Department of Justice

Offices

Office of the Attorney General.

Office of the Deputy Attorney General.

Office of the Associate Attorney General.

Office of the Solicitor General.

Office of Legal Counsel.

Office of Legislative Affairs.

Office of Professional Responsibility.

Office of Legal Policy.
Office of Public Affairs.

Office of Public Affairs.

Office of the Pardon Attorney.

Office of Special Counsel for Immigration Related Unfair Employment Practices.

Community Relations Service.

Executive Office for Immigration Review.

Executive Office for United States Attorneys.

Executive Office for United States Trustees. INTERPOL—United States National Central Bureau.

Office of International Programs.

Office of Community Oriented Policing Services.

Office on Violence Against Women.

Office of the Federal Detention Trustee.

Professional Responsibility Advisory Office.

Divisions

Antitrust Division.

Civil Division.

Civil Rights Division.

Criminal Division.

Environment and Natural Resources Division.

National Security Division.

Tax Division.

Justice Management Division.

Bureaus

Federal Bureau of Investigation.

Bureau of Prisons.

Drug Enforcement Administration.

Office of Justice Programs (and related agencies) $\,$

United States Marshals Service.

Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives

Boards

Board of Immigration Appeals.

U.S. Parole Commission.

Foreign Claims Settlement Commission.

[Order No. 900–80, 45 FR 43702, June 30, 1980, as amended by Order No. 960–81, 46 FR 52340, Oct. 27, 1981; Order No. 1299–88, 53 FR 35811, Sept. 15, 1988; Order No. 1497–91, 56 FR 25629, June 5, 1991; Order No. 1606–92, 57 FR 32438, July 22, 1992; Order No. 1948–95, 60 FR 8933, Feb. 16, 1995; Order No. 2650–2003, 68 FR 4926, Jan. 31, 2003; Order No. 2811–2006, 71 FR 19827, Apr. 18, 2006; Order No. 2825–2006, 71 FR 36193, June 26, 2006; Order No. 2865–2007, 72 FR 10065, Mar. 7, 2007]

Subpart B—Office of the Attorney General

§ 0.5 Attorney General.

The Attorney General shall:

- (a) Supervise and direct the administration and operation of the Department of Justice, including the offices of U.S. Attorneys and U.S. Marshals, which are within the Department of Justice.
- (b) Represent the United States in legal matters generally.
- (c) Furnish advice and opinions, formal and informal, on legal matters to the President and the Cabinet and to the heads of the executive departments and agencies of the Government, as provided by law.
- (d) Appear in person to represent the Government in the Supreme Court of the United States, or in any other court, in which he may deem it appropriate.
- (e) Designate, pursuant to Executive Orders 9788 of October 4, 1946, and 10254 of June 15, 1951, officers and agencies of the Department of Justice to act as disbursing officers for the Office of Alien Property.
- (f) Perform or supervise the performance of other duties required by statute or Executive order.

§ 0.10 Attorney General's Advisory Committee of U.S. Attorneys.

- (a) The Attorney General's Advisory Committee of U.S. Attorneys shall consist of fifteen U.S. Attorneys, designated by the Attorney General. The membership shall be selected to represent the various geographic areas of the Nation and both large and small offices. Members shall serve at the pleasure of the Attorney General, but such service normally shall not exceed three years and shall be subject to adjustment by the Attorney General so as to assure the annual rotation of approximately one-third of the Committee's membership.
- (b) The Committee shall make recommendations to the Attorney General, to the Deputy Attorney General and to the Associate Attorney General concerning any matters which the Committee believes to be in the best interests of justice, including, but not limited to, the following: