Skip Navigation

The NIH is comprised of the Office of the Director and 27 Institutes and Centers. The Office of the Director is the central office at NIH, and is responsible for setting policy for NIH and for planning, managing, and coordinating the programs and activities of all the NIH components. more >

The NIH Director

Raynard S. Kington, M.D., NIH Director (Acting)

Research, Funding and Coordination

Division of Program Coordination, Planning, and Strategic Initiatives (DPCPSI) Extramural Research—Office of Extramural Research (OER) Intramural Research—Office of Intramural Research (OIR)


Communications—Office of Communications & Public Liaison (OCPL)


Science Policy—Office of Science Policy (OSP) Legislative Policy—Office of Legislative Policy and Analysis (OLPA)

Administration & Services

Executive Office—Office of the Director Executive Office (ODEO)
Equal Opportunity—Office of Equal Opportunity and Diversity Management (OEODM)
Ethics—NIH Ethics Office
NIH Information Technology—Office of the Chief Information Officer (OCIO)
Management—Office of Management (OM) Conflict Resolution—Center for Cooperative Resolution (CCR)
Office of the General Counsel (OGC)
  • Legal—Office of the NIH Legal Advisor
  • Ethics—Ethics Division at NIH
This page was last reviewed on January 12, 2009 .
skip main navigation National Institutes of Health - The Nation's Medical Research Agency U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Health Information Page NIH Grants News and Events Research Institutes and Centers About NIH