
Madison, WI

Richard A. Rudick, M.D. (NCRR)
Vice Chairman, Research and Development
Neurological Institute
Director, The Mellen Center
Cleveland Clinic
Cleveland, OH

Harold T. Shapiro, Ph.D. (NHGRI)
President Emeritus and Professor
The Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs
Princeton University
Princeton, NJ

Gary L. Westbrook, M.D.* (NINDS)
Senior Scientist and Co-Director
The Vollum Institute
Professor of Neurology
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland, OR

Phyllis M. Wise, Ph.D. (ORWH)
Provost and Executive Vice President
Office of the Provost
University of Washington
Seattle, WA

Marina E. Wolf, Ph.D. (NIDA)
Professor and Chair
Department of Neuroscience
Rosalind Franklin University of
Medicine and Science
North Chicago, IL

Up to Top

This page last reviewed: November 20, 2008