A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
| A | |
AIDSInfo®
|
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) resource providing information on HIV/AIDS clinical trials and federally approved HIV treatment and prevention guidelines. |
| AltBib
|
Bibliography on Alternatives to the Use of Live Vertebrates in Biomedical Research and Testing. |
| American Indian Health
|
Health and well-being of American Indians. |
| Arctic Health
|
Health and well-being of our planet's northern-most inhabitants. |
| Asian American Health
|
Health and well-being of Asian Americans in the United States. |
| B | top of page |
| Bioethics
|
Ethical, legal, and policy issues in health care and biomedical research. |
| Biotechnology Information
|
Molecular biology, computational biology and related software tools. |
| Bookshelf
|
The Bookshelf is a collection of online biomedical books whose full text can be searched through the Entrez system. |
| C | top of page |
| Cancer Information
|
Cancer information via the MEDLINE/PubMed database and the National Cancer Institute (NCI). |
| CancerChromosomes
|
Provides the ability to search for cytogenetic, clinical, and/or reference information. |
| Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System(CCRIS)
|
Carcinogenicity, mutagenicity, tumor promotion, and tumor inhibition test results on chemicals. |
| ChemIDPlus®
|
Online dictionary of chemicals, including names, synonyms, and chemical structures. |
| Citing Medicine
|
Provides guidance for citing twenty-six types of published and unpublished material, ranging from print books and journal articles to blogs and wikis. |
| Clinical Alerts
|
Provided to expedite the release of findings from the NIH-funded clinical trials where such release could significantly affect morbidity and mortality. |
| ClinicalTrials.gov
|
Patient studies for drugs and treatment. |
| Coffee Break
|
A collection of short stories and interactive tutorials about recent biomedical discoveries. |
| Conserved Domains
|
Collection of sequence alignments and profiles representing protein domains conserved in molecular evolution. |
| D | top of page |
| 3D Domains
|
Compact structural domains identified automatically in the Molecular Modeling DataBase (MMDB), Entrez's macromolecular three-dimensional structure database. The domains are identified by searching for breakpoints in a structure between major secondary structure elements, and are the units of comparison used in the identification of "related structures" in MMDB. |
| DailyMed®
|
Vehicle for access to the labels as well as to other sources and types of information about medications. |
| database of Genotype and Phenotype (dbGaP)
|
Data from genome wide association (GWA) studies, which aim to establish associations between genotype and phenotype information to elucidate the link between genes and disease. |
| Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology Database (DART®)
|
References to the teratology, developmental, and reproductive toxicology literature. |
| Dietary Supplements Labels Database
|
Information about ingredients in more than two thousand selected brands of dietary supplements. |
| DIRLINE®
|
Online Directory of Health Organizations. |
| Disaster Information
|
Health information resources and informatics research related to disasters of natural, accidental, or deliberate origin. |
| DOCLINE®
|
Interlibrary loan (ILL) request routing and referral system. |
| Drug Information
|
Where to find information about U.S. drugs. Gateway to current and accurate drug information from NLM and to other key government agencies. |
| E | top of page |
|
Entrez
|
Search the biomedical databases of the Entrez Molecular Biology System. |
| Environmental Health and Toxicology Information
|
Portal to numerous NLM databases and resources in environmental health and toxicology. |
| G | top of page |
| GenBank®
|
Genetic sequence database. |
| Gene
|
Database of gene-specific information. Each record represents a single gene from a given organism and can include, as available, nomenclature, map, sequence, expression, structure, functional, and homology data. |
| Gene Expression Omnibus (GEO) DataSets
|
A component of the Gene Expression Omnibus (GEO) repository that contains submitter-supplied records (known as "GEO Series"), which summarize individual experiments, plus GEO DataSets that are assembled by GEO staff. A DataSet represents a collection of biologically- and statistically-comparable samples processed using the same platform. |
| Gene Expression Omnibus (GEO) Profiles
|
Individual gene expression and molecular abundance profiles assembled from the Gene Expression Omnibus (GEO) repository. A Profile consists of the expression measurements for an individual gene across all Samples in a DataSet. |
| GENE-TOX (Genetic Toxicology DataBank)
|
Mutagenicity test data on chemicals based on peer review of the scientific literature. |
| Genetics Home Reference
|
Genetic conditions and the genes or chromosomes responsible. |
| Genome
|
Sequence and map data from the whole genomes of organisms. The genomes represent both completely sequenced organisms and those for which sequencing is in progress. |
| Genome Project
|
Searchable collection of complete and incomplete (in-progress) large-scale sequencing, assembly, annotation, and mapping projects for cellular organisms. The Entrez Genome Project database provides an umbrella view of the status of each genome project, links to project data in the other Entrez databases, and links to a variety of other NCBI and external resources associated with a given genome project. |
| GENSAT (Gene Expression Nervous System ATlas)
|
Maps the expression of all genes expressed in the mouse brain at various stages of development. |
| H | top of page |
| Haz-Map®
|
Links jobs and hazardous tasks with occupational diseases and their symptoms. |
| HSDB® (Hazardous Substances Data Bank)
|
