Finding Aids to Collections Organized by Topic in the Archive of Folk Culture

SOUTH CAROLINA FIELD RECORDINGS
IN THE ARCHIVE OF FOLK CULTURE

Compiled by: Stephanie A. Hall
Series Editor: Joseph C. Hickerson

Publication Date: February 1989; Web revision June 2008
Series Number: LCFAFA No. 4
ISSN 0736-4903

AFS 663-743: John A. Lomax Southern States Collection Part 2, 1936
Eighty-one discs of recordings made by John A. Lomax in Parchman, Mississippi; Austin, Fort Spunky, San Antonio, Spur, Throckmorton, Texas; Belle Glade, Gainesville, Raiford, Florida; Boykin, Columbia, South Carolina; Washington, DC; Zionsville, North Carolina; and Culpeper, State Farm, Richmond, Virginia.

AFS 705-708A2, B; 709A1, B2; 710-712; 716: Nine discs containing work songs, calls, spirituals, and prayers sung and spoken by black convicts at State (Reid) Farm, Boykin, and in Columbia, South Carolina, May 1936. (Tape copy on LWO 4872 reels 49-50)

AFS 829-953: John A. Lomax Southern States Collection, Part 3
Forty-nine discs of recordings by John A. Lomax in the southern states, primarily North Carolina, South Carolina (Murrells Inlet), Texas, Virginia (State Farm), and Arkansas.

AFS 830; 832-834; 868; 877: Six discs containing songs, spirituals, hymns, sermons, and prayers, including a narrative on the storm of 1893 spoken by Mrs. Hagar Brown and others, and a service conducted at the Heaven's Gate Methodist Church. Recorded in Mount Arena on Sandy Island and Murrells Inlet, South Carolina, August 1936.

AFS 878-944: Sixty-seven discs recorded by John A. Lomax in southern states in early 1937.

AFS 903: One disc containing songs and hymns sung by Drew Howard, Lillie Knox, and Minnie Knox. Recorded in Murrells Inlet, South Carolina, January 1937.

1299-1339: John A. Lomax Southern States Collection, Part 5
Ninety-five discs recorded by John A. Lomax in southern states in the summer of 1937.

1299-1303: Five discs containing ballads, hymns, lullabies, and spirituals recorded in Mullins and Murrells Inlet, South Carolina, July 1937.

AFS 1047A2-1054; 1304: [Plantation Echoes]
"Plantation Echoes," a play written and directed by Rosa Warren Wilson. Includes spirituals, songs, dance tunes, sermons and prayers performed by black singers and dancers from Wadmalaw Island. Recorded in Hibernian Hall, Charleston, South Carolina, July 1937. [Act I begins on AFS 1048; Act II begins on AFS 1304.] (Tape copy on LWO 4872 Reels 75; 95.)

AFS 3789-3795: Charles Seeger WPA South Carolina Recordings, 1939
Seven 12-inch discs of songs and spirituals, including several accompanied on banjo and bones. Recorded on Brevard Plantation, Adams Mill, near Columbia, South Carolina, by Charles Seeger, March 1939. Deposited by the Joint Committee on Folk Arts, WPA. (Tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 247)

AFS 9829-9868: National Folk Festival, 1938
One 12-inch and thirty-nine 16-inch discs of instrumentals, radio programs, and songs. Recorded primarily at the National Folk Festival in Washington, D.C., by the U.S. Recording Company, May 6-8, 1938. The collection includes three-fourths linear inch of song lists, newspaper articles, and programs. Sarah Gertrude Knott makes some introductions.

AFS 9833A3: "The Fox Chase," tune performed on fiddle by John D. Weaver of Landrum, South Carolina, May 8, 1938. (Tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 263)

AFS 9888-9899: A.H. Stoddard Collection of Gullah Recordings
Twelve discs of Gullah dialect tales spoken by A. H. Stoddard originally of Daufuskie Island, SC. Recorded by Herman Norwood at the Library of Congress, Washington, D.C., June 23, 1949. (Tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 275-277.) [Much of this collection has been issued on Library of Congress LPs and cassettes edited by Duncan Emrich, AFS L44-L46 Animal Tales Told in the Gullah Dialect.]

