HSRL Logo ORS Logo
FAQ  |  Help  |  Site Map  |          
 |  Library Services  |  Research Tools  |  Custom Services  |  Resource Training  |  About Us  |          
Channel Title image
Ask a Librarian
Search


Quick Links

Online Catalog

Online Journals

Order a Document

PubMed

Scopus

Web of Science
Sign-Up For

PubMed Document Delivery

Request a Tutorial

Alert Services
HSRL Home
|   Databases
Databases A-Z

Contact the library at 301-496-1080 with any access problems or questions.

        
A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z   All  
1
Item NameCoverage Dates
AAFP Conditions A to Z    2008
Ageline *   Articles on various aspects of aging, such a delivery of health care to the older population, social gerontology, and public policy issues. 1978-
Allied & Complementary Medicine Database *   unique bibliographic database produced by the Health Care Information Service of the British Library. It covers a selection of journals in complementary medicine, palliative care, and several professions allied to medicine. Subject coverage: Complementary medicine, Physiotherapy, Occupational therapy, Rehabilitation, Podiatry, and Palliative Care. 1985-
Carcinogenic Potency Database   Developed at the University of California, Berkeley, and Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory. Provides standardized analyses of the results of 6540 chronic, long-term animal cancer tests that have been conducted since the 1950's and reported in the general published literature or by the National Cancer Institute and the National Toxicology Program.  
Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System (CCRIS)   Carcinogenicity and mutagenicity test results for over 8,000 chemicals.  
ChemIDplus   Dictionary of over 370,000 chemicals (names, synonyms, and structures). Includes links to NLM and other databases and resources.  
CINAHL *   Articles on nursing and allied health professions. Also covers behavioral sciences and consumer health. 1982-
CINAHL Plus   The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL) database provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health. The CINAHL Plus database indexes over 3,200 journals and includes access to other sources such as evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, research instruments, and continuing education modules. 1937-
Clinical Evidence   BMJ Clinical Evidence is a new kind of decision-support resource. BMJ Clinical Evidence is a database of systematic reviews that summarise the current state of knowledge and uncertainty about the prevention and treatment of clinical conditions, based on thorough searches and appraisal of the literature. It describes the best available evidence from systematic reviews, RCTs, and observational studies where appropriate, and if there is no good evidence it says so.  
Cochrane Library   Regularly updated collection of evidence based medicine reviews. Best information on the effectiveness of health care interventions for practitioners, and policy makers. varies
CRISP   CRISP (Computer Retrieval of Information on Scientific Projects) is a searchable database of federally funded biomedical research projects conducted at universities, hospitals, and other research institutions. The database, maintained by the Office of Extramural Research at the National Institutes of Health, includes projects funded by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services (SAMHSA), Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), Food and Drug Administration (FDA), Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDCP), Agency for Health Care Research and Quality (AHRQ), and Office of Assistant Secretary of Health (OASH). Users, including the public, can use the CRISP interface to search for scientific concepts, emerging trends and techniques, or identify specific projects and/or investigators. 1972-
Current Index to Statistics   The Current Index to Statistics is a bibliographic index to publications in statistics and related fields. References are drawn from 162 core journals (as of 2003) that are fully indexed, non-core journals from which articles are selected that have statistical content, proceedings and edited books, and other sources.  
Current Index to Statistics Extended Database     
Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology/Environmental Teratology Information Center (DART/ETIC) Database   References to developmental and reproductive toxicology literature.  
DrugPoints® System     
Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed)   A peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Among the data included are maternal and infant levels of drugs, possible effects on breastfed infants and on lactation, and alternate drugs to consider.  
Econlit *   Articles on national and international economic literature. 1969-
EMBASE.com   EMBASE.com offers access to pharmacological and biomedical literature. Subject coverage includes: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, pharmacy, drug side effects and interactions, toxicology, human medicine (clinical and experimental), basic biological sciences, biotechnology, biomedical, medical devices, engineering and instrumentation, health policy and management, pharmacoeconomics, public and occupational health, environmental health, pollution control, substance dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic science, alternative and complementary medicine and nursing. 1974-
ERIC   Accesses educational research and information. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. Subject Coverage includes Adult, Career, and Vocational Education, Counseling, Handicapped and Gifted Children, Information Resources, Languages and Linguistics, Tests Measurement and Evaluation, Urban Education and Reading and Communication Skills. 1966-
Federal Register   Published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), the Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents. 1994-
