Bicentennical Home
About the Bicentennial
Library of Congress
The Steering Commitee --


John Y. Cole, Director of the Center for the Book

Jo Ann Jenkins, the Library's Chief of Staff


Steering Committee Members


Roberta Stevens, Bicentennial Program Manager

Norma Baker, Director of Development

Jill Brett, the Library's Public Affairs Officer

Laura Campbell, Director of the National Digital Library Program

Robert Dizard, Jr., Acting Director of the Congressional Relations Office (June 1999 - April 2000)

Geraldine Otremba, Director of the Congressional Relations Office

Winston Tabb, Associate Librarian for Library Services

Support for the Bicentennial

The Library’s Bicentennial programs have been supported by private funds, including donations from the James Madison Council. Made up of prominent cultural, business, and philanthropic leaders, the Madison Council's goal is to enhance scholarship, education, creativity, and competitiveness by increasing awareness of and access to the Library's unique resources.


-About the Bicentennial-Commemorative Items
-Local Legacies
Music -Special Programs
-Gifts to the Nation
-America's Library
-Bicentennial Calendar
-Logo, Theme, & Goal
-The Steering Commitee
Librarian's Message
-Library Home