AFS 10,899: Courtney Siceloff Collection of Gullah Folk Music and Spirituals
One 10-inch tape of Gullah dialect songs and spirituals recorded by Courtney Siceloff, Director, Penn Community Services, on St. Helena Island, South Carolina, ca. 1955. (LWO 2326)

AFS 14,026: Hilda A. Kring Songs
One 5-inch tape of British and Irish ballads including nine sung and played on dulcimer by Mrs. Myra Elmers, formerly of the piedmont region of South Carolina. Recorded by Mrs. Hilda A. Kring in Pennsylvania, February 1969. (LWO 5594)

AFS 14,083-14,086: Benjamin A. Botkin Duplication Project
Four 10-inch tapes of songs, tunes and church services recorded by Benjamin A. Botkin and others in North Carolina and South Carolina, 1949. Includes Artus Moser and Bascom Lamar Lunsford. Also air checks of Foggy Mountain boys and church services.

AFS 14,084B: One tape containing air checks of radio broadcasts of gospel singing from Easley and Marion, South Carolina. Recorded by Artus Moser, January 23, 1949. (LWO 5979 reel 2)

AFS 14,085-14,086A: Two tapes containing lullabies, children's songs, poetry, spirituals, blues, sermons, prayers, riddles, and tall tales including interviews with Louise Jones Du Bose and Lee Myer. Recorded by Benjamin A. Botkin in Columbia, South Carolina, January 1949. (LWO 5979 reels 3-4)

AFS 14,218-14,221: Benjamin A. Botkin Duplication Project
Four 10-inch tapes of narratives, radio programs, and songs recorded in California, Colorado, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oregon, South Carolina, Washington, and Washington, D.C., by Benjamin A. Botkin and the Voice of America, 1949-58. The collection includes five pages of notes. Includes Botkin's Western trip of 1950, Voice of America folklore programs; air checks from ca. 1952-53 including a program honoring Carl Sandburg's 75th birthday; and selections from Botkin's Southern trip of 1949. Keywords: Bascom Lamar Lunsford; Sterling Brown.

AFS 14,218A: One tape containing stories of John C. Calhoun's ghost, "The Big Brick" whorehouse in Charleston, South Carolina, mills and millworkers in Gaffney, South Carolina, and sawmill workers in Saluda County, South Carolina spoken by Ravin I. McDavid. Recorded in Colorado, July 18, 1950. (LWO 6080 reel 1)

AFS 14,768-14,770: Kenneth S. Goldstein Collection of North and South Carolina Recordings
Three 10-inch tapes of folksongs and instrumental music recorded in Asheville, North Carolina and South Carolina, by Kenneth S. Goldstein, 1957. Includes Bascom Lamar Lunsford, Marcus Martin, Artus Moser, Mrs. Maud Long, and Freda English, Nathaniel Thackston.

AFS 14,770A16-23, B1-2: One tape containing songs sung by Nathanial Thackston recorded in Greenville, South Carolina, July 23, 1956. (LWO 6914 reel 3.)

AFS 19,343-19,354: Ed Morris Duplication Project
Twelve 10-inch tapes of performances by and interviews with African American and folk revival musicians including Wilbert "Big Chief" Ellis, Ed Green, John Jackson, Skip James, George Jazz, Buddy Boy Jenkins, Raun MacKinnon, Bill McCulloh, Randy Mason, Frank Mizell, Flora Molton, and Ed Morris. Recorded in Virginia and Washington, D.C., by Ed Morris, Charles Perdue, and others, 1963-1965. The collection includes twenty-two pages of logs and notes. [Note: the logs are incomplete, therefore there may be additional related material contained in the collection.]

AFS 19,346-19,349A: Includes spirituals, blues, and monologue sung, played on guitar, and spoken by Ed Green, originally of Beechersville, South Carolina. Recorded by Ed Morris in Washington, D.C., 1963. (LWO 12,314 reels 4-7)

AFS 19,350A9-14: Spirituals sung by Flora Molton accompanied by Ed Green, originally of Beechersville, South Carolina. Recorded by Charles L. Perdue, Jr., in Fairfax, Virginia, 1964. (LWO 12,314 reel 8)

AFS 19,980-20,092: Peter Lowry / Trix Records Project
One hundred thirteen 10-inch field and studio tapes recorded by Peter Lowry (with help in 1969 of Bruce Bastin) in connection with the LP publications of Trix Records of Rosendale, New York, in Georgia, Illinois, New York, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia in 1969-1979.