GENE-TOX (Genetic Toxicology Data Bank)   Peer-reviewed genetic toxicology test data for over 3,000 chemicals.  
Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB)   Comprehensive, peer-reviewed toxicology data for about 5,000 chemicals.  
Household Products Database   Health and safety information on household products.  
Impact Factors - Journal Citation Reports   The Journal Citation Reports® is a resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 8,400 scholarly and technical journals worldwide. Coverage is both multidisciplinary and international, and incorporates journals from over 3,000 publishers in 60 nations. The JCR is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and the social sciences. For every journal covered, the following information is collected or calculated: citation and article counts, impact factor, immediacy index, cited half-life, citing half-life, source data listing, citing journal listing, cited journal listing, subject categories, publisher information and journal title changes.  
IndexCat: Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon General's Office   IndexCat is the National Library of Medicine's digital version of the printed Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon General's Office (Index Catalogue). The Index-Catalogue contains material dated from the 1400s through 1950 and is an important resource for researchers in the history of medicine, history of science, and for clinical research. The scope of Index-Catalogue extends beyond medicine and includes the basic sciences, scientific research, military medicine, public health, and hospital administration. Language coverage is international with citations in European and Slavic languages, Greek script, and Romanized Chinese and Japanese titles - some with English translations. The catalogue covers a wide assortment of materials including: books, journal articles, dissertations, pamphlets, reports, newspaper clippings, case studies, obituary notices, letters, portraits, as well as rare books and manuscripts. 1892-1961
Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS)   Hazard identification and dose-response assessments for over 500 chemicals.  
International Toxicity Estimates for Risk (ITER)   Risk information for over 600 chemicals from authoritative groups worldwide.  
Journal Citation Reports   The Journal Citation Reports® is a resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 8,400 scholarly and technical journals worldwide. Coverage is both multidisciplinary and international, and incorporates journals from over 3,000 publishers in 60 nations. The JCR is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and the social sciences. For every journal covered, the following information is collected or calculated: citation and article counts, impact factor, immediacy index, cited half-life, citing half-life, source data listing, citing journal listing, cited journal listing, subject categories, publisher information and journal title changes. 1997-
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology   "Written by prominent scholars from industry, academia, and research institutions, the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed."  
Lexis-Nexis   Lexis® and Nexis® research services cover a wide range of information and sources in the news and media, legal, risk management, corporate, government, law enforcement, accounting and academic markets. Contact your HSRL librarian to have a search run in LexisNexis. varies
MDConsult   The MDConsult Core Collection is comprised of medical reference books, medical journals and clinics, MEDLINE, comprehensive drug information, peer-reviewed clinical practice guidelines, over 9,500 customizable patient education handouts, daily personalized clinical updates and online CME. 2002-
MedCalc 3000   "MedCalc 3000 is a unique computerized medical reference and tool set. MedCalc 3000 encompasses a wide array of pertinent medical formulae, clinical criteria sets and decision tree analysis tools used everyday by clinicians, medical educators, nurses and health care students of all types ... interactive tools used to learn Evidence Based Medicine."  
MediRegs Regulation & Reimbursement Library   Federal legislation, comprehensive federal register, CMS manuals, HIPAA and PPS regulations, SSA manuals and rulings, complete Code of Federal Regulations, Medicaid and managed care policies, 4 years of CPT-4 with CCI, ICD-9, HCPCS and NDC, DRG groups and hospital specific pricers, national CPT to ICD-9 crosswalk, Federal Register back to 1991.  
MEDLINE *   Premier database in biomedical literature. Includes delivery of health care, nutrition, environmental health, diseases, public health, social sciences. 1966-
Molecular Imaging and Contrast Agent Database   The molecular imaging and contrast agent database (MICAD) is an online source of information on in vivo molecular imaging agents based on recommendations from the extramural community. The database includes agents developed for positron emission tomography (PET), single photon emission computed tomography (SPECT), magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), ultrasound (US), computed tomography (CT), and optical imaging.  
National Newspaper Abstracts   National Newspaper Abstracts provides cover-to-cover indexing of articles in The New York Times, USA Today, and The Wall Street Journal from 1989 to the present. The database provides bibliographic citations plus concise and informative abstracts from each of the newspapers. varies
NCBI Help Manual     
NLM Gateway   The NLM Gateway lets users search simultaneously in multiple retrieval systems at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). Collections available for searching: MEDLINE®/PubMed®, NLM Catalog, TOXLINE Special, Meeting Abstracts, MedlinePlus® Health Topics, MedlinePlus® Drug Information, MedlinePlus® Medical Encyclopedia, MedlinePlus® Current Health News, MedlinePlus® Health Tutorials, ClinicalTrials.gov, DIRLINE®: Directory of Health Organizations, Genetics Home Reference, HSRProj, OMIM(TM): Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man and HSDB: Hazardous Substances Data Bank. Varies