Online toxicology handbook on chemicals. |
| Health Data Standards and Privacy
|
NLM participation in Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) activities. |
| Health Hotlines
|
Toll-free telephone numbers for various health-related services. |
| Health Services Research & Health Care Technology
|
Includes clinical practice guidelines. |
| Health Services Research Projects (HSRProj)
|
Ongoing grants and contracts in health services research. |
| Health Services and Sciences Research Resources (HSRR)
|
Research datasets and instruments/indices. |
| Health Services Technology Assessment Texts (HSTAT)
|
Full-text documents providing health information and supporting health care decision making. |
| History of Medicine
|
Exhibitions, historical scholarship, and images in medicine. |
| HIV/AIDS Resources
|
Information on acquired immunodeficiency syndrome (AIDS) and human immunodeficiency virus (HIV). |
| HomoloGene
|
System for automated detection of homologs among the annotated genes of several completely sequenced eukaryotic genomes. |
| Household Products Database
|
Health and safety information on household products. |
| I | top of page |
| Images from the History of Medicine
|
Images in the prints and photograph collection of the History of Medicine Division (HMD). |
| Index Catalogue
|
National Library of Medicine digital version of the printed Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon General's Office (IndexCat). |
| Influenza Virus Resource
|
Provides researchers with a growing collection of virus sequences essential to the identification of the genetic determinants of influenza pathogenicity. |
| Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS)
|
Hazard identification and dose-response assessments on chemicals. |
| Interlibrary Loan
|
Interlibrary loan services are available only to libraries. |
| International Toxicity Estimates for Risk (ITER)
|
Risk information on chemicals from several authoritative organizations worldwide. |
| J | top of page |
| Journals Database
|
Look up journals cited in any of the Entrez databases, including PubMed. |
| L | top of page |
| LactMed - Drugs and Lactation Database
|
A peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. |
| List of Serials Indexed for Online Users
|
Bibliographic information for serials indexed in MEDLINE (available in both PDF and XML). |
| Loansome Doc®
|
Enables PubMed and NLM Gateway users to order documents found in MEDLINE. |
| LocatorPlus®
|
Catalog of books, journals, and audiovisuals with holdings, availability, MARC 21, and more. |
| M | top of page |
| Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®)
|
Controlled vocabulary thesaurus and MeSH Browser. |
| MEDLINE®/PubMed®
|
References including abstracts to articles in thousands of biomedical journals. |
| MEDLINE/PubMed Baseline Repository (MBR)
|
Resources related to the annual baseline files. Includes a query tool for Web-based searching for use by NLM's registered MEDLINE/PubMed licensees. |
| MedlinePlus®
|
Health information for patients, families and health care providers. Also in Spanish. |
| MedlinePlus en español
|
Health information for patients, families and health care providers in Spanish. |
| MeSH Browser
|
Medical Subject Heading look-up tool. |
| MeSH Database
|
Entrez database of NLM controlled vocabulary used for indexing articles for MEDLINE/PubMed. MeSH terminology provides a consistent way to retrieve information that may use different wording for the same concepts. |
| Malaria Research Resources
|
Supports African scientists and malaria researchers. |
| Molecular Biology
|
Molecular biology, computational biology and related software tools. |
| N | top of page |
| NIH Manuscript Submission System (NIHMS)
|
The NIH Public Access Policy requests that researchers funded by NIH submit their final, peer-reviewed manuscripts, which have been accepted for publication, to PubMed Central. |
| NIH Public Access
|
The NIH Public Access Policy ensures that the public has access to the published results of NIH-funded research. The NIH Manuscript Submission System is a mechanism for authors to deposit their NIH-funded manuscripts. |
| NIHSeniorHealth
|
Easily-accessible age-related health information. |
| NLM Catalog
|
An alternate way to search books, journals, audiovisuals, electronic, and other materials with links to LocatorPlus holdings and availability. |
| NLM Classification
|
Medical library classification and index tool for the arrangement of library materials. |
| NLM Gateway
|
Search multiple retrieval systems. |
| NLM Technical Bulletin
|
Bi-monthly newsletter for NLM online searchers. |
| Nucleotide
|
Contains nucleotide sequence data from organisms. Includes data from a number of sources databases such as GenBank, RefSeq, TPA, and PDB. |
| O | top of page |
| OLDMEDLINE Data
|
References to biomedical journal articles 1950 through 1965. |
| OMIA (Online Mendelian Inheritance in Animals)
|
Database of genes, inherited disorders and traits in animal species (other than human and mouse). |
| OMIM (Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man™)
|
Continuously updated catalog of human genes and genetic disorders. Focuses primarily on inherited, or heritable, genetic diseases and includes textual information as well as links to associated literature references, sequence records, maps, and related databases. |
| Online Exhibitions and Digital Projects
|
Enhancing the public and scholarly awareness and appreciation of National Library of Medicine collections. |
| P | top of page |
| PopSet
|
Sets of DNA sequences that have been collected to analyse the evolutionary relatedness of a population. |
| Practice Guidelines
|
Full-text documents providing health information and supporting health care decision making. |
| Probe
|