AFS 19,980-19,981A3; 19,983A2-19,987A2; 19,993A2; 19,996A2; 20,012A2-20,014; 20,020A3-20,021; 20,029-20,030: Blues, ragtime, and spirituals by black performers including Pink Anderson, Baby Brooks, McKinley Ellis, Arthur (Peg Leg Sam) Jackson, Henry Johnson, and Charles Henry (Baby) Tate. Recorded in Greenville, Jonesville, Spartanburg, and Union, South Carolina, 1970-1972. (LWO 16,649 reels 1-2; 4-8; 14; 17; 33; 41; 50-51)

AFS 19,989A2-3; 19,997A2-4: Blues performed by Charles Henry (Baby) Tate of Spartanburg, South Carolina and others. Recorded in New Paltz, New York, May 6, 1972. (LWO 16,649 reel 1.)

AFS 20,004A4-20,008A3; 20,019A3-20,020: Blues performed by Arthur (Peg Leg Sam) Jackson of Jonesville, South Carolina, and others. Recorded in Chapel Hill and Pittsboro, North Carolina, October-November 1972. (LWO 16,649 reels 26-29; 40)

AFS 21, 352A1-4: Federal Cylinder Project
One 10-inch tape of copies made from four wax cylinders of Catawba Indian music performed by Billy Harris and others. Probably recorded by Truman Michelson for the Bureau of American Ethnology in South Carolina, May 1913. (RWA 3422)

AFS 21,866-21,950: Foxfire Duplication Project Part 1
Eighty-five 10-inch tapes of interviews interviews with residents of Rabun County, Georgia, and neighboring regions used in the production of Foxfire magazines and books. Topics include agriculture, animals, community culture, crafts, foodways, gardening, legends, medicine, music, railroads, religion, tales, and wild plants. Included are interviews with Aunt Arie Carpenter and potter Lanier Meaders. Recorded by the students and staff of Foxfire in Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee, 1970-1973. (LWO 16,817)

AFS 22,485: John A. Silver / Penn Normal Industrial and Agricultural School Collection
One audiocassette of African American spirituals performed by teachers and others at the Penn Normal Industrial and Agricultural School on St. Helena Island, South Carolina. Includes a spoken prologue, and was used in the production of a film To Live As Freemen. Recorded on St. Helena Island in 1942. (RYA 2604)

AFS 23,252-23,255: American Dialect Society / Linguistic Atlas of the United States and Canada Demonstration Collection
Three 7-inch tapes and one audiocassette of selected recordings from the American Dialect Society's Linguistic Atlas of the United States and Canada discs, recorded throughout the United States in the 1930s by Nathaniel Caffee, Marguerite Chapallaz, Walter C. Garwick, Miles L. Hanley, Guy S. Lowman, Robert L. Stone, and Lorenzo Turner; also contains excerpts of these selections prepared for a demonstration given by Joseph C. Hickerson, Head of the Archive of Folk Culture, at the American Dialect Society meeting held at the Library of Congress, December 24, 1984.

AFS 23,253A4: One tape containing personal narratives and a tale of witchcraft spoken by Mary Celestia Parler of Wedgefield, South Carolina. Recorded in Providence, Rhode Island, August 22, 1934. (RXA 4786 reel 2) [Miss Parler later became Mrs. Vance Randolph.]

AFS 23,255A13: One tape containing narrative about attending the University of Wisconsin with a comment on Professor Miles L. Hanley spoken by Mary Celestia Parler. (RYA 4304) [Selection from AFS 23,253 above]

AFS 23,268-23,346: Foxfire Collection, Part 2
Seventy-nine 10-inch tapes of interviews used in the production of Foxfire magazines and books, including oral histories, information on crafts, customs, foodways, and occupational lore. Recorded by the students and staff of Foxfire in Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee, 1973-1974.

AFS 23,297A: Includes family history and personal narratives spoken by Beulah Perry originally of Anderson County, South Carolina. Recorded by Beverly Justus and Vivian Burell, 1974. (RWB 430.)

