Skip navigation links
NIGMS Home | Site Map | Staff Search

Advisory Council Roster

(Terms end 12/31 of the designated year)


Jeremy M. Berg, Ph.D. (Chairperson)
National Institute of General Medical Sciences
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD 20892
Web site

Carolyn R. Bertozzi, Ph.D. (11)
T.Z. and Irmgard Chu Distinguished Professor of Chemistry
Professor of Molecular and Cell Biology
Department of Chemistry
University of California, Berkeley
Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Berkeley, CA 94720-1460
Web site

Edwin S. Flores, Ph.D., J.D. (09)
Managing Partner
Chalker Flores, LLP
Dallas, TX 75251
Web site

Mariano Garcia-Blanco, M.D., Ph.D. (11)
Department of Molecular and Genetics and Microbiology
Duke University Medical Center
Durham, NC  27710
Web site

Howard H. Garrison, Ph.D. (11)
Deputy Executive Director of Policy and
Director, Office of Public Affairs
Federation of American Societies for
Experimental Biology
Bethesda, MD  20814
Web site

Clifford W. Houston, Ph.D. (10)
Department of Microbiology and Immunology
Associate Vice President for Educational Outreach
The University of Texas Medical Branch
Galveston, TX 77555-0133
Web site

Steven L. McKnight, Ph.D. (10)
Professor and Chairman
Department of Biochemistry
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Dallas, TX 75390-9152
Web site

W. James Nelson, Ph.D. (10)
Department of Biological Sciences and Molecular and Cellular Physiology
Stanford University School of Medicine
Stanford, CA 94305-5345
Web site



Alejandro Sánchez Alvarado, Ph.D. (11)
Professor of Neurobiology and Anatomy
University of Utah School of Medicine
Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Salt Lake City, UT  84132-3401
Web site

Paula Stephan, Ph.D. (09)
Professor of Economics and Senior Associate
Policy Research Center
Andrew Young School of Policy Studies
Georgia State University
Atlanta, GA 30303
Web site

Virginia A. Zakian, Ph.D. (09)
Harry C. Wiess Professor in the Life Sciences
Department of Molecular Biology
Princeton University
Princeton, NJ 08544
Web site

Executive Secretary

Ann A. Hagan, Ph.D.
Associate Director for Extramural Activities
National Institute of General Medical Sciences
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD 20892

Ex-Officio Members

The Honorable Michael Leavitt
Department of Health and Human Services
Washington, DC 20201

Jeffrey Mason, Ph.D.
Chairman, Department of Biophysics
Department of Cellular Pathology and Genetics
Armed Forces Institute of Pathology
Rockville, MD 20850

Timothy O’Leary, M.D., Ph.D.
Biomedical Laboratory Research and Development
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs
Washington, DC  20420

Raynard Kington, M.D.
Director (Acting)
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD 20892-0148
Web site

Related Information

This page last updated December 31, 2008