OVID Databases   Available databases: OVID MEDLINE®, Ageline, Alternative & Complementary Medicine, CINAHL - Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature, EconLit, PsycInfo. Varies
PILOTS Database   "Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events" 1871-
PolicyFile   PolicyFile indexes research and publication abstracts on public policy research. Content comes from public policy think tanks, university research programs, research organizations and publishers. PolicyFile is updated on a weekly basis.  
ProQuest - Health/Psychology/General   Includes full-text articles in the area of health care delivery, biomedicine, psychology, life sciences, business, education, political science. Contains abstracts of articles for the New York Times, USA Today and Wall Street Journal. Updated daily. varies
PsycINFO *   Journal articles, books, book chapters, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychiatry. 1806 - present
PubMed   PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE® and additional life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources 1950s - present
Rand Books and Publications   Full text RAND public policy documents related to health care, international affairs, population, public safety, terrorism and homeland security, population and aging and substance abuse. 1998-
Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED)   The Science Citation Index Expanded(TM) is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. It fully indexes 5,900 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines. The Science Citation Index Expanded includes all cited references captured from indexed articles. Some of the disciplines covered include: agriculture, astronomy, biochemistry, biology, biotechnology, chemistry, computer science, materials science, mathematics, medicine, neuroscience, oncology, pediatrics, pharmacology, physics, plant sciences, psychiatry, surgery, veterinary science and zoology. 1970 - present
ScienceDirect   ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. Collections include online reference works, handbooks, book series and a journal collection of over 2,000 titles. In addition, the Backfiles program offers the ability to search a historical archive of over 6.75 million articles directly from your desktop, back to Volume 1, Issue 1. The collections contain 4 million articles prior to 1995, and 2.75 million articles from after 1994. 1823 - present
ScienceDirect   "ScienceDirect® is the world's largest electronic collection of science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. It offers a wide variety of features and content."  
Scientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols, and Abbreviations     
Scopus   Scopus™ allows you to search for scientific, technical, medical, and social science literature from 14,000 journals. You can also search through 15 million patents. Scopus is updated daily and contains records with abstracts going back to 1966. The database offers basic, advanced, and author search options, as well as an email alert service. Other Scopus features include options to combine sets and to export search results to EndNote®, Reference Manager®, ProCite®, or RefWorks. 1966 -
Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI)   The Social Sciences Citation Index® is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences. Some of the disciplines covered include: anthropology, history, industrial relations, information science & library science, law, linguistics, philosophy, psychology, psychiatry, political science, public health, social issues, social work, sociology, substance abuse, urban studies and women's studies. 1970 - present
Social Services Abstracts   Bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Subject coverage includes community and mental health services, crisis intervention, the family and social welfare, poverty and homelessness, social and health policy, violence, abuse, neglect and welfare services. 1979-
Sociological Abstracts   Sociological Abstracts covers the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. 1952-
Springer Protocols   Online full-text protocols from the Methods in Molecular Biology, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Neuromethods, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Methods in Biotechnology series.  
STAT!Ref   Collection of medical textbooks in electronic format.  
Structural Genomics Knowledgebase     
TOXLINE   References from toxicology literature.  
ToxNet   Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases. 1965 -
TRI, Toxics Release Inventory   Annual environmental releases of over 600 toxic chemicals by U.S. facilities. 1987-
Web of Science   Web of Science® allows searching of both the Science Citation Index Expanded(TM) (a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences) and the Social Sciences Citation Index® (a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences) through a single interface. SCI 1970 - present; SSCI 1970-present
   
Number of Titles to Display
   

Give us your opinions on any of the resources we provide with our Resource Feedback Form.



 Announcements
>Upcoming Medical Conferences
>New Interface for CINAHL
>Use the Scopus Journal Analyzer to Determine Journal Value and Reputation
   
   View All Announcements
   
 Primary Clients
>

Administration for Children and Families
>

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
>

HHS Regional Offices
>

Indian Health Service
>

Office of the Secretary (HHS)
>

Program Support Center
>

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration

 
>

HHS LOGIN
   
Ask A Librarian  |  Library Services  |  Research Tools  |  Custom Services  |  Resource Training  |  About Us
DHHS  |  NIH  |  ORS  |  Disclaimers  |  Accessibility  |  Comments
2003 NIH Library. All Rights Reserved.