AFC 1928/002: Robert Winslow Gordon Cylinder Collection
Nineteen 10-inch tapes (copied from 825 wax cylinders) recorded by Robert Winslow Gordon 1922-1928 in California, Georgia, Kentucky, North Carolina, South Carolina, and West Virginia. Represents a cross section of American folksong including Negro blues, spirituals, and ballads, British-American ballads, gospel singing, sea chanties, recitations, and miscellaneous recordings such as the inauguration of President Coolidge. Singers include Bascom Lamar Lunsford, Nellie Galt, and others.

AFS 19,000-19,001A: Two tapes of songs, ballads, and fiddle tunes sung and played by Willard R. Randal and John D. Weaver. Recorded in Landrum and Rock Hill, South Carolina, December 5 and 7, 1925. (Tape copy on [LWO 9228 reels 7-8]) (Gordon cylinder nos. A131-A161)

AFC 1935/002: John Lomax Southern States Collection, 1934-35
Two hundred eighty-six 12-in discs of songs and instrumentals recorded mostly in southern states by John A. and Alan Lomax, 1933-35.

AFS 264-267: Four tapes containing work songs, spirituals, and calls sung by black convicts at State (Reid) Farm, Boykin, South Carolina, December 1934. (Tape copy on LWO 4844 reel 21)

AFC 1937/007: John A. Lomax Southern States Collection, Part 4
Fifty-four discs of recordings from the southern states, recorded by John A. Lomax, July 1937.

AFS 1025A2, B1-2; 1026-1039B2; 1040-1047A1: Twenty-three discs of Hymns, lullabys, spirituals, ballads, and work songs including performances by the Pearson's Funeral Home Choir, work songs and calls by black ditchdiggers, and spirituals by Reverend Aaron Pinnacle. Recorded in Charleston, Columbia, Mullins, and Murrells Inlet, South Carolina, July 1937. (Tape copy on LWO 4872 reels 73-75)

AFC 1939/001: John and Ruby Lomax 1939 Southern States Recording Trip
One hundred forty-seven discs recorded by John A. and Ruby T. Lomax in various southern states between April and June 1939. Genres include ballads, blues, children's songs, cowboy songs, dance music, fiddle tunes, field hollers, lullabies, Mexican corridos, play-party songs, religious dramas, spirituals, work songs. See also AFS 3551 - 3557.

AFS 2711B; 2719; 2720A2, B; 2721-2727A1, B: Ten tapes containing spirituals, hymns, play-party songs, blues, and calls, including work songs by convicts on a chain gang, and hymns by the congregation of Little Hope School House. Recorded in Anderson County, Clemenson, Greenville, and Murrells Inlet, South Carolina, June 1939. (Tape copy on LWO 4872 reels 174-176)

AFC 1939/005: Herbert Halpert 1939 Southern States Recording Expedition
Four hundred and nineteen 12-inch discs of instrumentals, monologs, prayers, sermons, songs, and stories recorded in Alabama, Florida, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia, by Herbert Halpert, March 15-June 23, 1939, for the Folk Arts Committee of the WPA and the Library of Congress. The collection includes one and one-fourth linear inches of articles, contact sheets, correspondence, descriptions, interviews, lists, photographs, reports, and song texts.

AFS 3147-3152A: Songs, spirituals, street cries, and calls with comments by the singers. Recorded in Edisto Island, South Carolina, June 1939. (Tape copy on LWO 4872 reels 209-210)

AFC 1940/003: John and Ruby Lomax 1940 Southern States Recordings Collection
One hundred forty-six 12-inch discs of a sermon and songs recorded in Alabama, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, South Carolina, Texas, and Virginia by Bess Brown, John A., and Ruby T. Lomax, September-November 1940. The collection includes one and one-half linear inches of correspondence and song transcriptions.

AFS 4076-4080: Spirituals, hymns and prayers including spirituals sung by the People's Burial Aid Society and the Brown Brothers Jubilee Quartet. Recorded in Columbia, South Carolina, November, 1940. (Tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 276)

AFC 1957/006: Penn Community Services / Religious Songs and Services
Two 10-inch tapes of Gullah dialect religious songs and services recorded by Penn Community Services in Frogmore, St. Helena Island, South Carolina, January 15, 1956. The collection includes a full transcript. (LWO 2255) (Includes AFS 11,303)

AFC 1959/006: Harold Reeves and Russell Wood Collection of Gullah Recordings
One 10-inch tape of Gullah dialect tales, spirituals, and street cries from Charleston, South Carolina, ca. 1958. Duplicated from material loaned by Harold S. (Dick) Reeves and Russell Wood. (LWO 2724) (Includes AFS 11,475)