A public registry of nucleic acid reagents designed for use in a wide variety of biomedical research applications, together with information on reagent distributors, probe effectiveness, and computed sequence similarities. Applications include, for example, genotyping, gene expression assays, variation analysis, and gene silencing (RNAi). |
| Profiles in Science®
|
Archival collections of leaders in biomedical research and public health. |
| Protein
|
Contains protein sequences from organisms. Includes data from a number of source databases such as GenPept (translations from annotated coding regions in GenBank), RefSeq, SwissProt, PIR, PRF, and PDB. |
| Protein Clusters
|
A collection of Reference Sequence (RefSeq) proteins, from the complete genomes of prokaryotes, plasmids, and organelles, that have been grouped and annotated based on sequence similarity and protein function. |
| PubChem
|
Information on the biological activities of small molecules. PubChem is organized as three linked databases (PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, PubChem BioAssay) within the Entrez information retrieval system. Links from PubChem's chemical structure records to other Entrez databases provide information on biological properties. |
| PubChem BioAssay
|
Contains bioactivity screens of chemical substances described in PubChem Substance. It provides searchable descriptions of each bioassay, including descriptions of the conditions and readouts specific to that screening procedure. |
| PubChem Compound
|
Database made by NCBI and derived from PubChem Substance. A non-redundant view of the chemically validated substances in PubChem Substance. There is one PubChem Compound record for each unique substance, and for each unique substance component. A compound record may link to more than one PubChem Substance record, if different depositors supplied the same structure. |
| PubChem Substance
|
Chemical substance information electronically submitted to PubChem by depositors. This includes any chemical structure information submitted, as well as chemical names, comments, and links to the depositor's Web site. |
| Public Health Partners
|
Information access for the public health workforce. |
| PubMed Central®
|
Free digital archive of full text biomedical and life sciences journal literature. |
| PubMed/MEDLINE
|
References including abstracts to articles from thousands of biomedical journals. |
| PubMed Tutorial
|
Interactive instruction tool. |
| R | top of page |
| Radiation Event Medical Management System (REMM)
|
Designed for health care providers, primarily physicians, without formal expertise in radiation safety or radiation medicine who may provide medical care during an accidental or non-accidental radiation event. |
| RxNorm
|
A standardized nomenclature for clinical drugs. |
| S | top of page |
| Single Nucleotide Polymorphism (dbSNP)
|
Database of single nucleotide polymorphisms (dbSNP), small-scale insertions/deletions, polymorphic repetitive elements, and microsatellite variation. |
| Space Life Sciences Data
|
Literature of space flight and ground-based life sciences. |
| Special Queries
|
Directory of Topic-Specific PubMed Queries, including Clinical Queries. |
| Structure
|
General information about the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Structure Group and its research projects, as well as access to the Molecular Modeling Database (MMDB) and related tools to search and display three-dimensional structures. |
| T | top of page |
| Taxonomy
|
Contains the names and lineages of organisms, both living and extinct, that are represented in the genetic databases with at least one nucleotide or protein sequence. New organisms are added to the database as sequence data are deposited for them. |
| ToolKit
|
The NCBI C++ Toolkit Book. |
| Tox Town®
|
Interactive guide to toxic chemicals and environmental health risks. Also in Spanish (ToxTown en español). |
| Toxicology Data Network (TOXNET®)
|
Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and environmental health. |
| Toxicology Literature Online (TOXLINE®)
|
Over 3 million references to the toxicological literature. |
| Toxicology Tutorials
|
Three college-level tutorials on the basic principles of toxicology, toxicokinetics, and cellular toxicology. |
| Toxics Release Inventory (TRI)
|
Annual estimated releases of toxic chemicals into the environment by industrial facilities in the United States. |
| TOXMAP®
|
Uses maps of the United States to show the amount and location of toxic chemicals released into the environment. |
| ToxMystery
|
Interactive learning site on toxic substances for children 7-10 years old. |
| ToxSeek®
|
Metasearch and clustering tool for environmental health and toxicology. |
| Turning the Pages
|
Digitized images of rare and beautiful historic books in the biomedical sciences. |
| U | top of page |
| Unified Medical Language System® (UMLS®)
|
Database of biomedical vocabularies (including SNOMED CT®), and related semantic and lexical resources for system developers. |
| UniGene
|
An automated analytical system for producing organized view of the transcriptome from a growing number of organisms. Each UniGene entry is a set of transcript sequences that appear to come from the same transcription locus (gene or expressed pseudogene) in a given organism, together with information on protein similarities, gene expression, cDNA clone reagents, and genomic location. |
| UniSTS
|
A unified, non-redundant view of sequence tagged sites (STSs). UniSTS integrates marker and mapping data from a variety of public resources. If two or more markers have different names but the same primer pair, a single STS record is presented for the primer pair and all the marker names are shown. |
| V | top of page |
| Visible Human Project®
|
Three-dimensional representations of the human male and female bodies. |
| W | top of page |
| WISER® (Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders)
|
PDA and Web-based resource designed to assist first responders in hazardous material incidents. |
See also: Retired Databases