Sponsored by the National Institute of General Medical Sciences
and the Office of the Director, NIH
The Cloister, NIH, Bethesda, Maryland
November 11-12, 1999
1. To understand the extent and nature of efforts to develop databases of interacting systems.
2. To understand the needs of the users of such databases.
3. To reconcile goals 1 and 2.
Some specific issues that have been raised and that should be considered by the participants:
1. To what extent is it desirable and possible to coordinate databases of interacting systems?
2. Should there be a single submission site for categories of such data, e.g., protein-protein interactions?
3. What are the data objects that are/will be commonly required, and how can they be represented? How can we be flexible about defining these so that future needs for both data inclusion and analysis can be accommodated?
4. How will these databases be supported?
| Thursday, November 11 |
| |
| 8:00 |
Continental Breakfast |
| |
| 8:20-8:30 |
Introduction: Tony Hunter and Tony Pawson |
| |
Morning Session
Chair: Tony Hunter, Salk Institute |
| |
| 8:30-9:10 |
Bryan Ray, Science |
| |
Science's Signal Transduction Environment: the "Connections Map," a Graphical Interface to a Database of Information on Signal Transduction |
| |
| 9:10-9:50 |
Stephen Shaw, National Cancer Institute, NIH |
| |
|
| |
| 9:50-10:30 |
Minoru Kanehisa, Institute for Chemical Research, Kyoto University |
| |
The Protein-Protein Interaction Network for Knowledge Representation of Cell Processes and for Integration with Genomic Information |
| |
| 10:30-10:50 |
Break |
| |
| 10:50-11:30 |
Christopher Hogue, Samuel Lunenfeld Research Institute, Mt. Sinai Hospital, Toronto |
| |
BIND, the Biomolecular Interaction Network Database |
| |
| 11:30-12:10 |
Peter Karp, Director, Bioinformatics Group, SRI International |
| |
Pathway/Genome Databases and Software Tools (related paper) |
| |
| 12:10-1:15 |
Lunch |
| |
Afternoon Session
Chair: Tony Pawson, Mt. Sinai Hospital, Toronto |
| |
| 1:15-1:50 |
Evgeni Selkov, Integrated Genomics, Inc. |
| |
EMP and MPW Databases of Enzymes and Metabolic Pathways; Status and Outlook |
| |
| 1:50-2:30 |
Les Loew, Center for Biomedical Imaging Technology, University of Connecticut Health Center |
| |
The Virtual Cell Project |
| |
| 2:30-3:00 |
Srinivas Ravi Iyengar, Department of Pharmacology, Mt. Sinai School of Medicine |
| |
Databases for Modeling Signaling Networks |
| |
| 3:00-3:15 |
Break |
| |
| 3:15-3:45 |
Lewis Cantley, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Department of Medicine, Harvard Medical School |
|
| |
Predicting Protein-Protein Interactions from Primary Sequences |
| |
| 3:45-4:15 |
William Gelbart, Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology, Harvard University |
| |
Phenotypes, Genotypes, and Developmental Pathways |
| |
| 4:15-4:45 |
Bernhard Palsson, Departments of Bioengineering and Medicine, University of California, San Diego |
| |
Life on the Edge: Using Genome-Scale in silico Models of Microorganisms to Interpret and Predict Metabolic Phenotypes |
| |
| 4:45-5:30 |
Wrap-up |
| |
| Friday, November 12 |
| |
| Chair: Marvin Cassman, National Institute of General Medical Sciences, NIH |
| |
| 8:30-12:00 |
Overview of Problems and Opportunities; Recommendations for Future Developments |
| |
PROW/KBTool: Building a Fabric of Biological Concepts and Relationships that is "Good, Simple, and Habit-Forming" (no longer available)
Stephen Shaw, National Cancer Institute, NIH
Pathway/Genome Databases and Software Tools (related paper)
Peter Karp, Director, Bioinformatics Group, SRI International
The Virtual Cell Project
Les Loew, Center for Biomedical Imaging Technology, University of Connecticut Health Center