AFC 1965/001: Maggie Gomillion Recordings Collection
One 10-inch tape of 18 religious songs sung by Maggie F. Gomillion originally of Saluda, South Carolina. Recorded at the Library of Congress in Studio A, January 7, 1965, by Rae Korson and John E. Howell. The collection includes a one-page log. (LWO 4460) (Includes AFS 12,296)

AFC 1965/012: Maggie F. Gomillion Collection of Religious Songs
One 10-inch tape of religious songs sung by Maggie F. Gomillion originally of Saluda, SC. Recorded by Mrs. Samuel H. Horne in Silver Spring, MD, November 1964. (LWO 4461) (Includes AFS 12,319)

AFC 1965/017: Azalea Festival of the Society for the Preservation of the Negro Spiritual
Four discs of the Annual Azalea Festival on radio station WEAF, featuring songs by The Society for the Preservation of the Negro Spiritual [now called The Society for the Preservation of Spirituals] of Charleston, South Carolina, 1936. The collection includes 5 pages of notes. (Includes AFS 12,346-12,349)

AFC 1973/028: Laura Boulton Collection Part 1: Negro Folklore
Sixty 10-inch discs of Negro folklore. Recorded in Alabama, South Carolina, and Virginia, by Walter Garwick, 1935-37.

AFS 15,679; 15,685-15,686; 15,713-15,725: Sixteen tapes containing sermons, prayers, spirituals, street cries, and Gullah dialect tales from Charleston, Cromwell Alley, Edisto Island, and Johns Island, South Carolina. (Tape copy on LWO 7751 reels 1-2; 5-6)

AFC 1977/034: Sue Pearl Williams Collection of Baptist Revival Services
Three 10-inch tapes of African American Baptist revival services from the Antioch Baptist Church in Greenville, South Carolina, and the Tried Stone Baptist Church in Washington, D.C. Recorded by Sue Pearl Williams, October 4-7, 24, 1977. The collection includes three pages of administrative materials and notes.

AFS 19,158-19,159: Two tapes containing a revival service conducted by Reverend E. L. Mathis at the Antioch Baptist Church, Greenville, South Carolina, October 3-6, 1977. (LWO 9973 reels 1-2)

AFC 1982/015: Park Dougherty / Society for the Preservation of Spirituals Collection
Singing by the Society for the Preservation of Spirituals; also field recordings made in black churches by Renee Ravenal and others. Recorded in North Carolina and South Carolina, 1937-1938 and 1952-1954. Additional materials contributed by Park Dougherty starting ca. 1988. Four discs, perhaps from the 1930s. Later contributions of CDs containing copies of field recordings and of Society concerts between 1936 and 1995, plus three editions of the publication, Spirituals of the Carolina Low Country -- a re-issuing of the 1931 publication entitled The Carolina Low-Country, and other manuscripts.

AFS 22,513-22,516; 22,518-22,557: Spirituals, prayers, sermons, and street cries recorded in Charleston, Collins Creek, Cromwell Alley, Edisto Island, and Johns Island, SC, as well as performances of spirituals and street cries by The Society for the Preservation of the Negro Spiritual of Charleston, SC. (Tape copy on RWA 3445-3448)

AFC 1986/021: Bernard Zaidman "Tales from the Dark Corner" Collection
Eleven 7-inch tapes and 28 audiocassettes of music and oral histories documenting the "Dark Corner" region of South Carolina. The collection includes 63 color slides and mounted captioned photographs, one volume of transcripts, and one map. (RYA 8820-8847; RXA 7645-7655)

AFC 1987/018: William Dargan North and South Carolina Church Revivals
Thirty-four 10-inch tapes of African American church services, songs, hymns, prayers, sermons, testimony, and interviews with individuals, relating to Baptist revivals in Piedmont North Carolina and South Carolina. The collection includes logs.

AFC 1990/025: Guy B. Johnson St. Helena Island Collection
Rare cylinder and wire recordings made by Guy B. Johnson on St. Helena Island, South Carolina, 1928.

AFC 1995/004: Mike Seeger Collection
Two hundred and seventy-five 10-inch tapes of bluegrass, country, and folk music, recorded in California, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Ohio, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Washington, D.C., and West Virginia, primarily by Mike Seeger, 1953-67. The collection includes three linear inches of computer disks, correspondence, notes, and photos.

AFC 1996/037: National Society of Colonial Dames, South Carolina / Mary Chevillette Sims Oliphant Biographical Collection
Three manuscript pages of a sketch of the life of Mary Chevillette Sims Oliphant, which was presented by The Greenville Committee of the National Society of Colonial Dames in the State of South Carolina. Oliphant was the committee's organizer and had been a Dame for more than 50 years.

AFC 1996/066: Henrietta Yurchenco Collection from John's Island, South Carolina
Ten 7-inch tapes and fifteen 5-inch tapes of field recordings made by Henrietta Yurchenco in John's Island, South Carolina in 1970-71. The recordings contain church services, spirituals, blues, and a round-table discussion on current problems by a local minister, other community members, and the City College (New York) students who accompanied her on the project. Twenty-six manuscript pages consist of an introduction to the collection; a description of the Hunter family, which provided much of the music and childrens' games; descriptions of the games, with lyrics to the accompanying songs; and a transcript of the discussion.

AFC 1997/011: Lands' End All-American Quilt Collection
Lands' End in cooperation with Good Housekeeping magazine sponsored the quilt contests in 1992, 1994, and 1996. The collection consists of visual images, entry blanks, and essays written by entrants, as well as Lands End administrative files and correspondence pertinent to the promotion of the contest. Approximately 13,100 entries for the three contests came from all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Numerous types and styles of needlework, quilting, patchwork, applique and embroidery are represented among the visual images. [catalog record] [finding aid]

AFC 1998/010: David Holt / Promo Collection
One videotape, titled "David Holt: `A One Man Celebration of Stories and Songs'," is a ten-minute audition tape for the performer David Holt. Accompanying the video are promotional items related to Holt's career. There are four postcards of musicians other than David Holt. These include: Dellie Norton, a banjo player from Sodom, North Carolina; Tommy Jarrell, a fiddler from Toast, North Carolina; and two postcards of Susie Brunson, a washboard player from Bamberg, South Carolina.

AFC 2000/001: Local Legacies Project Collection
Four hundred and five linear feet (approximately 90,000 manuscript pages, 475 sound recordings, 13,270 graphic materials, 335 electronic media, and 75 artifacts) of documentation of local festivals, fairs, parades, and other community-based events from each U.S. state, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories and trusts. The Local Legacies Collection was donated through the efforts of individuals, organizations, and institutions asked to participate by members of Congress. This project was part of the Library of Congress Bicentennial celebration in the year 2000. [online presentation] [catalog record]

AFC 2001/017: Storytelling Pavilion / 2001 National Book Festival
Fourteen videocassettes of the Storytelling Pavilion at the Library of Congress 2001 National Book Festival. Recorded September 8, 2001. Featured storytellers from South Carolina.

AFC 2001/008: International Storytelling Collection
Contains manuscripts, sound recordings, graphic materials, moving images, electronic media, and artifacts that relate to the storytelling revival of the 1970s through the present. Based in Jonesborough, Tennessee, the International Storytelling Center (ISC) and its predecessor organizations, the National Association for the Preservation and Perpetuation of Storytelling (NAPPS), and the National Storytelling Association (NSA) collected these materials. Through the organization’s programming, such as the National Storytelling Festival, the ISC has served as a focal point for the storytelling revival. Includes storytellers from South Carolina. [catalog record]

AFC 2007/008: Clyde Johnson Smith Collection
Thirty-one page manuscript written by Clyde Smith of his personal experience of witnessing a lynching of one of his relatives in Greenwood, South Carolina, in 1944.

RELATED COLLECTION
The manuscripts of the U. S. Works Projects Administration (WPA) Federal Writer's Project and Historical Records Survey (1936-1942), housed in the Manuscript Division of the Library of Congress, include South Carolina materials under the following headings: "Folklore Project" (A669-679); "Life History -- Ex-Slave Holders in South Carolina" (A737); "Regional and National File" (A855); "Special Studies and Projects" (A869); "Negro Studies Project" (A888); "Slave Narrative Project" (A906); and "Historical Records Survey" (B27). A description of and partial index to these materials is available in the Archive of Folk Culture and in the Manuscript Division.